We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is one of the finest golf resorts in all of Great Britain. Dream up your best possible golf vacation and this is it. The hotel was not full during our early Spring stay and that may have added to the personal attention received from the staff but I suspect it would have been the same at peak season. Our room had a spectacular view of the golf course and water beyond. The bathroom was superb with a huge free standing tub and separate shower and toilet rooms. Quality touches throughout. If you golf you must play the Alysia course ... very special. The restaurant was expensive but I had the best steak Diane I've every eaten.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foundinstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to see you enjoyed many facets of the exquisite delights Turnberry offers. We hope we can welcome you back very soon to add to your memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    250
    117
    64
    35
See reviews for
211
632
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel looks great and has truly stunning views. Its got a perfect dining room location looking out to sea and looking over the golf course. Interiors are nice and it feels like a luxury hotel.

The staff are a mix of great and poor. All seem to try hard but I think there is a lack of decent training which means some staff just don't deliver first class service which kind of breaks the belief in the hotel.

Spa good, golf great.

Come here to relax and play golf but just dont expect it to be perfect. Prices probably tell you that anyway.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grande_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments about your visit to Turnberry. We were sorry to see you experienced some service issues during your visit and offer our most sincere apologies for any upset caused. We are always happy to assist our valued guests in any way possible to ensure they enjoy each layer of Turnberry’s rich offerings and ask that we are informed of any such challenges in order that we may address them and help create memories which can be cherished in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel gets it right from the minute you arrive. What was special was the fact that within a few hours the staff knew who you were.
We were made to feel special whether we were having afternoon tea, dinner or just a beer or coffee.
The food was consistently good with the sea whew from the room was spectacular .

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toalie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Thank you for your taking the time to pass on such wonderful comments about your Turnberry Experiences. We are delighted to hear we surpassed your expectations and we hope we can look forward to welcoming you back very soon and helping you to create more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed for a night with some friends.
Although the property and the interior, where it has been renovated, is stunning, enhanced luckily for us by the weather, we were a little disappointed with the room. Granted, it was clearly one of the old style rooms.
Really enjoyed walking in the grounds and using the swimming pool and indeed having a bite to eat in the grand tea lounge with the stunning views was superb.
Dinner however was unfortunately disappointing. Although the food itself was inoffensive and at times very tasty, the scallops and the trio of lamb being the highlights of the groups' meal, the prices were very high especially when the dishes were not coming fully garnished and uninspiring side orders were a must.
Although the service throughout the hotel had been until this point very good, in the restaurant it was decidedly poor. the waiting staff did not seem to understand the basics of service and while two of our starter plates had been cleared, three of us sat for a solid 3-4 minutes wondering if ours were ever going to get taken away, made doubly annoying as there was one waitress standing close by at the time and one of the senior waitors/ managers setting up his gueridon station for the next course by our table. Wine and water service were nonexistent. Really not good enough at those prices and especially when it is the main expense of your stay.
The bar next door was very good however with efficient service and a couple of quite tasty cocktails.
Altogether a very nice destination, severely let down by the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and observations regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear our restaurant service did not meet your expectations and will pass on your comments. We prefer any such challenges to be brought to our attention immediately in order that they may be acted upon to ensure our guests are not unduly inconvenienced or upset in any way. We are always grateful to know if there are areas where it is felt we may improve and are constantly searching to enhance each individual Turnberry experience. We are glad to hear you found Turnberry and her surrounding countryside enchanting and we hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I've been here several times over a number of years, through a couple of rebrandings/refurbishings.

This was our first stay since the most recent refurbishment. The hotel looks great. They've got the balance between modernity and nods to the past just right.

Our dinner in 1906 was well nigh perfect. The bar is expensive, probably just on the wrong side of acceptability (7 pounds for a pint of eighty shilling is stretching credibility even in a hotel as high end as this).

I've always been impressed by the gym/pool/spa. Many hotels have them but they are either not well maintained, too small or too busy. Not Turnberry. The gym and pool are well equipped, well maintained and feel special - not many places you can swim with a view out across blue seas to a picture postcard island.

I've not given this review 5 stars all round because our room disappointed slightly - we had an issue with noise. Connecting doors and room doors closing kept us awake (despite an excellent meal and a decent nightcap), so sound proofing seems to be a significant issue. And for the price you pay a little space would be good, and our room was easily the smallest and least well laid out of those we've stayed in here. I suspect the hotel was busy, and as we were on a package rate we may not have been a priority for a prime room.

These are minor niggles in what was, as always, a very relaxing stay. Value for money is about how you feel as you leave, and I leave Turnberryy feeling rested, well fed and relaxed. Most hotels don't do that, so expensive it may be, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
We are delighted to hear your Turnberry experience left you feeling rested, well fed and relaxed and we will certainly pass on your comments and observations to our managers and staff. We always value feedback from each and every one of our treasured guests in order that we may learn which elements of the rich Turnberry tapestry are working and areas where we may strive for further improvement. We hope we can soon look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Turnberry is possibly my favorite hotel in the world. It is luxury at its finest. The staff are highly attentive. The 1906 restaurant is both elegant and relaxed. The french/scottish cuisine is a credit to the kitchen team! The afternoon tea lounge is one of those places you could spend a hole day reading the papers and enjoying excellent food and drinks. We were very well looked after by John here. The Ailsa bar is a great place to go for after dinner drinks and kai is an exceptional bar man, his knowledge of Scottish Whiskey is amazing. The spa at Turnberry is very clean and quiet. The Gentlemans relaxation room is a great place to spend a few hours during the day. After a walk on the beach lunch in Tappi Torri at the clubhouse is a good call. The food is excellent and again the service is truly genuine. Syed was very kind and professioonal. For a truly indigenous Scottish experience Turnberry is the place to go!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments and observations about Turnberry and the rich tapestry of people, places, services and experiences available. We agree, whether you wish to relax and unwind, or create your own activity-filled agenda; Turnberry and her staff will strive to deliver indigenous Scottish luxury to each and every one. We hope to welcome you back to build on your memories very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Beautiful landscapes, the staff is very friendly. The food at 1906 restaurant is great both for dinner and breakfast. This classic restaurant has a beautiful environment. The golf course is very nice and the pool relaxing at the end of the day. We loved it. Thank you all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mviagens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We hope you will soon return to Turnberry to discover more of her breathtaking charms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
128 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
449 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing