We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend away”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Front door Hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Front of the house
Front door
Hallway
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dual fuel fire
Staircase
Downstairs bathroom
1st room with 2 X single beds
Shower in first bathroom
Room with 2 X single beds
Down stairs double bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double en suite
Upstairs King bedroom
View from first landing
Upstairs King bedroom
Rear decking area
Woods
River
Kitchen
New 6 person jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing cottage in great location. Came for a weekend away with friends and we all had a brilliant time. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay W
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely house and great location. House had everything you could need. Thanks very much Dawn, would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend Stay!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Hazelbank Lodge. Firstly, the rural location is beautiful and sets you away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, allowing you to completely switch off and relax! The facilities are superb, very clean and modern, with all bathrooms offering showers and all decorated to the highest of standards! Very comfortable beds too!
The log fire is an added bonus, along with the superb hot tub facilities.
We were also delighted with the complimentary bottles of Prosecco and chocolates left for us by Dawn and Bryan, very thoughtful indeed!
Anyone considering to book this for a romantic weekend or family/friends weekend away need not think twice......We will certainly be back

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105toie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place but would never book again”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful and had been very well thought out in terms of decor , amenities and little extras. There were several dvds , games for children, full sky package and an amazing spacious hot tub which had a beautiful view. Myself and 5 friends had booked this for a long weekend and were delighted with what we had couldn't have asked for more as clearly a lot of effort had went into the house. There were numerous cob webs and and dead spiders/insects on the walls and ceilin , however we just cast this up to being because of where the property was situated. On departure we were all very adament to leave the property the way we found it , we washed down all work tops, mopped , made the beds ,took out all the bins and left the place spotless like the way we found it . in order to maintain the standards of the hot tub we were asked to measure the water every morning to ensure the chemicals were correct. Understandably we did this as we knew we had to keep within hygiene standards and health and safety, however unless you own a hut tub and knew what you were doing you may be a little wary towards what you were doing. We felt like we had done everything right however when we left we received a £100 fine as the water was "cloudy" and would had to be drained and new water put in. We didn't understand the fine and questioned the Owner as to why this was the case , and unfortunately we didn't receive the money back. We felt that this was unfair and not deserved as we had not done any damage to the property and felt like we were at disadvantage for being a young group. Personally I was going to book this same lodge again for my birthday in a few months back as it was fantastic , however I would be too scared to book again incase there was another fine for "cloudy water".The cottage has lost out on future customers from our group for sure .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and are so glad to hear the property held up to all your expectations. I’m sorry to hear the hot rob scenario left a negative effect on your break. However, since you are one of the same party as the review below I hope our response covers the £100 charge.
We hope you will consider us again in the future.
Thanks
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC2110
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fined for CLEANING of hottub!”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

House was absolutely lovely, great size and in great location.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub it was a lovely added bonus and my party of 6 had a great time for 3 days enjoying it.
However upon returning home we received a £100 fine for the draining, refilling and cleaning of the water in the hot tub as it was 'cloudy.'
In my experience (also owning my own hot tub) when 6 people use a hot tub for 3 days no mater how well you follow the rules the water will infact turn cloudy.
Personally I'm disgusted that the water in the hot tub is NOT drained and changed between each guest regardless of wether it looks cloudy or not for basic hygiene reasons. Im well aware that chlorine is present in the water to rid bacteria but that should only be for the duration of one guests stay and then it should be filled with fresh water and chemicals for the next guest.
Im quite certain that as a group of young people we were a very easy target for the fine and I would have been more than happy to accept responsibility had we broken the hot tub or anything else in the house but in fact the house was in the owner words left in 'immaculate' condition.
Horrible ending to a great stay for my birthday and put a great damper on my birthday weekend.
Not a nice way to treat perfectly well behaved, respectful, clean, paying guests and would definitely avoid using the hot tub if you are staying here as you are likely to be fined for something impossible to prevent.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad to hear that you all had a great time while staying here. However I’m really sad to hear that the charge of £100 for the drain and clean of the hot tub has left you with a bad taste in your mouth. We are really sorry to hear this has put a real dampener on what sounded like a great weekend. Please be sure this was certainly not our intentions. Our guests positive experience is in the forefront of our mind. Please allow me to explain.
Upon arrival we asked you (like all our guests), to spend 5 minutes with Dawn so she could walk you through the care and maintenance procedure for the hot tub which we request you to adhere to throughout your stay at the cottage. Dawn demonstrated the requirements such as keeping chemical levels at an optimum level and how to add any chemicals required. These chemicals are for our guests safety. They ensure any bacteria doesn’t have a chance to grow making our guests unwell upon leaving the cottage. We also eemonstrate how to work the controls and keep the water at a safe level so as not to run the pumps dry. Upon completing this walk through you were required to sign a disclaimer which you signed.
It also stated in the disclaimer that if the hot tub was not looked after then a £100 fee would be charged. This is not for us to make a bit of extra profit. We only have 1 hot tub on the property. And by time guests check out at 10 am and new guests check in at 3pm we have to clean the house, change all the bedding and prepare for the next guests. If during the preparation it becomes evident the hot tub has not been maintained, for example “cloudy” then we have to drain the hot tub which takes 1.5 hours. Then top up which takes 2.5 hours. Worst of all it then takes 24 hours for the hot tub to heat back up. That means the incoming guests don’t have the use of the hot tub for the first night of arrival. This is through no fault of their own. This is where the £100 comes in. We offer them this as a form of compensation.
Again, we are sorry this ruined your break, but we have to take into account all the guests we welcome here to the cottage.
However, we would love to welcome you back again and hope you have just as good a time you had on this occasion.
Kind Regards
Bryan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneG...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had the best weekend for my sisters 30th. The hot tub was great. Secluded so we knew we were not going to bother anyone. The pictures on the website don’t do it justice, the place was huge. All beds very comfy, kitchen and bathrooms are done to a very high standard. Would live to book again in the summer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsCharly...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Escape for Girls Weekend”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great time from start to finish on our weekend at Hazelbank Cottage. We were celebrating a friends 30th.

The house is beautifully decorated and very spacious. 3 Bathrooms were great for all the girls! We loved the hot tub and being secluded meant we didn't have to worry about the neighbours. Asda is only 10 mins away, we organised a click & collect which meant we could relax and not worry about fitting everything into cars.

The rooms are huge, plenty of space for luggage. All necessary amenities provided too meant we probably over-ordered from Asda! Dawn was brilliant with communication and definitely made us feel welcome.

This property is fab for girly weekends, family celebrations or just to escape from it all. Thanks Dawn, we'll definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing