We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week away!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnberry Links Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turnberry Links Estate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great week away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here a few months ago for a break, we found the apartments to be a very high standard, very clean and well presented, the complex is very modern and the apartments follow the same lines, the staff were very friendly and always available to answer question.

The local area is beautiful and a golfing oasis however there is so much more to do, with Glasgow only a hour away and Ayr just up the road it's very easy to find something to do.

All in all a great place to stay and I would highly recommend the apartments to anyone looking to explore the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent accommodation, superb service, all meals done to perfection. A location to be dreamed of with staff to complement it. The welcome and subsequent contacts with the staff could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Face the sea for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place and it's management are a disgrace. The apartment we stayed in was filthy. Sticky substance in the fridge, cigarette burns on carpet, cigarette ends still in ash tray, food under table, broken glasses and plates, broken vacuum cleaner, filthy table top and the list goes on. Was offered 50% discount on further stay.... Why would I want to pay this company more money to stay in filth again..??? Still waiting for a reply to my last email. They tried to put the blame on myself for not contacting the caretaker. I was only there 3 days with lots to do so wasn't wasting time on phone calls etc etc. Also no one there to meet us at time requested and difficult to contact them... answer phone. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I would rather sleep in a bivvy bag on the beech.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnberryLinks, Manager at Turnberry Links Estate, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
We replied to the guest and this review as follows

Please see below comments from our caretaker:

'I was shocked when i read this. When i show them around the flat i show them each individual room and then show them the control panel for the appliances, the dish washer, and microwave. If i had seen broken plates, glasses and dirty worktops i would have apologised and sorted the problem. If they had been all these issues why didn't he say anything when i showed him the flat.
The guest had my telephone number because he texted me when he left, he didn't text me or ring during his stay to complain about anything, if he had, you know i would have sorted out any of his issues.'

We are disappointed that you were not happy with your stay, but we have received no complaint from the previous guests, who stayed less than a week before you arrived and no issues were reported to our caretaker.


Turnberry Links Estate Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I cant stress how impressed I am with the hotel resort, arriving at hotel we were greeted by gentleman in full kilt and turnberry resort tartan, bags were taken and car parked. We were taken to a small office to check in and the lady was a delight fantastic welcome and very slick checkin, she then gave us a brief orientation of the hotel and explained how to get to our room. The best comfortable bed you could get in any hotel in the UK.
We had dinner in the bar area, I had fish and chips ok it was my choice, was fantastic cooked to perfection, could not want more. We than sat through into the lounge where the staff could not have been more attentive but yet discreet, when beer glasses were getting low a member of staff would wait on and get refills. Highly recommend St mungo's larger, give it a try, on returning to bed room a set of fresh towels had been delivered and beds turned down with a truffle on the pillow, (nice touch). We also played golf, Ailsa and Kintyre course, both of which must be some of the best links anywhere. You have to go and stay here. 5* most definitely, already planning return trip for next spring.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axeltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Wonderful stay.

From the minute we arrived we were treated wonderfully. The staff have great customer care skills and you can tell that they want you to have the very best time in their care.

Dinner was lovely but I must say the breakfast was just perfect. A nice touch to be offered some champagne with our breakfast.

Hotel & accomodation magnificent!

What a lovely touch to have a piper in the evening!

Will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaznyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Stayed here with my husband for three nights as part of his birthday surprise. After reading the reviews about the hotel at Turnberry I was so glad that I had booked the Turnberry Links Estate. It was excellent value for money and the apartments were perfect. Loads of space, decorated and maintained to a very high standard. Everything that could be asked for (including dish washer, microwave grill, high fi, TV and DVD, balcony and loads of space in the wardrobes. There was also an ensuite bathroom off the main bedroom.
Although Milton Wynd is not part of the Turnberry resort it is less than a mile a way so it is easily accessible and the golf courses of Ailsa and Kintyre are within walking distance but with clubs it is best to drive to the club house where there is ample parking. You are still able to access the hotel and go there for food / drinks. We booked the spa at Turnberry via this company for a day for the pair of us and were not disappointed (£25 per person for the full day which included use of the gym, sauna, swimming pool, steam room. We got given gowns and slippers to wear and water and fruit was provided.) It was very relaxing but if you want to have any treatments they need to be booked in advance. I would also recommend either going to Wildings(£23.50 for three courses) in nearby Maidens (Seafood restaurant - excellent reviews) or eating in at the apartments. The prices at the nearby Turnberry resort are very expensive with it being £32 for a steak Dianne plus £5 for vegetables. People we spoke with said that although pricey, the food is nothing special. Wildings is by far the place to go.
This company do offer golf packages however I rang Turnberry direct and got a better deal so this needs to be researched if you are wanting a round on either Ailsa or Kintyre.
Overall though - Excellent value for money, excellent facilities, lovely surroundings and we will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: first floor for good views, lifts in place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

We have booked a weeks break at the Turnberry Links Estate for March 2011 - the full amount was immediately deducted from my credit card (2 weeks ago) but despite sending numerous e-mails and leaving messages on answer phones we have had no communication from this company. We have not had a confirmation email as promised and have not been provided with a reference number. We are now in the uncomfortable position of having paid for a break and worrying that it will not happen. The telephone number provided (which is difficult to find at all on the web site) is never answered and I have been trying every day for 2 weeks!!!!. Even if the apartment and break are fantastic I would never recommend an organisation whose communication is so atrocious. Save yourself the worry and stay away from on line booking for a break here.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey_gibson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.9 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
0.3 mi away
Links Lodge B & B
Links Lodge B & B
#1 of 2 in Turnberry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Links Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Links Estate

Property: Turnberry Links Estate
Address: Mylton Wynd, Turnberry KA26 9LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Links Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Turnberry Links Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Links Estate Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing