We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

From the moment I drove over the hill and Ailsa Craig came into view I knew I was in a special place. The golfing gods have certainly blessed this stretch of coastline. The golf facilities are exceptional and the hotel is a perfect compliment to its expectations. Beautifully appointemd rooms and public areas. The most lasting impressions are of the welcome and friendliness of the staff (in all areas of the resort).
A MUST for golfers

Room Tip: A sea view would be fantastic, but I assume everybody requests this. My room did not have a particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDPachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your most recent visit to Trump Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay amongst us and that the service you received throughout made your visit a memorable one. We always say that the jewel in the crown here at the resort is our staff and it is a pleasure to hear our views reiterated by our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    248
    116
    64
    35
See reviews for
209
625
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Cal.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We made the reservations months ago and I guess it wasn't public that he was buying it. VERY glad we went. It is a first class experience.
The staff, the amenities, the golf course and even the caddies were exceptional.
I'd like to go back and spend a few days there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flapsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit here to Trump Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that your stay was an exceptional one. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back home to the resort in the near future where further memorable experiences await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Good points : very comfortable room, good bed, large bathroom, lots of towels. Excellent breakfast and food in lounge. Lovely views.
Bad points : some refurbishment needed, corridors and lounges have gloomy lights and no atmosphere. Rather stark. Spa is ok but not the best.
Comparable to Gleneagles - food better but not the room and the Old Course beats both of these hands down.
All in all though comfortable for a short break. Look forward to Trump improvements.

Room Tip: Probably sea view better but expensive. There was noise from a wedding outside our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sports1mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations following your most recent visit to Trump Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall and I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the spa and rooms. As you are aware, the recent change in ownership means that we now look forward to an exquisite renovation therefore I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

2nd stay in 3 years but disappointed with service, particularly at Breakfast.
For what it costs you should expect perfect service at all times.
I am sure Donald will get to grips with it eventually.
Still special, but not superb!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TFOPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent Trump Turnberry experience. As a regular guest, your loyalty is greatly appreciated therefore I am saddened to see that your experience on this occasion was not to the usual high standards for which we are renowned. We hope that your experience on this occasion would not deter you from returning in the future as it would be an honour to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves. Should you plan another visit, please do not hesitate to contact Gemma Scobie in the executive office who will be delighted to assist in making the necessary arrangements. Thank you once again for your feedback; it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I recently returned from a long weekend up at Turnberry golf resort on the west coast of Scotland. I have to say it was a very comfortable relaxing weekend and well worth the trip. The hotel itself is very comfortable and the best thing is the friendly attentive staff. Rooms are of a decent standard although could probably do with some updating to bring them up to the standard of other top class hotels I've stayed in. I changed my room to a quieter one and this wasn't much of a problem. The food is expensive as you might expect but not overpriced for a location of this quality. The spa/pool is excellent with great views. Overall the vibe is very relaxed albeit Turnberry does tend to ham up the Scottish thing somewhat (staff in kilts etc). What really sets the hotel apart though is the golf, two superb 18 hole courses, a 9 hole and a pitch and putt. I found the Kintyre course just as as challenging as the Ailsa but both were superb, in great condition and with very helpful staff (pro shop. starters etc). I shall definitely recommend the hotel to friends and would like to return to play the courses again and stay in the hotel, particularly if it gets a refurb. Thank you Turnberry for a memorable, relaxing golf break!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the kitchens/generator to get a quieter one.
See more room tips
Green Features: Fine no problems here, environmental practices sound. ----------------------------------------------------------------------
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Trump Turnberry as the destination for your recent golf break and for subsequently taking the time to share your experience; your comments are greatly appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you particularly enjoyed your rounds of golf on both the Ailsa and Kintyre Course. Although the Ailsa is our most iconic course, the qualifying rounds for the Opens have been hosted on the Kintyre and it certainly is a challenging course! We are pleased to advise that there will be a refurbishment taking place at the resort and we hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to show you the exciting new changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I had an overnight stay here on 23rd August, the weather could not have been better to make our short stay an even better one.
My husband had asked for a sea view (a MUST) but was told when he booked that the rooms overlooking the sea at the hotel were fully booked so we were slightly wary of the kind of room we had been allocated but WOW, we were not disappointed.
The hotel has a spa which is separated from the hotel but also has rooms above it and we were given one of these rooms .... which looked out to sea!! What an absolutely amazing view of the Bass Rock standing out in the glistening sea with a perfect blue sky greeted us, we could not have asked for more so much so that we decided to treat ourselves to a bottle of champagne in our room instead of heading to the cocktail bar before dinner as sitting on our sofa looking out at this beautiful scene had to be experienced that evening as there are no words to describe a beautiful west coast of Scotland sunset, you have to be there.

We are not golfers but if you are it is golf heaven! You will have everything you need for a wonderful golfing experience, the course, which is world renowned, the scenery and the ambience all culminate to give you Scotland and golf at it's best. If golf is not your thing there are limitless activities to experience and the spa is just a dream for total relaxation.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, whatever their role, and make you feel so very welcome and I sincerely hope the hotel and it's warm welcome stays that way now that it is in new hands as it would be a travesty if that special Scottish welcome was tarnished in any way.

Room Tip: Try to acquire a sea view room because you will definitely not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraH295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your most recent visit to Trump Turnberry. I am delighted that we managed to honour your request for an ocean view room as the views on offer are simply breathtaking, and admiring them with a glass of champagne while the sun sets sounds like an exquisite start to the evening! It gives me great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay amongst us and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I know you get what you pay for and in the case of Turnberry, I refuse to call it T.... Turnberry, you pay...but you definitely get what you pay for. The service was better than ever and of course, the golf was outstanding as always. The breakfast is a special deal with everything and more...the duel in the sun bar was closed unfortunately so we opted to eat at the golf clubhouse which was more than ideal. I am sure the fine dining is terrific but the cost kept us away. Hats off to turnberry, it really is a special place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nosoup4u72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to Turnberry; it gives me great pleasure to hear that the service you received was exceptional throughout and that the golf experience exceeded your expectations. With a vast array of breakfast items to choose from, I am sure you will agree that there is no better way to start the morning than by indulging and admiring the breathtaking views from our 1906 restaurant. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnberry
0.2 mi away
Malin Court Hotel
Malin Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Turnberry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
13.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Property: Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing