We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even fabulous if you don't golf!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Really an amazing piece of property. Stunning views, glorious rooms and lobby.We stayed in the Norman suite which was well appointed and very roomy. Great view of evening bagpipes and the coastline. We are not golfers however we ate lunches at the clubhouse which were lovely and hiked the golf course with is castle ruins, lighthouse and WWII memorial. We did other activities including skeet shooting, four wheeling and horseback riding. We also walked through the town of Maidens and along the beach to the trails that lead to Culzean castle. They were running a special the included dinner at "the pass" if you purchased a bottle of Krug. Truly a highlight of our stay. The chef and staff made it a memorable evening of cooking, laughs and extraordinary food!

A one of kind resort, even for non-golfers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the remarkable views from the Norman Suite and fully immersed yourselves in the true Turnberry experience; finding that the resort really does have something for everyone. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry again in the future for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having stayed in many Hotels in Europe and the Far East I was most surprised with the Friendly and helpfull staff at this Hotel.

Had afternoon tea in its self a great experiance also dinner in the evening on the whole a great time was had by both my wife and I

Alistair A

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. We are glad that you had a most enjoyable stay amongst us and that the service you experienced was to the standard which we are renowned for. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future and thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Decided to go for a spa weekend with a few family members.
Interior - Beautiful and fancy!
Food - Good quality, delicious meals!
- Breakfast was amazing. Cold meats, smoked salmon, different types of porridge and
cereals, juices, bread, cakes, hot breakfasts
- Dinner was beautiful. Seafood, soups, meats, pasta. Wonderful!
Atmosphere - Nice and quiet with lovely staff (oh and a nice sea view)
Facilities - Pool, Sauna, Steam Room, Beauty Salon, Sitting Space, Shops, Kids Area, Golf I think
What to do - Manicures, Golf, Facials, Massages
Overall - Wonderful, such a treat!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlaMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry; it is our pleasure to hear all of your kind comments which I have passed on to our teams. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future where more exceptional experiences await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed at turnberry with my partner over valentines. The whole experience is great, even down to the soap in bathrooms are high quality. The staff are friendly and always willing to help or offer advice.
The food was good, afternoon tea and a light meal in the bar were top drawer, it was fairly quiet and we were waited on hand and foot. The only criticism about the place are the prices, but you dont come here without paying somehow.

We also used the gym, pool and played the ailsa, again faultless.

All in all a great experience, and most importantly scored me lots of brownie points for the rest of 2013!!!!!

Pricey, but really worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and will be sure to pass all of your kind comments on to all ambassadors here at the hotel. The enchanting surroundings make Turnberry one of the most romantic destinations in Scotland- the perfect haven you can escape to in order to celebrate Valentine’s Day. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Nice room, excellent staff, but wasn't impressed with the food in the restaurant - it was ok but nothing special. The drinks and wine list were very expensive - much higher than standard restaurant mark up. Also the wine list was on an iPad, which initially seemed very cool but was actually really annoying and difficult to use.

Pros - staff (can't stress how great they were)
Cons - food, wine prices

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that the service you experienced during your stay was to the standard which we are so used to delivering here at Turnberry. I am sorry that on this occasion your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that the pricing at the resort is in line with similar five star hotels and resorts. I have passed your comments on to our food and beverage manager. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turnberry again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I have stayed at Turnberry on a number of occasions.
The location and the general standard of the hotel are always superb. As they should be!
On this occasion, there were a few (small) issues which I found surprising and a little disappointing. There was a very nice tray with tea and coffee in the room, but there was no milk. We asked for milk and it was brought to us. There were bath robes in the rooms but no slippers. I asked at the Spa and was told the hotel had run out. I asked at the concierge desk and they brought them to us. There were no poolside towels at the Spa. These issues were all resolved quickly by the excellent staff. It's just that, at Turnberry, you don't expect to have issues.

Everything else, the room standard, the courtesy, the location were as you would expect.

Turnberry is still a great hotel.

Room Tip: You just can't beat those sea views. You pay a little extra but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. All feedback helps us to identify our strengths and can highlight areas which may require our attention. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience overall- we agree that the captivating views from our lavish deluxe ocean are unrivalled. I am sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your visit- please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you from the issues you have mentioned which were a result of lack of detail on our part. I have passed your comments on to all department managers to ensure that similar situations do not reoccur. Thank you once again for your comments. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at Turnberry. I bought this for my partner and I through an online voucher. The voucher entitled us to an overnight plus a 3 course dinner and a breakfast.
We were early in arriving at the resort yet reception swapped our room about so we could enter our room early. I had upgraded to a Deluxe Sea View room and I must admit, it was definitely worth it. The room was very spacious and we had three different views out of our bedroom. It was lovely, fresh and clean and the living area with couch and table made it very homely.
The dinner in the 1906 restaurant was very formal but lovely. I was a bit shocked at being charged about £34 for two vodkas and diet coke I must admit, but this is the only complaint I have about the hotel - the price of the drinks. We just went a walk after dinner and retired back to our room as the bar prices are very expensive!
I booked us two aromatherapy massages which were lovely and the spa facilities were small but nice. Just watch the floors as they can be really slippy. The view of the Ailsa Craig is beautiful from the spa.
Last but in no means least was the breakfast in the 1906 restaurant. It was outstanding! We asked for a window seat and that along with the combination of both a buffet continental breakfast and a gorgeous cooked breakfast and the calm Scottish music playing in the background really made it truly special. The food was wonderful and the staff are very helpful and ready to assist in any way possible!
We will definitely return again in the future, but may have to save up a bit of money if we want to enjoy drinks in the hotel. Overall, a top hotel that deserves its 5 star rating!

Room Tip: 228 is a beautiful Deluxe Sea View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination. It is our pleasure to hear such kind comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry- we are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional experience and plan to return again in the future. Perhaps on your next stay you could opt to dine in our Ailsa Bar and Lounge where you can indulge in flight style dishes all made with local produce whilst watching the breathtaking sunset over the Ailsa Craig. We look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry where more memorable experiences await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,130 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
313 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,758 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: £114 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing