We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay at malin court”
Review of Malin Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malin Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

my husband and i stayed at malin court the middle of march.it was very special as my sister and husband came as well.everything was perfect, , from the reception staff being so helpfull,our rooms were spotless,and cotters restaurant was excellent for a meal! also the handyman and porter were very helpfull and cheerfull! this is our second visit and we will be back!

Room Tip: the ailsa suite is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Firstly, the views from the room are amazing but I didn't like the close proximity to the care home, the care home rooms are below the hotels main bedrooms and there is a bit of a smell. During the day you get cleaners from Initial walking round the hotel too, I know they would be cleaning but I don't think it looks good at all.
The TV in the Ailsa room 8 was tiny, miniature, smaller than a PC monitor, such a lovely room wasted by a TV that you needed binoculars to see from the bed. The restaurant's menu was a bit poncy too, food looked okay but I would rather have something a bit more down to earth than paying over £10+ for macaroni cheese, I could find nothing at all to eat on the menu and at £21 per person for a Valentines dinner after paying for the room I thought it was definately overpriced, the restaurant was very quiet on a night where more couples would usually be dining out.
There is absolutely NOTHING to do in Maidens unless you like golf or walks or views of caravan parks, not for me and especially not in February. There isn't even a lovely wee village pub that you could sit in and have some proper pub grub with a roaring fire.
Breakfast was a disappointment too, overcooked sausage, rubbery scrambled eggs, soggy potato scone, you had to ask for juice if you wanted more and the tea was stewed despite it being poured as soon as the breakfast assistant brought it out straight away. I would have preferred some sort of breakfast buffet to help yourself to the cereal and juice at least. All in all, I didn't enjoy my stay and I won't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hubby and I had dinner on Saturday evening and it was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection and staff were courteous, efficient and friendly. They do lunch, afternoon tea, Scottish high tea and dinner. Good value for money and I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was our third year at Malin Court Hogmanay Party and again it was exceptional. The food was wonderful with lots of choices and the staff are so nice,and polite. I am not sure if I should be letting the secret out about this lovely friendly efficient little hotel but we are already booked for next year as we know the standard of service, etc. is so good.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Scotland has many good B&Bs and some superb five star hotels, it doesn't do so well in the three/four star bracket. The Malin Court is an exception - a good, honest hotel. A comfortable family room with water and towels for five - a nice touch which is often overlooked. Friendly staff and a good breakfast - all for around £100. Great views.

Room Tip: Just talk to the staff by telephone rather than online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wageouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with freinds as part of a party night deal. We were all really pleased with our rooms. They were big and very clean. The party night was excellent we had such a laugh and the band were excellent. Breakfast was fab. The staff were all very polite abd helpful. A great night we had.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

High Tea at Malin Court offers excellent food and service at a very reasonable cost. Drinks, delicious meal, toast, scones, cakes tea and coffee for 9 adults cost £132! Beautiful surroundings complimented by well maintained gardens and beautiful floral arrangements within the hotel. Staff are friendly, efficient and discreet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
6.7 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
466 reviews
13.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
4.8 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
132 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Court Hotel

Address: Turnberry Road, Turnberry KA26 9PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: £75 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malin Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malin Court Hotel sits between Turnberry and the quiet village of Maidens, South Ayrshire and is surrounded by the spectacular raw beauty of the West Coast of Scotland, the Isle of Arran and the Firth of Clyde. Next door to Malin Court Hotel is the world famous Turnberry Golf Course where the Open Championship is held on a regular basis. There’s not only the Open Golf Course at the Turnberry Hotel but also the Kintyre Course too for those who enjoy variety! At Malin Court Hotel we have 18 bedrooms which are set in open grounds, all with sea or golf course views. Cotters Restaurant also has open aspects and prides itself on the freshness and quality of locally sourced seafood, beef and lamb. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh honest Scottish fayre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Malin Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Court Hotel Turnberry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing