We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Late Than Never”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better Late Than Never”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This review is somewhat delayed as we stayed here in February during school half term. Our stay was the result of being given gift vouchers for afternoon tea as a Christmas present, so we decided to combine afternoon tea with dinner bed and breakfast for one night following an email from Starwood Guest programme informing us of some special offers.

We had our two year old daughter with us and from the minute we arrived I knew we were somewhere quite special. The warmth of welcome at the door by Jim the bellman was outstanding and certainly one of the warmest we have experienced any where in the world. We never holiday in the UK or Europe due the usually poor standard of customer service preferring to holiday in the Middle East and Asia. However, this warm welcome and the fuss Jim made of our daughter was to be indicative of the service we received during our stay.

Afternoon tea was outstanding, our deluxe sea view room stunning (despite the weather) and our evening meal superb. The next morning at breakfast my wife and I were so impressed by what we were experiencing we decided to stay for another night. Having confirmed we could stay in the same room at the same rate we relaxed in to another wonderful day at this resort.

Following dinner that evening we returned to our room to find that due to heavy winds and driving rain our room had been flooded with rain water and we were not able to stay in it. We were moved very quickly to a smaller room at the back of the hotel some distance away from where we were previously.It was getting late so we decided not to make a fuss as the room was still deluxe and well appointed and it was only for the night.

On checking out the next morning we received an apology from the duty manager and the price difference between the two rooms was deducted. However, there was no offer of any compensation for our late night upheaval, not even the offer of some complimentary Starwood points. That, in our opinion was the only blip in an otherwise perfect stay. We did have to move our luggage, two year old and then wait for the new room to be set up with a cot etc. so it was not really a minor issue. However, that said, we had such a lovely time we decided to leave it at that. I point it out now only to highlight one issue which if thought through a little better could have made the stay absolutely perfect.

Apologies again for the delay in sending this review. Better late than never.

If a deal is to be had for this resort then snap it up.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are modern and well appointed. Sea facing if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent visit to Trump Turnberry. Some say that the jewel in the crown here at Turnberry are the staff and therefore I am delighted to hear that the service you experienced from our staff, and particularly Jim helped make your experience a memorable one- so much so that you decided to extend your stay with us. Please be assured that I will personally pass on your kind comments. I would also like to apologise for any upset or inconvenience caused by the issue with your room. After some harsh weather conditions we have taken necessary action in order to prevent similar situations from reoccurring in the future. I hope you would consider returning to the resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Should you plan another stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact Gemma Scobie in the executive office who will be delighted to assist with the necessary arrangements. Thank you once again for your review- it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    245
    117
    63
    35
See reviews for
210
617
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here recently as part of a golf event. The place itself is magnificent. One of the nicest hotels and settings i have ever seen. We played on both the golf courses whilst we were there, both of them being exceptional. Its not just a golf resort though as the hotel caters for non golfers as well. My wife enjoyed a lovely day at the spa whilst we played golf and couldnt fault it. The whole layout of the hotel and the golf courses right next to the coast is idyllic.
This is the first time we have been here, but we will definately be returning for a few long weekends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Turnberry experience. I am delighted to hear that both you and your wife had an enjoyable stay amongst us. As a golfer, I am sure you will agree that playing in the footsteps of legends on the iconic Ailsa Course is certainly a memorable experience! I am also happy to see that your wife enjoyed some time in the spa relaxing and admiring the captivating views. We look forward to your next visit where a warm indigenous welcome awaits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Turnberry Resort hotel is a golf resort, but actually a great hotel for a family break if you want a base on west coast of Scotland. It's not cheap, but the staff were helpful, food great, and we had a family room with a separate TV and closing doors for our children's little annexe. We paid a supplement for a children's deal which provided for this room, free soft drinks and some other benefits.

There's a really, really quiet but beautiful beach just opposite the hotel, a nice little pool and spa, and although I wouldn't recommend the hotel for very young children (ours are 7 & 9).

There are a number of bars and restaurants attached to the hotel, and we enjoyed all the ones we tried.

Expect lots of golfers!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your recent family visit to Trump Turnberry- it was a pleasure to have you amongst us. I am delighted to hear that our family room was well suited to your needs and that you and your children enjoyed the benefits included in our children’s all inclusive package. I am sure you will agree that there really is something for everyone whether it be spending time on the beach, partaking in pitch and putt, or enjoying some activities at Turnberry Adventures. We hope you will return to the resort in the future as it would be a pleasure to welcome you and the family back for another memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I were invited to the Skoda UK Golf Tournament which took place over two days, 28th and 29th July 2014 at Turnberry. This beautiful hotel is without doubt one of the most iconic golfing destinations in the world which is located on the Ayrshire Coast with views over the Irish Sea, Ailsa Craig and mountains of Arran and Kintyre.
We were treated royally by the Skoda UK Fleet Management and whilst our partners went off to play golf on the Ailsa Craig Course, the wives and girlfriends checked into the beautiful hotel and had the choice of various Spa Treatments. Later in the afternoon we sat outside on the Terrace enjoying our wine, overlooking the 18th Green of the Ailsa Craig Course and at 6.30 we were treated to a Scottish Piper playing the bagpipes for half an hour.
Our party met for pre-dinner drinks which we enjoyed on the Spa Balcony as the weather was superb, followed by a 3 course gala dinner which was served in the Turnberry Suite. The food was enjoyable but perhaps not memorable.
Our bedroom was located at the side of the hotel overlooking the car park, Room 211 - very nice room and such a comfortable bed - ideal for an overnight stay. Breakfast on Tuesday morning was
really like any other hotel with a varied choice of hot and cold foods, nothing exceptional. The staff, however, were extremely friendly and helpful. The Scots have a great sense of humour.
I would recommend this Hotel very highly as the golf courses are superb, the views stunning and
the Clubhouse and Gallery Room, where meals are served, are excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are the best but most expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfingmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Turnberry experience following your visit for the Skoda UK Golf Tournament. It was a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay amongst us and that you managed to relax in our spa as well as indulging in a glass of wine whilst admiring the iconic golf courses and breathtaking views. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared amongst all Turnberry ambassadors. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Turnberry with our two children, ages 8 and 6. The room was great - definitely worth getting an oceanview as it is spectacular. The staff was exceptionally helpful - especially the bellman and the concierge. The breakfast was perfection - a beautiful room and a great selection. This hotel is exactly what luxury is about. The entire property is gorgeous - the pool, spa, hotel, and grounds. We will definitely make it a point to visit this property again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markovich7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Trump Turnberry as the destination for your family break. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that the service you received helped enhance your experience. As a business we constantly strive to exceed the expectations of our guests therefore it is an honour to hear that your opinion of your visit reflects our values. We sincerely hope you will return in the near future where further Turnberry Adventures await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First stop on our self organized tour of Scotland was Turnberry. We had a rare week of sunshine, which made the ocean view from our window at this exquisite hotel magical. Room 235 was spacious and luxurious with a view over the golf course and beyond. We had cocktails on the mini terrace of the Ailsa Bar & Lounge and ordered a pizza.
The first day we spent exploring the grounds and we walked to the lighthouse and along the beach. The route took us over the golf course. On day two we drove to Culzean Castle, which is worth a visit and only 5-10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzywalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to commence your tour of Scotland here at Trump Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that the sun shone throughout your visit ( a very rare occurrence here on the West Coast) and that you had an enjoyable stay amongst us. As I am sure you will agree- although we are in a rural location, there are many attractions nearby which can enhance your visit. It is wonderful that you managed to visit Culzean Castle which like Turnberry is located in breathtaking settings with a storied past! We hope that you will return to the resort if you ever plan another visit to Scotland as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Turnberry while on a trip around the UK. This is an excellent historical hotel and golf course. We had an opportunity to ride horses on the beach which was great. Also, we asked, and the staff took us out to the lighthouse for pictures at dusk. The room for a family of four was spacious and luxurious. The hotel setting and service were outstanding! We can't really comment on the value, as we stayed with Starwood Hotel Points.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Turnberry experience. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a memorable stay amongst us and that you will have some beautiful photos with the breathtaking views in the background which I hope will be a treasured keepsake for years to come. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the resort in the future where further Turnberry adventures await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing