We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 Wedding Venue!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No 1 Wedding Venue!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Where do we start, Got married here in March 2011 it was the best experience EVER!! Staff, food, location, services, rooms - everything was 5* star! Turnberry has got an atmosphere that you can’t describe; its sheer size and beauty both internally and externally make it one of the best places to be with your friends and family, especially when celebrating such an important event. We feel that Turnberry truly is a Luxury Collection hotel and would recommend and advise everyone to "at some point" stay or visit this unique, iconic West Coast resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fgormanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your special day. We are delighted to have been given the opportunity to play a special part in creating the memories you, your friends and family will cherish forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    251
    118
    65
    35
See reviews for
215
639
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

For the golfers, the courses were excellent, good conditions made it even better. Every blade of grass, perfect. No problems and a well done to all course staff. Staff all round (course, clubhouse and hotel) were great, polite and helpful. After 18 holes we headed to the club house for a quick bite, we chose the Sirloin Steak sandwich and coffee. Being in Scotland, home of the Angus beef , we were looking forward to a good snack. Prices a little over the top, but you're at Turnberry!
A huge disappointment when two slices of breakfast's left over bread and a wafer thin slice of beef appeared in front of us, garnished with half a bag of crisps each. This came to £46 for the four of us. A shame, because if the prices and standard of food had been reasonable we were planning to have stayed there during the evening for dinner and drinks. We ended up in the local village for dinner, (1 mile down the road, highly recommend - 3 course dinner around £25) many members we spoke too mentioned this to us rather than the overated 1906 in the hotel or clubhouse.
Nothing special about the room, I have stayed in B&B's of the same standard, for a third of the price.
Breakfast was a joke, luckily this was inclusive to the package we bought. We were all left wondering where the nearest cafe was, shocked to see the menu in the room afterwards that it should have been £24.50 each.
Again, overall, we were there for the golf - Excellent. Staff - Excellent. Food & drink - Awful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindaandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you for your comments and observations. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the legendary golf courses here at Turnberry. However, we were disappointed to see your dining experiences did not reach expectations. We are always happy to receive feedback of this sort at the time, which enables us to address the situations immediately. However, your comments will be passed on to our teams for investigation and action. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Loved the Turnberry Resort, the setting for the hotel is wonderful. View from the room over to Ailsa Craig was magnificent. Did think there would be shortbread or something with the tea/coffee in the rooms. Bars and restaurants lovely.The only downside was the Spa, children running about in the pool area, splashing people on the loungers (parents didn't seem too interested), relaxation area and a women, who is apparently a member, was on her mobile phone!!

Staff very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lavish luxuries of Turnberry and her magnificent surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I only ever bother reviewing places I love on Trip Advisor and Turnberry has to be up there with the best. We had our wedding there at the end of February and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. The function suite is new and very elegantly styled in mainly white which means none of the mismatching carpets and curtains you so often see in hotels. It also means your colour scheme for the wedding will always match the room. The public areas and some of the bedrooms have also been fairly recently refurbished and are simply beautiful. We were incredibly lucky with the weather all weekend so also got to take advantage of the views out over the sea and to Ailsa Craig. We had all of our wedding guests staying at the hotel so it was like a big house party which was such fun. The food, from the family dinner on the Friday night to the incredible wedding breakfast on the Saturday, was simply delicious and many of our guests commented on the fact they had never tasted better food at a wedding. They also accomodated the few children that were there really well with appropriate food and drinks which was fantastic for the kids and their parents!! All the staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly but professional and were quick to offer assistance where needed to keep me calm! All in all a fantastic experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Turnberry for a wedding or any occasion. They think of everything so you don't have to and make it an event to remember. Thank you to all the team who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Many thanks for choosing Turnberry to be part of your wonderful wedding day – we are delighted to see we helped to create the kind of memories which will stay with you, your family and friends forever and we will pass on your kind comments to each of our staff. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed for one night with my parents and cannot fault it. The interior is stunning and bedrooms huge and again beautifully decorated (we were in one of the renovated rooms). I had a massage at the spa and it is one of the best that I have had. We did not eat at the hotel but breakfast was great, with every taste catered for.

The main thing that made this hotel stand out for us was the staff, who were fantastic. This was our first time staying here but we loved it and will definitely be back. If you are looking for a special weekend of relaxation and a bit of pampering then it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaBroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The overall look of the hotel is great, and the sense of history is there... but the actual rooms, food and service let the place down.
rooms - old fashioned, in need of renovation with big cold bathrooms. Noisy corridors and banging doors.
food - after the warnings of the 1906 quality and price, we chose to eat in the bistro/bar. Unfortunately so did everyone else, and the place was busy and the staff barely coped. waited an eternity for an expensive chicken pie and salad. Probably not as long as some though by the looks on many faces. Not enough tables so forced to crouch over coffee tables to eat. Breakfast was much better and the service was very good.
service - unless you identify yourself as a starwood preferred guest or arrive in a Bentley i think you will find the check in staff a little snooty, and irritating. No information or advice as to playing the course was offered which was annoying.
Excellent gym setup and heated pool on site which was great though.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Many thanks for your comments and observations. While our breathtaking Championship Golf Courses are one of the reasons many people seek to visit, Turnberry has a great deal more to offer; from the relaxing Spa and gym which you kindly mentioned, to our exciting and varied Outdoor Activity Centre, which has a great selection of breathtaking activities and caters for all ages and levels of ability. We also have a range of Food and Beverage outlets to suit every mood, whether it is formal fine-dining, sporty clubhouse atmosphere or a more relaxed lounge-bar ambiance you require. Our team of gifted chefs are delighted to create dishes to suite anyone with specific requirements or dietary needs or will strive to create a dish for the guest who just has a special ‘something’ in mind. Our staff always welcome the chance to assist each and every one of our valued guests throughout their stay, from arrival to departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helens
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Our room was above the Spa and was very spacious and clean. We ate in the 1906 restaurant both the food and service were impecable. All the staff were courteous, very helpful and nothing was too much bother. We also ate in the Ailsa bar which is less formal than the 1906 but every bit as good - again nothing was too much trouble. Raphael made up several delicious blind cocktails for my daughter.
We went horse riding twice and thoroughly enjoyed riding along the beaches. We played both the Kintyre and Ailsa courses. Both of which were in excellent condition for the time of year, therefore we were able to play the full courses with no winter tees or greens. Food in the Tappie Toorie after our golf and horse riding was again the of the same high quality. The atmosphere everywhere in the hotel is very friendly and relaxed and not too intrusive or stuffy. We relaxed each evening by going for a swim in the pool which we thoroughly enjoyed. We found the pool area and changing rooms very clean and there were unlimited towels available.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your comments and observations. You certainly have made the most of your time here at Turnberry by discovering and indulging in the dynamic layers of rich experience offered to suit every mood and whim of our valued guests. We hope you will be able to return and add to your memories very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
129 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
453 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing