We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utter peace and tranquillity”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Stylish, well-equipped kitchen with ceramic top cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave. A great location, not too isolated but private
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The cottage gets the sun all day and evening
Stylish, well-equipped kitchen with ceramic top cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer and microwave.
A great location, not too isolated but private
Comfortable king sized bed
Buzzards, squirrels and deer inhabit the woods near the cottage - great for watching wildlife
Nearby Kirkmichael Arms have real ales and excellent food
Beautiful countryside and views surround the cottage
Spacious sitting room has a two seater and a three seater sofa and adjoining dining area
Tiled bathroom has a shower over the bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
raeinwell...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Utter peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our Easter weekend stay in Crawfordston was our second of the year and we definitely plan to be back soon.

This cottage is deceptively large and spacious, and is set alone in the loveliest countryside. Inside it is spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchen (we even did some baking) and good WiFi connection.

The sofas, pillows and beds are very comfortable and good quality. It is a brilliant space for relaxing and getting away from it all.

Crawfordston cottage is ideally situated a few minutes’ drive from the beautiful West Coast and not far from the Galloway Forest and Lock Doon.

This time we visited Kelburn Castle, about 30-40 mins drive up the West Coast, where we had a good walk around the glen and took some great photographs of the crazy castle.

As there is hardly any light pollution, it is brilliant for stargazing and isn’t far from the Dark Sky Park Observatory.

Given its peaceful location, it isn’t the easiest to find – but if you follow the owner’s instructions carefully, you will find it well enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed staying in the cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at superbly appointed cottage.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Crawfordston Cottage is ideally located for a stay in Ayrshire with many attractions within a short drive. The cottage itself is very comfortable and felt like a real home from home. We both like cooking, so the fully equipped kitchen was a bonus. Bea has clearly thought about everything a guest could possibly need, including plenty of leaflets and information about nearby attractions. Set in its own grounds 3 miles from the nearest village, you can expect quiet and peaceful nights. In the morning the bird feeders attracted many birds, and in the fields surrounding the cottage we spotted deer, hares and pheasant with buzzards flying above. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you for the review. I too enjoy cooking but it's not always possible to get the time. Holidays can be a good opportunity to indulge. It is great to see so much wildlife around the cottage, we believe there are otters in the burn at the bottom but have not seen them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayak-kin...
hertfordshire
1 review
“Fantastic cosy cottage, a super retreat.”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a brilliant week over the New Year. A really well-equipped cottage situated on the edge of some beautiful picturesque villages. The owners gave us a lovely welcome and shared some excellent local knowledge regarding walks and places to visit; our stay couldn't have been better.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place for a weekend away. Cottage is lovely and very cosy. It had everything we needed to feel at home and very comfortable. We visited the observatory on our first night and saw great views of the stars that we don't get in the city. Enjoyed a glass of wine on our second night on the deck of the cottage looking up at the amazing night sky and even saw a few meteors. The forest park has wild red deer and goats that are worth a visit. Thanks for a great weekend away Bea I'm sure we'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Glad you enjoyed your weekend and made good use of the new decking area. Roe deer and hares have been spotted from the cottage in the surrounding fields. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at crawfordston cottage for 3 days it was so relaxing and peaceful. Everything about the cottage is wonderful very spacious but still feels very cosy. It has been very tastefully decorated and everything you could possibly need is here.. Bea certainly thought of everything for her guests which was great as I forgot some toiletries thanks Bea. The garden is truly a wonderful space to unwind the bird feeder was great we were visited by various birds and small animals during our stay. We absolutely loved the location, cottage and we even managed to have pleasant weather we would absolutely recommend this holiday rental to friends and family. We will definitely return again to this wonderful tranquil cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decoration and cleanliness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for replacing the bird food. We've repaired the squirrel-proof nut holder which a naughty squirrel had managed to bite through! Look forward to welcoming you again to Crawfordston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe...
Morecambe9
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A perfect peaceful location”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I have just stayed at Crawfordston Cottage for a week. It’s a beautiful property in a fantastic peaceful location. It’s rural so you can enjoy the quiet but in a short drive, you are in Kirkmichael in one direction and Ayr in another.

The property is so cosy with a brilliant pellet burner (plenty of pellets are supplied).

The heating was on 7am-11pm, so we were always toasty warm.

The bed is very comfortable, with a nice firm mattress. I am quite a bad sleeper (I get very restless during the night), I mentioned this to the owner before arrival and she kindly set up the chair bed in the far section of the dining area, which is off the lounge.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped, I can’t see that you would be missing anything. This room overlooks the side and back garden. There are a table and chairs on the paved area to sit outside if you get some good weather and on the grassed side you could have a game of badminton or try your hand at a bit of hoola hooping. (Items are located in the wardrobe).

There is also a bird feeder in the garden, we filled it up and enjoyed watching the visitors coming in for a feed.

I really can’t emphasize how peaceful it is. You won’t hear anything, just the odd tractor from the nearby farms passing and the birds tweeting in the trees.

A perfect place if you want peace and quiet and a base to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euphanste...
1 review
“A perfectly peaceful weekend.”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We loved the house. It was a great base for going out short walks on cold November days. But the real treat was coming back to that warm stove blazing, a well equipped kitchen and a beautifully designed house. We had a lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing