We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girvan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Beith, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for short break”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a family room, for one evening we went with our 2 year old boy. The room was lovely, big and clean, with tea/coffee, hairdryer, tv etc. Huge bathroom with great bath and shower. The staff are truly amazing, could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome! Special mention to Cassandra who was exceptional. We had dinner in the restaurant. It was very tasty, good choice and came quickly (which was perfect for us) they don't have a kids menu but are happy to make simple dishes on request. The price of dinner and drinks was very reasonable. The area is beautiful we spent the morning on the beach before making the short trip up to Heads of Ayr Park.
My only negatives were the breakfast - the choice was really poor (espically compared to the evening meal) there is only a choice of 3 cereals/porridge and a fry up. I don't really know anyone who wants to eat that for breakfast, a choice of yogurt/fruit/pastry/bagel/muffin/ smoked salmon/cheese/pancakes etc would be a vast improvement.
The only other slight negative was the curtains - they were decorative only and quite alot of light comes in the edges of the blinds which made it very light in the evening and morning.

Overall, a wonderful service and great evening meal in beautiful, quiet coastal surroundings. I would return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10501050sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    12
    3
    13
See reviews for
30
53
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant in a very pretty setting . I ate here with two friends on Saturday at lunch time . I found the staff welcoming and smartly dressed . The restaurant was very clean and beautifully set up.
All our meals were delicious there was a super choice and very reasonably priced .
I really enjoyed my meal and will definitely be back .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coantrimtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

1st class, we've being going for a few years and never fail to be impressed, why go anywhere else? Nice staff and 1st class food. Will be soon!!! Lovely setting in the picturesque harbour in the town of maidens!! Don't hesitate you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hollie_porsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We were in to celebrate our daughter's birthday and we were a bit late.

The service was very good but the food was served just a bit too quickly between courses.

The food was really nice but a small observation. Why not real chips instead of dreadful skinny fries.

The waiting staff were very attentive but need to know what they are offering.

Wildings is good and with a wee bit of effort it could be great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigtoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Friends booked wildings for lunch after day out at Ayr races , the food was amazing , lamb was cooked to perfection , very very busy place but lots of staff so service was very quick would definitely recommend this restaurant for fantastic food , service , and value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Travelled from Troon for a Saturday supper. The restaurant was packed which is always a good sign of a popular establishment. Not surprisingly the service was slightly slow, although the young staff were friendly and attentive. The food was very good and the view outside on mid summer's evening was stunning.
Large selection of seafood was available. Worth a visit if you enjoy tasty food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98JHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three of us had an overnight stay here for a friend's birthday. We arrived to a warm welcome on a very wet Saturday afternoon.
Rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable with a fantastic view even through the rain.
Dinner menu was varied and the food was lovely at a very reasonable cost.
Breakfast was served at the table and again was beautifully cooked and tasty.
Service was warm and friendly from the young lady who met us on arrival, took order for dinner and served breakfast the following morning. Unfortunately we did not get her name but a big thanks to her from the 'girls' in rooms 1&7 on Saturday 7 June.
We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelmalouiseandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girvan
1.5 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
133 reviews
8.2 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
460 reviews
6.3 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
11.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
876 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildings Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildings Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Harbour Road | Maidens, Girvan KA26 9NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Wildings Hotel And Restaurant
Wildings Hotel Girvan
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant Girvan, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing