We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here last Saturday with a groupon voucher I got for my Xmas from my fiancé. The deal included a standard classic resort facing room and either dinner for two or a spa treament, both up to the value of £90. As it was my Xmas present I selfishly decided to get a treament! As did my fiancé. The girls were very proffesional and polite and the massage was lovely.

We had dinner in the 1906 which was unbelievable. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and felt really looked after. The wine list on he ipad is a nice touch. We also had drinks in the lounge. The cosmopolitans were lovely, although the drinks are a tad pricey so be prepared to shell out!

On the Sunday we were booked in for afternoon tea. Again the service was so lovely. The lady wheeled round a massive selection if twining teas and explained them very well. The afternoon tea had a lovely selection of sandwiches, pastries/cakes and a lovely shot of soup. Once we were finished with the two bottom tiers the middle one was replaced with fresh scones and banana bread. So yummy!

To conclude, we had an amazing time. The staff are so polite and nothing is too much trouble. The food was gorgeous and the so are the surroundings. We are having our wedding here in 2014 and it has cemented our opnion that it is the perfect venue!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing massage, a few drinks in the Ailsa Bar with views of some of the most picturesque views in Scotland as well as indulging in a meal in our 1906 restaurant and experiencing afternoon tea. It is an immense pleasure to hear such kind words, please be assured that I have passed these on to the teams. With your wedding taking place at the resort next year, I am sure Turnberry will hold memories which you will treasure for a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back where a warm welcome will await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed for one night
Airconditioning in the room would not turn down from 24degrees

A number of our group had tepid showers and the duty manager's comment was that this was because of health an safety and the temperature was set because of this
What a ridiculous answer!
They need to up their game in a lot of areas to meet the expectations of their customers or they should lose their 5 star rating.
It just isn't managed well enough

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort. I was sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disappointed due to the temperature of your room and of your shower. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any upset or inconvenience caused- it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave dissatisfied. I have taken the time to investigate these issues and can confirm that the air conditioning system cannot be turned to below 24 degrees from a guest bedroom. Had you brought this to the attention of our front office team during your stay we would have been able to lower the air conditioning temperature in your room. With regards to your comments on the shower temperature, I can confirm that all of our showers are fitted with an anti-scald mechanism meaning that the water temperature will not go above 30 degrees. This is to ensure the health and safety of our guests, which I am sure you will appreciate, is of great importance to us. I would like to thank you once again to our comments which I have personally passed to our technical services manager. If you would like to discuss these points any further, then please do not hesitate to contact our executive office. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Loved the 3 nights we spent at Turnberry and cannot wait to return. The hotel is lovely. Great rooms, luxurious large bathrooms with ocean views. The breakfast spread was awesome. Played 2 rounds of golf which was challenging but great fun . The swimming pool and hot tub are great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate to have some of the most remarkable views in Scotland and there is no better way to enjoy them than from one of the timeless roll top baths which can be found in some of our exquisite deluxe ocean view rooms. On behalf of all Turnberry ambassadors I would like to thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

had an overnight stay as a christmas present from my daughter,it truly was a wonderful experience,nothing was a problem for them ,from front door to dining, they were all exellent,The only problem we had was our food was not hot ,the dinner or breakfast,when this was pointed out it was dealt with promptly and curteously I dont know if we were just unlucky or if there were other complaints.It will not stop us from visiting again,hopefully by then kitchen will have addressed this problem,perhaps heating plates would help.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186534Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at Turnberry. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable visit and intend to return in the future. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with the temperature of your food. We are glad that you did bring this to our attention during your visit, meaning that we could rectify this. I have personally passed on your comments to our kitchen who will address them to ensure that this issue does not re-occur. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort where a warm welcome will await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Wonderful three day stay here.we had a suite which was beautiful, just a shame that we hardly made any use of the long area. The view was amazing and we had a beautiful balcony to enjoy it from.had afternoon tea v nice but I felt the sandwich collection could have been better. Dinner in 1906 was lovely but would agree with others that service slow.overall had great time and will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toastie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at Turnberry. Offering the most enchanting views, our speciality ocean views suites really are the jewel in the crown here at the resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience- perhaps next time you can relax on your balcony, enjoying some of the most breathtaking sunsets out over the Ailsa Craig. I have personally passed on all of your comments to our teams for us to address. On behalf of all Turnberry ambassadors I wish you all the very best for 2013 and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was a 2 night stay with extended family staying in a sizeable Deluxe Ocean View room. We arrived very early at the hotel but were immediately allocated a room and my Gold SPG membership was immediately recognised and benefits were confirmed which I appreciated.

The Turnberry is a great hotel overlooking the ocean with exceptional staff. Every member of the team we encountered was helpful, chatted and made a real effort with our 16 month old son who was travelling with us.

We ate around the resort and the food & drink was of a good standard in all venues. We ate in the Tappie Toorie on the first night which had a nice casual golf club atmosphere. On the second night we ate in the 1906 restaurant where I indulged in some Escoffier-like dining - think Steak Diane and Crepes Suzette. This isn’t fine dining per se but it is good fun and makes for an entertaining evening. Breakfast consists of a large buffet of cold foods and fresh hot food which is cooked to order.

We used the pool which is a of decent size but didn’t use any further Spa facilities nor did we partake in any golf which is what this hotel is renowned for.

This is a relaxed hotel with people dressed casually at all times of the day, even in the evening, which gave it a real resort-like feel. This, coupled with the great staff, makes this place a hotel I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean View rooms are large modern rooms with great views across the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeAficionado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your visit to the resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us- it is always a pleasure to hear such positive comments. I have personally passed these to our teams. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future where a warm welcome from our ambassadors awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My family and I returned from Turnberry yesterday. We stayed in the main hotel, accompanied by a baby and two young boys, 3 and 5. I was initially worried that turning up with bored, rowdy children (one of them missing a shoe for some reason) would attract sideways glances from staff or a quiet request to move along. Turnberry is after all a luxury golf resort / hotel that deserves this accolade.

Quite to the contrary, the doorman welcomed us with a broad smile, entertained our kids and made us feel less frazzled and immediately at home. The same child-friendly welcome was apparent during dinner and breakfast and our kids were made to feel included and tolerated! The same at the spa and pool. However 'splash time' for youngsters in the pool was non-existent. We found two floats and were told to get our kids out of the jacuzzi (there were no signs). Minor complaint.

Just off from the lobby we found a large Xmas tree and 6 foot high ginger bread house, adorned with sweets candy and chocolates. It filled the entire stairwell with the smell of ginger. What a nice Christmas touch.

Our room (Deluxe Ocean Room) was fantastic - contemporary, but warm and cosy. The fixtures and fittings were to a high standard and the bed was fantastic.

The afternoon tea, restaurant and breakfast experience was good and the food in general was delicious.

If you're looking for a warm welcome, great food and a place to enjoy a beautiful sea view - this is a perfect place to go. It's not going to be cheap - our bill for the family for 3 nights came to £1,300 - but in terms of a great place to unwind and enjoy luxury surroundings it was worth every penny.

One final tip - If you like a brisk walk, then walk to the beach and make your way to the lighthouse where you'll find the ruins of Turnberry Castle. A lovely place to admire the sea view and sit and contemplate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort. As a child friendly resort, we take great pleasure in welcoming all families as we believe that Turnberry really does have something for everyone to explore. I have passed your comment regarding splash time in the pool to our director of operations who will personally be addressing this matter with our spa manager. I am delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay and would like to thank you once again for your feedback and take this opportunity to wish you and your family all the very best for 2013. We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
309 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
145 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
903 reviews
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: £108 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing