We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf hotel/nursing home what a mix”
Review of Malin Court Hotel

Malin Court Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malin Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“golf hotel/nursing home what a mix”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

weekend away to Craig Tara Ayr and ended up in Maybole and stopped a lady on the street 2 ask where we could get something 2 eat that was child friendly 3yrs & 6yrs .she was happy to direct us to the Malin Court saying she had been there an Tuesday with her family and it was worth the visit.
driving up it looks very swish tippickle Golf club, drove round the side to the restaurant this is when the bells should have gone off,there was a gent in his later life on 2 sticks haven a wander through the car park,however got kids out off the car and went on in (noticing white table cloths) to be greated warmly by a female member of staff asking if we had booked and if we were there for high tea or 3 course meal(this is where the bells should have gone off) she brought us the menu to have a look at it looked just what was needed.seated in the foya while she got a table ready.seated within 5mins at a lovely crisp white table cloth with full kit just perfect for 2 little 1ns who don't get let out of their cages often.there was plenty tables filled however with people in their later life having high tea pinckys a loft.
saying this we all had the greatest feast starters of hubby had duck with pine nuts and I had prawns,hubby & the 3yr old had the scampi ,the 6yr old had the macaroni & I had pumpkin ravioli all cooked and served to perfection.
the service we got was top notch I asked for some paper for the kids to draw on to keep them bizzy while weighting and was brought cryons 2.
it was not till we were leaving that our joking about a nursing home was realised.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlenought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    42
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
56
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Recently my employer held an annual GM at a resort nearby and there was not enough accommodation for everyone to stay over.... so we were put up in this hotel.

The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has some top notch views from the first floor rooms. It is very handy for the village of maidens and walking distance from the Turnberry resort and Golf Courses. Top marks here....

The room we stayed in was an executive twin. All guest rooms are on the the first floor and the room was clean and had recently been renovated to a good standard. My colleague was not so lucky. Her room was a standard double and it was small and very dated. Although the rooms where clean they unfortunately had a bit of a smell... in particular the bathrooms were whiffy.

The main down point of this hotel is that the main business conducted is that of an old folks home/care home. The communal areas are nice, but very old people friendly, and also occupied by the residents. The hotel smells like a care home from the minute you walk in the door and there are a lot of residents shuffling about while you are checking in.

Also, the main doors are locked at 10pm and you need to leave your key at reception and use a "code" to get in the door.

The sleep quality was good but not great. we were woken by the people in the next room having a shower and the walls were pretty thin.

Breakfast was good. No buffet selection or fresh fruit on display. Only Orange juice and few cereals out and everything else was waitress service. cooked breakfast was lovely apart from my poached egg being over cooked and literally hard boiled.

i would never have booked this hotel myself had i read some of the other reviews... but it was booked by a colleague for location. The location is beautiful and the hotel is a lot more affordable than nearby Turnberry Resort.

Room Tip: go for an executive room! they have been renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in last 2 months and no complaints - excellent service in all depts, food plenty & tasty, comfy rooms, good sleeps-always a great wee breakaway-love it!! If you are looking for all razzmatazz this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stranraer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

my husband and i stayed at malin court the middle of march.it was very special as my sister and husband came as well.everything was perfect, , from the reception staff being so helpfull,our rooms were spotless,and cotters restaurant was excellent for a meal! also the handyman and porter were very helpfull and cheerfull! this is our second visit and we will be back!

Room Tip: the ailsa suite is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Firstly, the views from the room are amazing but I didn't like the close proximity to the care home, the care home rooms are below the hotels main bedrooms and there is a bit of a smell. During the day you get cleaners from Initial walking round the hotel too, I know they would be cleaning but I don't think it looks good at all.
The TV in the Ailsa room 8 was tiny, miniature, smaller than a PC monitor, such a lovely room wasted by a TV that you needed binoculars to see from the bed. The restaurant's menu was a bit poncy too, food looked okay but I would rather have something a bit more down to earth than paying over £10+ for macaroni cheese, I could find nothing at all to eat on the menu and at £21 per person for a Valentines dinner after paying for the room I thought it was definately overpriced, the restaurant was very quiet on a night where more couples would usually be dining out.
There is absolutely NOTHING to do in Maidens unless you like golf or walks or views of caravan parks, not for me and especially not in February. There isn't even a lovely wee village pub that you could sit in and have some proper pub grub with a roaring fire.
Breakfast was a disappointment too, overcooked sausage, rubbery scrambled eggs, soggy potato scone, you had to ask for juice if you wanted more and the tea was stewed despite it being poured as soon as the breakfast assistant brought it out straight away. I would have preferred some sort of breakfast buffet to help yourself to the cereal and juice at least. All in all, I didn't enjoy my stay and I won't be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hubby and I had dinner on Saturday evening and it was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection and staff were courteous, efficient and friendly. They do lunch, afternoon tea, Scottish high tea and dinner. Good value for money and I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was our third year at Malin Court Hogmanay Party and again it was exceptional. The food was wonderful with lots of choices and the staff are so nice,and polite. I am not sure if I should be letting the secret out about this lovely friendly efficient little hotel but we are already booked for next year as we know the standard of service, etc. is so good.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
6.7 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
448 reviews
13.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
4.8 mi away
Southfield Hotel
Southfield Hotel
#2 of 5 in Girvan
119 reviews
12.7 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Court Hotel

Property: Malin Court Hotel
Address: Turnberry Road, Turnberry KA26 9PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malin Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malin Court Hotel sits between Turnberry and the quiet village of Maidens, South Ayrshire and is surrounded by the spectacular raw beauty of the West Coast of Scotland, the Isle of Arran and the Firth of Clyde. Next door to Malin Court Hotel is the world famous Turnberry Golf Course where the Open Championship is held on a regular basis. There’s not only the Open Golf Course at the Turnberry Hotel but also the Kintyre Course too for those who enjoy variety! At Malin Court Hotel we have 18 bedrooms which are set in open grounds, all with sea or golf course views. Cotters Restaurant also has open aspects and prides itself on the freshness and quality of locally sourced seafood, beef and lamb. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh honest Scottish fayre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Malin Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Court Hotel Turnberry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing