We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best golfing experience ever !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night and 2 round of golf stay at this amazing place. Words cannot really do justice to this wonderful resort. We were a group of 24 men from Wigan and from the moment we were met by a kilt wearing concierge to the moment we left, the experience will never be forgotten. We tried the sauna and the infinity pool before doing battle with the incredible Ailsa course, a treasured golf course walked by legends. The service from every member of staff is first class and the attention to detail throughout the hotel is unbelievable. They even have a resident bagpiper at the front of the hotel each evening. This plays renders grown men speechless !!!!! Thank you to everyone at Turnberry. I have never felt the need to write a review before, but we had such a great time I couldn't not do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justblackpoolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Turnberry experience- it was a pleasure to welcome you and your party to the resort for a memorable golfing trip. As I am sure you will agree-the Ailsa Course really is the jewel in the crown here at Turnberry! The views towards the lighthouse from the 9th hole really are breathtaking and although the course is challenging this is what adds to the charm! I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary in Oct 2013. Absolutely superb customer service by the concierge team, accommodations, food and leisure activities. We had a deluxe ocean view room which was very modern, comfortable and filled with the luxuries of home. The bathroom was like a spa with an oversized tub and heated flooring for those crispy scottish nights.
A personal note from the hotel manager with a tray of delicious fudge wishing us a happy anniversary was awaiting us upon our arrival. We indulged in the buffet breakfasts which offered up a wide array of fresh selections and we tapped into our adventure side by booking quad bikes, air rifles and archery at Turnberry adventures which was beyond enjoyable, thanks to Martin our adventure tour guide. One of the best properties we every stayed at all around!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe ocean view room. We stayed in room 122 and had an incredible view and great balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Firstly I would like to congratulate you once again on your recent anniversary- we are delighted to hear that you chose Turnberry as the destination for your celebration. As hoteliers, our aim is to create an environment where our guests feel relaxed and most importantly- at home! It is therefore a true delight to hear that you both had a memorable visit. Having launched Turnberry Adventures back in April we now have an array of activities on offer to ensure that there is a unique experience on offer for the explorers amongst us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First of all let me tell you about the positives at this hotel because there are plenty, the service is 5 star the staff are very friendly and on hand to help you with anything. The dining in the 1906 restaurant is expensive compared to other 5 star golf resorts in Scotland but again 5 star never the less an experience I would recommend to anyone. The room well you decide for yourself by my photographs I took today (Oct 13) I believe many rooms have gone under a major upgrade package back in 2009, but it is still fair to say that many including the one I stayed in are stuck in a 70s time warp (I have stayed in similar accommodation in Campbeltown which is truly and fairly rated as 2/3 star) The wooden folding door to the bathroom had no lock and was severely dated, the tiles we you decide, the shower cubicle I chose not to use due to the mould around the base on the silicone, the cubicle door was again from the 70s era the whole room was in a word "dated" and was crying out for a refurbishment, plenty marks on the light carpet, bits of skirting board rotted away in the bathroom the walls in the corridor outside the rooms had been "touched up" with emulsion which didn't match the original colour and again looked tacky not in line with a 5 star luxury collection resort, anyway you get the picture a truly 3 star room in a 5 star establishment. Put a dampner on the whole weekend which should have been a faultless 5 star experience as the cost would suggest. On asking if there were any ocean view rooms available I was told sorry this is all we have available, if you are visiting this resort stay clear of room No8 on the ground floor with a courtyard view. In summing if you are fortunate to get a renovated room then you will love the experience, just think potential customers should be made aware that there are plenty 70s era 3 star rooms lurking in an otherwise fantastic hotel & resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room No8 and similar in the area on the ground floor behind the hotel with courtyard and spa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheRainman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a comprehensive account of your recent visit to Turnberry. Your feedback is appreciated as it allows us to monitor the level of service we are delivering, and helps identify areas which may require our attention. Whilst I am delighted to hear the many positive aspects of your stay I am sorry to see that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion due to your room allocation. Please accept my apologies for any upset or inconvenience caused. We are working behind the scenes to address all of your comments and hope that your experience on this occasion would not deter you from returning in the future. Should you plan a return visit, please contact the executive office and we will work to ensure your experience next time round is memorable for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed for 5 days and had an excellent time. The service was superb from Kenny's help at check-in to all the servers in the restaurants. We never had to wait for a thing. Our classic room, 308, over the spa was large, had floor to ceiling windows looking at the 1st green and expansive sea views. The hotel is a old gem so there are a few chips here and there which give it character, but it is an elegant hotel, full of history both golfing and otherwise. We played the Alisa course and loved it, and there are plenty of other courses to play to make the trip west worth it. Had dinner one night at Whitings in Maidens and it was very good. Enjoyed the spa and the pool. Would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: We had 308 and it is big with great views. There was no need for air conditioning so that was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kklynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations following your recent visit. The resort does have a storied past full of heritage and history which contributes towards making Turnberry such an enchanting destination. With a wealth of world renowned golf courses in the locality- Turnberry really is a golfer’s paradise! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel put an exclamation point on a great 10-day golfing trip to Scotland. The hotel, grounds, rooms, restaurant, service, and even the evening bagpiper were all superb. It's expensive but well worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for choosing Turnberry as the final destination for your Scottish golfing experience! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay amongst us and that you managed to hear the indigenous Scottish bagpiper who plays each evening in front of the hotel! Should you return to Scotland in the future, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back home where further memorable experiences await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We only stayed one night, but that was one too many. As hard as they try, they just don't produce an experience worthy of the price. I went for the golf, and it is superb, and the 1906 restaurant wasn't bad either. But the continual blathering about how great and luxurious it is just doesn't prove out. First of all they lost my luggage. Had to track down the porter and he eventually found it. The room was like a sauna when entering; no need to visit the spa! A great deal of money was spent recently renovating, yet the radiators were all set on high and took hours to vent it to a bearable temperature. Yet the TV was on, with the glitzy promo running, trying to upsell any and everything under the sun. How about "complimentary" expanded TV and web service . . . for an extra 20 pounds? Do they not know what the word complimentary means? When I spend over $400 for a room I expect the best, not offers of upcharges. What a crock of hype. If you're at all conscious of value there are plenty of fine lodging properties available elsewhere. It's a beautiful building on a great site with some of the best golf in the world. Too bad they seem more interested in selling than producing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forecaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am sorry to see that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion due to the issues you highlight in your review. I have taken good note of all of your comments and will follow up with the relevant department managers. Providing our guests with exceptional experiences is a culture here at Turnberry and I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion. Should you plan to return to Turnberry in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the executive office and we will ensure your stay is more memorable next time round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great rooms in the hotel, lovely breakfast, and friendly staff throughout the resort. Plenty of overdressed Americans in plus fours and garish socks to keep you amused. The kintyre course is worth playing and The Ailsa course is fully deserving of it's reputation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notnigap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable experience amongst us and that you managed to play on both our Ailsa and Kintyre Course! We hope that you will return to the resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
309 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
145 reviews
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
22.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range: £108 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing