We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely location in a quiet village.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Sweetie Shop Crosshill.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Sweetie Shop Crosshill.
Open plan living area Double bed-settee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The Old Sweetie Shop Crosshill.
Open plan living area
Double bed-settee
Galley Kitchen (fully equipped)
Double bedroom with ensuite shower/toilet and newly-added door
To private decked area.
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyage643...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely location in a quiet village.”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Since we were in area visiting family didn't spend much time in house but it is very well equipped for stay and welcome pack was a nice bonus.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review! So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgetile...
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little bungalow”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful bungalow for short or long stay the owner Steven was a real gentleman made use fell at home the keys was very easy pick up and drop off , fridge was stocked up ready for a start to our holiday , very clean warm , good bed , very friendly village and the people were all very helpful and made one fell at home . We would stay here again as i say a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you Thomas, your review is much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your visit.
Cheers
Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer2457...
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely cottage, easy to find, great location, exceptional value for money. Very clean and welcoming. A nice touch to find groceries left for us in the fridge. The area is lovely, paid a visit to the Scottish Dark Sky Observatory in the Galloway forest, well worth a visit. Discovered a superb gastro pub with outstanding food, the Kirkmichael arms, highly recommended, only a few miles away. Thoroughly enjoyed our short visit and will definitely be booking another stay at the "Old Sweetie Shop" Thank you Stephen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison N
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't ask for better. Great little bungalow with everything you need for short or long stay. The owner is so very friendly and helpful the bungalow is spotless and very very comfy.
So kind of the owner to have goidies in the fridge for you on arrival
Thank you so very much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsiecarr...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need including a lovely little decked area out the back. Owner also left some groceries to start us off which I thought was a lovely touch. Situated in a quiet village it provides a great base to explore the many activities and attractions Ayrshire has to offer. Ayr, Girvan, Maidens and Culzean are all very close by with great beaches and plenty for the kids to do.
Owner Stephen was very friendly and welcoming, we'll definitely be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review Elsie. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next year!
Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage provides an excellent base for exploring surrounding area , lovely quiet village the cottage facilities were excellent . The owner also provided some groceries which was very much appreciated. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Hi Nancy, thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit!
Hope to see you again.
Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S
Luncarty, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Probably expected a slightly better standard of accommodation”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Plenty of hot water for the shower and washing up dishes which was good and appreciated. Parking on quiet street also appreciated. Bed/sit couch was uncomfortable ( not used as a bed). Double bed was also not the most comfortable and the sliding door to the en suite toilet/shower (off the bedroom) did not provide the highest level of privacy.
On the plus side the property provides for easy access to Ayr, other west coast resorts and the Southern Uplands. On a value for money scale it rates reasonably well. Property is not in Maybole but in the village of Crosshill!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of hot water
Liked least: Poor couch and bed: black towelling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
I'm sorry you were disappointed Gordon. Thank you for your review.
Stephen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing