We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Escape for Girls Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Front door Hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Front of the house
Front door
Hallway
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dual fuel fire
Staircase
Downstairs bathroom
1st room with 2 X single beds
Shower in first bathroom
Room with 2 X single beds
Down stairs double bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double en suite
Upstairs King bedroom
View from first landing
Upstairs King bedroom
Rear decking area
Woods
River
Kitchen
New 6 person jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsCharly...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Escape for Girls Weekend”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great time from start to finish on our weekend at Hazelbank Cottage. We were celebrating a friends 30th.

The house is beautifully decorated and very spacious. 3 Bathrooms were great for all the girls! We loved the hot tub and being secluded meant we didn't have to worry about the neighbours. Asda is only 10 mins away, we organised a click & collect which meant we could relax and not worry about fitting everything into cars.

The rooms are huge, plenty of space for luggage. All necessary amenities provided too meant we probably over-ordered from Asda! Dawn was brilliant with communication and definitely made us feel welcome.

This property is fab for girly weekends, family celebrations or just to escape from it all. Thanks Dawn, we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kendoon
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cosy Comfort with Nature”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a house which has a lovely combination of luxury but very much in the countryside. There are 4 en suite rooms, a substantial kitchen with all the requirements to cook a feast. The dining table is a most attractive oak table which fits in with the modern surroundings. The lounge has comfortable chairs etc with a large TV with Sky. There are various games and various gadgets to amuse one. Outside there is a hot tub, barbeque and picnic table with ample seating. There is a large area of decking necessary in wet weather. The floors in the house are covered with wood blocks which make clean easy. The house looks stark from the road but the principle windows look out onto the decking and the wood covered hillside opposite. In August nature was not that much in evidence but a hare regularly grazed in the grounds and bats played havoc with the security lights as the movement of the bats resulted in the lights going off and on. There are many bramble bushes (blackberries) growing in profusion in the area just waiting to be eaten! Judging by the number of hazel trees there will be a good crop of nuts come the autumn. (Thus Hazelbank Cottage). The flesh pots of Girvan are just a few minutes away where there is an ASDA.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnm4471
glasagow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so rural,needs some maintenance”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good things first. Great,large cottage, with many great features. Brilliant hot tub, outdoor seating. Full sky package.
The not so good. Be careful on entrance path. I was lucky not to damage underside of car scraping on rocks coming up through worn down and loose gravel. Also there is a road running alongside cottage. This is used regularly by heavy goods lorries going to nearby quarry. Not so good in morning if you are a light sleeper. They make a lot of noise.
The decking area is large with great seating area but the bannister going around it needs upgrading. You need to be careful leaning against out as there is quite a bit of movement. Could be dangerous for kids.
All the outside window frames need a good clean. Lots of cobwebs and dead flies.
Inside house there were lots of dead flies on ceilings and walls. We were plagued with them on first night so bought lots of sprays. This helped a lot.
Finally you have to use testing strips in hot tub and then put in the correct amount of chemicals. I have never had to do this before.
We had a great time, but cottage needs better maintenance and cleaning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Hazelbank Cottage.
We were so happy to hear on your check out that you all had such a great time and “would love to stay again”. However when leaving your review, you felt your stay only warranted a 3 Star review.
We have considered all you have said regarding the entrance path and would like to assure you we will be having that rectified this week.
As for the bannister, at the start of the season all was well but over the last few months it has become s little loose. There is an upgrade due for the decking which will be installed in the quiet months of October, November.
I’d like to make future guests aware this is a rural property. In being so it does attract a fare bit of wildlife. Not only will you see Deer, owls, buzzards and the odd Stoat. You are also likely to see loads of horse flies, midges, spiders and mice along with bats. Particularly in the summer months. This is outwith our control. And something which should be considered when booking our property.
We would like to assure our guests our property is cleaned to a very high standard before each check in. We also wash all external windows weekly and the frames and surrounding ingles once a month with a pressure washer to remove webs and such. Again this is a rural property and webs can accumulate on the outside of the building faster than in say an urban property. This is out with our control.
I am sorry to hear the maintenance of the hot tub put you out, but please rest assured our guests and future guests health takes priority. We ask all guests to check chemical levels using a simple dip stick process each time before use. After which they are requested to add chemicals a spoon full at a time. Again, before each use. These chemicals are important to keep bacteria levels within safe parameters. It is not feasible for us ourselves to do this. Particularly if some of our guests choose to use the hot tub several times throughout their stay at the cottage. Upon check in we prepare the hot tub and it’s ready to be used. You only have to top up the chemicals if and when you use it. This prevents the spread of diseases etc from alternate guests.
Again, we are sorry not to have met your expectations this time on your visit to our Cottage but would love to welcome you and your party back some time in the future where we will meet all your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millie j
paisley
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We thought the cottage was more rural. It is next to a road and on an incline, trucks were going passed a few times a day. I'm saying this because it would not be suitable for young children. We could not let our dog run about as the other side of the cottage was a big drop down onto a stream. We thought there was a trampoline as it was advertised, we found it later not usable down towards the stream. Also the hot tub has to be maintained by you, checking chemical balance. The cottage is lovely and Girvan is nice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are so glad to hear you and your guests had such an enjoyable experience. We would love to welcome you all back in the future.
Kind regards
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My friend booked this for 6 of us for 2 nights ! It was absolutely amazing with everything you could hope for in a holiday home as well as a hot tub! Really had an amazing time and Dawn was fantastic ! Seriously would recommend this to anyone such a lovely place comfy beds amazing showers ultra modern and it even had the best sky tv you could get !! Would definitely like to come back !xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad to hear you and your guest had an amazing time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing