We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The folk at The Royal hosted our friend's wedding after a last minute change of plan. They were welcoming and accommodating. The hotel was clean, the breakfast spot on and in all perfectly suited our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachyroo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

After seeing reviews I got worried, there is a pub downstairs that can get noisy but didn't bother us too much. We received good service when requested extra coffee and tea for the room we were advised of a cupboard where we could help ourselves to extras. The breakfast was faultless and service pleasant. Room was clean and suited our one night stay in girvan perfectly, short walk to harbour where we followed the light festival parade and enjoyed a lovely firework display! Would book again, thank you for a trouble free pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Rothbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked a family room for one night on way to Northern Ireland. Room was great - nice and big with en-suite. All you could ask for. But service was definitely not with a smile. Requested travel cot (and even phoned up day before to confirm that it was available) - it was not in room when we arrived and we had to set it up ourselves and expected to have brought own bedding (we had - but as had not been advised that this was required, it was more by luck than design!). And food was terrible - my 4 year old can cook better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

it should not be classed a three star hotel,its more like a bed and breakfast,for workman,no iron,no hair dryer,did change dirty not change towels,when they did that they folded up the dirty towels and put them back in the rack on the wall,the room was never cleaned every day,it was tidyed up only once during our stay,the shower was no good as it leaked downstairs everytime we had a shower,we were asked to go across the landing and use another rooms shower,the food was not worth the money,when the man cooked it it was over cooked,as a married couple on the last day we went early for breakfast,we were not allowed in with our small dog as the workmen were having breakfast,and we were told it would be another 15 mins before ours was ready as the workmen came first,this hotel was supposed to be dog freindly,their was dog muck there when we arrived and five days later it was still there when we left...the rooms were out of date,the wardrobe nearly collapsed,it was just a box,no door on it,,,we left early ,as we thought 7 days was too long,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: dont go there unless you are a workman,doing work locally,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank hsk1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy5519, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

I'm sorry to here our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would just like to clarify a few points if I may. We are indeed a dog friendly hotel, but as a rule unless it is a seeing dog they are not normally admitted into the breakfast room. On the first morning of your stay we made an exception as you were a late breakfast and were the only people left . The particular morning you mention you had asked for a late breakfast and had come in at 7.15 am just as eight workman ( who are just as particular by the way) had ordered. It was explained that there might be a wait for breakfast but you would be served as soon as possible. As in most hotels these days we are environmentally friendly so unless towels are left in the shower to be changed we will fold them up to be used again. The shower did indeed leak on one occasion which was the night before you left but only because the power shower in the bathroom had been put up over the tiles at the the back of the cubicle and was seeping down between the tiles and the wall. On the two nights that you dined in the hotel everything was eaten and when asked if everything was ok we were told that it was. I just wish if there was a problem it had been brought up at the time of your stay. As a hotelier and occasionally a guest at other hotels I would much rather say I was not happy with service, room etc and give management a chance to sort it out then wait and give someone a bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Don't arrive at 6pm on a Tuesday night just as the local round table take over the lounge bar for a couple of hours. The whole place was shabby and poor value for money without anything being bad/ The evening meal had to be eaten in the very basic public bar

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
2.1 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
471 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Auld Creamery House
Auld Creamery House
#2 of 7 in Girvan
29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garryloop B&B
Garryloop B&B
#3 of 7 in Girvan
29 reviews
3.3 mi away
Turnberry Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 36 Montgomerie Street, Girvan KA26 9HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Girvan
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel with full license, situated in residential area close to Girvan town centre. Five of our seven bedrooms have en suite facilities, and most rooms have views over the town to the Firth of Clyde and Ailsa Craig, known locally as, 'Paddy's Milestane'. The Royal Hotel is located on the West Coast of Scotland in an area of outstanding and largely unspoiled natural beauty. A five-minute walk from our door will bring you to the charming and picturesque Girvan harbour and miles of clean, sandy shore. Ayrshire is the birthplace of the Open Championship, with courses at Troon, Turnberry, and the site of the first British Open at Prestwick. It's also the birthplace of Scotland's most famous poet, Robert Burns and of Scottish kings and heroes like Robert the Bruce and - so legend has it - of William Wallace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Girvan, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing