We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee site with friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turnberry Holiday Park
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wee site with friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Took my GrandKids here on a Sun newspaper voucher deal. Fantastic value. Caravan spotless and staff couldn't do enough for you. New swimming pool which the kids loved. Girvan only a short drive away. Beach is great. Very clean golden sands. Perfect for sunbathing. Large play park for kids and keep fit equipment for adults too. Good food and service in the Roxy pub which has a lovely beer garden looking out to sea. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbrownsuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi; many thanks for your comments. I am so pleased that you found Turnberry to be fantastic value for money and that your grandkids loved the facilities. We do hope to see you back here in the near future - oh, and bring the good weather back with you please!
Lee E GM Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
65
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our rented caravan. Some windows were ill-fitting, it was covered in dust inside, full of dead flies & the double bed was very uncomfortable. I had booked by phone & had asked to be placed near the amenities due to mobility problems, but we were given a caravan up a set of high steps with no handrail, which was difficult for me to manage.
However, we were made very welcome by all the staff & the regulars. The bar had a very good atmosphere & the little restaurant served very good food at reasonable prices.
The location is fantastic with beautiful views of rolling fields, the sea & Ailsa Craig, with Girvan, Ayr, Turnberry & some lovely villages nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ClareCooper879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your honest feedback. I am sorry that you found that your accommodation was not up to the standard you would have expected and that you were placed on one of the higher level caravans. These vans are closer to the venues, which is probably why you were placed there. I wish you'd have let me know at the time and I may have been able to re locate you.
I am pleased however, that you did find the team at Turnberry pleasant and that you felt the atmosphere on park was good. May I suggest you contact me on lee.elliott@turnberryholidaypark.co.uk
and I will look into the issues of the cleanliness for you in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you.
Lee E - GM Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is by far the most peaceful caravan park we have visited. The park is well laid out, very handy for visiting Ayr, Girvan and others. The staff and other visitors were all so friendly. Very clean, the caravan we were in looked new and was spotless. Long weekend spent with family and we all loved it. The only thing that would enhance this site would be tourer pitches. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiznJoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Wow, what a lovely revue! Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am so pleased you had a peaceful break and that you will be back again to see us in the future.
Regards,

Lee E - GM Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Turnberry Holiday Park is without doubt worth a visit. Its a pleasant park that caters for families and couples alike and all are welcome. The majority of caravans on-site are privately owned and residents have put the effort in to make sure their pitch is well presented which really sums up the park.
Caravans that are available to rent vary in quality; the 'Bronze' range are a little tired, fixtures and fittings reflect the price but in general they are clean and functional. If there are any complaints they're acted on very quickly and resolution is sought where possible, a testament to the effort the team put in to make your stay an enjoyable one.
However, the site is currently subject to expansion and unfortunately the only way lorries carrying cement and other building consumables can access the construction area is through the main thoroughfare of the site - and during the week deliveries commence at about 8am! Its a little noisy and some van / lorry drivers seem to disregard the site speed limit. Not good when children are about.
Facilities are average to good, shop, swimming pool, bar / restaurant plus a laundry room with washing machines are expected these days and its pleasing to say that these are available to holiday makers here. Don't expect much in the shop though!
In summary positives are:
*Friendly and professional staff across the site.
*Lovely surroundings
*Welcoming atmosphere
*The prospect of a better site once the improvement work is finished.

Negatives:
*Construction work which we were not made aware of prior to our arrival.
*Traffic speed from some inconsiderate delivery drivers.
*Shop needs improving.

Would I recommend this park to others: Absolutely - but I'd check to see if the improvement work was complete first.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Tim M,
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your excellent and honest feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you mention that you would reccomend us to other potential holidaymakers. It was great to read a couple of times about the freindly, helpful and professional staff here at Turnberry. We aim to recognise and reward our team members when they stand out. Can I ask; was there anyone in particular at Turnberry that helped to make your stay such an enjoyable one? If there was, would you mind letting me know on lee.elliott@turnberryholidaypark.co.uk
The construction work going on is us being a victim of our own success! Turnberry is very popular with holidaymakers and private Owners alike and as such we have no vacant caravan pitches available, hence the reason we are currently building more to keep up with demand.
I apologise that the work is currently in progress but,once complete, this new area will be stunning and will enhance the Turnberry offer even further.
Once again; thank you for your feedback and we look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future.
Lee E - General Manager Turnberry Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Me and my partner booked our stay through sun holidays for a 4 night mid-week break and was pleasantly surprised! Our caravan was spacious and clean with everything in working order, we was close to all facilities, all the staff were very pleasant, the manager mike were extremely helpful and gave us some great information as we were looking to purchase a caravan. Overall a great quiet break! We will Definately be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmacoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Emma,
Thank you so much for taking the time to put your review onto trip advisor. Its always great for the team to read the positive responses and even better when its the team that receive the special mentions!
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon; who know - maybe as a caravan Owner!
Regards,

Lee E - General Manager Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we do the sun holidays all the time and done most of them in Scotland and I can honestly say this was one of the best. the site was very clean as was the caravan.a nice peaceful site except for the pub and entertainment this was a bit too quiet.all in all a very good week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyndewar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your week with us at Turnberry. We do aim to provide a clean, presentable and freindly park for all our guests all the time.
It's always great when anyone notes this and takes the time to share thier comments.
Regards
Lee E - GM Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just spent a few days at the Turnberry Holiday Park and were very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the caravan. We had upgraded to a luxury caravan prior to arriving at the site and it was absolutely spotless. If you want a relaxing break we can imagine this being a very peaceful site normally but at the time of our visit there was a lot of work being done to expand the Park and we thought the caravans were arranged too close together therefore losing the views and the impressive site of Ailsa Craig rising high out of the sea. Even so we really enjoyed our first visit to this area of Scotland and will be back for more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee E, General Manager at Turnberry Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words regarding your stay at Turnberry Holiday Park.
We're extremely proud whenever anyone mentions the efforts of the team being helpful & friendly as that is what we strive to be all about. As you noted, we are developing the park currently to keep up with demand from both holidaymakers & potential caravan owners, which is a great position to be in. When the work is complete the park will look even better. There has been over half a million pounds worth of re development so far with the new pitches, the heated indoor swimming pool, the new reception & shop, the new laundrette, the park lighting upgrade to name but a few.
We do hope we will see you again at Turnberry in the very near future.
Regards,
Lee - GM Turnberry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
5.5 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.6 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
10.9 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
1.5 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Holiday Park

Property: Turnberry Holiday Park
Address: Dowhill, Girvan KA26 9JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Girvan
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turnberry is a static caravan park in Scotland on the Ayrshire coast, open for 10 months of the year, from March to January. We provide caravan holidays in Scotland for holiday home owners and holidaymakers, with a wide range of modern mobile homes available to buy and rent. We also have accommodation options for disabled visitors with restricted access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turnberry Holiday Park Girvan, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing