We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience!”
Review of Gardenrose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maybole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenrose B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Maybole B&B and Inns
Georgio8
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Well worth the small premium in price. The Arts & Crafts decor is really something out of the ordinary and a pleasure to see. We stayed in the Oriental room which is huge and has one of the most luxurious ensuite bathrooms we have seen. And Morvern & John are amongst the most gracious hosts we have encountered. We were travelling by bike, so John drove us to a restaurant 5 miles away rather than have us experience mediocre food offerings in Maybole!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgio8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tayside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Gardenrose is absolutely fabulous. John and Morvern are the perfect hosts. They greeted us very warmly on arrival with tea and excellent cake which was just perfect for the weary traveller.
Our stay was to attend a wedding in Culzean Castle and they could not have been more accommodating to our wishes.
The house itself has character and is finished to a very high standard. The Glasgow room where we stayed was spacious, the bed was huge and comfortable and the en suite bathroom was finished to a stunningly high standard. We feel it is impossible to give anything but the very highest praise for this accommodation It was just a very pleasant house to stay in and the attention to detail speaks volumes for John and Morvern's care and attention..
Breakfast was served in a light and airy dining room with a wonderful selection of fruit prior to a good cooked breakfast to set one up for the day. At the end of our stay you could not but wish to visit John and Morvern again..
Wonderful, absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: We can only speak for the Glasgow room which we had and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Gardenrose is one of the finest B&B's I have stayed in on my travels around Europe. Morven and John have lovingly restored a fine Arts and Crafts house, and offer the warmest kind of hospitality. Unusually, they have combined the intimacy of a home with a professionalism that attends to every detail of the guests' needs. Breakfast is served in a light and airy dining room which looks across a walled garden. The bedrooms are very large and appointed in the manner of a 5 star hotel, including stunning en-suites, one of which has views from the shower across the lovely Ayrshire countryside. The town of Maybole has a most unattractive main street, so it came as a surprise to find that Gardenrose is on an elevated site with extensive views towards Lanarkshire. This is the perfect place to stop if you wish to visit the peaceful Crossraguel Abbey, or Culzean Castle, which extends to several acres of gardens and wooded walks. We hope to return to Gardenrose some day, and would be happy to recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in Gardenrose, both of which come into the luxury class. Impossible to choose!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cgracedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A beautiful arts and crafts B&B with extremely friendly owners. The tea and cakes on arrival were the best. The rooms are furnished and decorated to the highest possible standard. Giant beds. Spacious bathrooms with the highest quality fittings. Every detail has been thought about. Wi-fi worked fine.

We were on a cycle tour and John kindly gave us a lift to Kirkmichael to the pub - and back again.

Breakfast - our choice was porridge followed by scrambled egg with salmon. Beautifully cooked.

Can't think of a better B&B we have ever stayed in. Superb!

Room Tip: We had the Glasgow room and our friends had the Oriental room. Both were exceptional though the Orie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a beautiful and welcoming house, beautiful rooms and lovely warm welcoming people, John and Morvern. The food was absolutley great srambled eggs done exactly how they should be (according to my husband - hes a chef) and the best black pudding we ever had. My only complaint was or 3 day visit was too short, we could have stayed much longer. I am torn between recommending this to my friends beause it may mean that it may be full next time we try to book a stay and there will be a next time ......

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms both beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at Gardenrose B&B for 2 nights in the luxurious oriental suite. The egg bath and monsoon shower were fantastic, and difficult to drag ourselves away from...although there was a delicious breakfast waiting for us when we did - smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, and a full Scottish breakfast the next morning (Black pudding was great!).
Morvern & John went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were terrific hosts. We visited Culzean castle on a lovely day, and really enjoyed the walks there & beautiful views.
I will without a doubt be recommending Gardenrose B&B to my friends & family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoneygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gardenrose. Movern and John were most welcoming, offering us afternoon tea and home baking on arrival. The Glasgow Room was beautiful - as is the rest of the house - it was fun spotting all the original Arts and Crafts features. The bed was very comfortable and the shower great. The welcome pack of mineral water, home baked biscuits and real coffee was very good and the breakfast was excellent and tasty - fresh fruit, good choice of cooked options and croissants.

Room Tip: The original features in the Glasgow Room are lovely and the shower is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 410JoyceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maybole
6.5 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
8.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#2 of 4 in Maybole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.4 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenrose B&B

Property: Gardenrose B&B
Address: 14 Gardenrose Path, Maybole KA19 8AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Maybole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maybole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardenrose Bed and Breakfast is a luxury Arts&Crafts B&B in the heart of Maybole, Ayrshire, Scotland. The house sits on a hill and has great views. We are close to Culzean Castle and Country Park and on Cycle Route 7. The popular wedding venues of Dalduff Barn, Culzean Castle and Bliarquhan Castle are just a short drive away. There is a good local taxi company for transport to and from the wedding. The Robert Burns Heritage Centre is nearby in Alloway and Dumfries House is only a 25 minute drive away. Turnberry, Prestwick and Royal Troon golf courses are all within easy reach. If you are a whisky lover then The Whisky Experience in Kirkoswald, 3 miles away, is an excellent place to visit. If you come to Maybole for family history research then the local library is an excellent place to go for assistance. Maybole has plenty of walks and Cycle routes. There are many, varied things to do around Gardenrose B&B - the only limit is your imagination. Gardenrose Bed and Breakfast has 2 large, luxury en-suite rooms and each room has large TV, WiFi, seating area, hairdryer, twin USB charger points and tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. There is a large lounge for exclusive use by our guests and a separate breakfast room. Both of these rooms have many original Arts&Crafts features. The Glasgow Room, which is 30 square metres, has features reminiscent of the Glasgow Style and Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The Glasgow Room has an en-suite shower room with wash hand basin and toilet. The Oriental Room, which is 20 square metres, has hints of the Orient and has a luxury en-suite with a monsoon, overhead shower, an egg shaped bath, with a waterfall tap, toilet and twin wash hand basins with waterfall taps. The Glasgow Room can be set up as a twin or double room. Both rooms can be utilised as single rooms. Both rooms have down duvets and pillows. If non-allergenic bedding is required, please advise us at the time of booking. Vegetarian options for breakfast are available on the menu. We have secure storage for bikes in our garage and there is ample free parking for cars on the driveway. The railway station is only 150 metres away and Glasgow is only an hour away. The local bus service passes the house with services to the local villages, Ayr and Girvan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenrose B&B Maybole, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing