We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveller rating
1,061
288
133
75
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
288
133
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagolf courseailsa craigmain restaurantpitch and puttround of golfplay golfspa areagreat golfailsa barfirst classstunning hotelirish seasteam roomspa treatmentssea viewgrand tea lounge
Filter
Updating list...
1,520 - 1,525 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2007

I stayed at the hotel in one of the lodges for a long weekend. My husband and son love golf so they were happy. I love being pampered and doing nothing so I was happy and my daughter loves swimming and horses so she was happy. The food in the restaurants was fantastic although quite expensive. The activities were amazing. My husband and son played golf and went shooting while my daughter did horse riding and swimming. This hotel has something for every one. Its owned by the Americans and I think they rip you off a bit but what the hell its worth it. Go and Enjoy.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank holidaymadEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Myself and my family stayed at Turnberry over the new year period. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is impressive. However the only dissapointment we had was the swimming pool/spa area. To get to this you had to walk through a part of the hotel that was very cold and uninviting. The water in the swimming pool was extremely cold and even my 3 yr old daughter complained of the temperature! On mentioning this to the lifeguard he said 'yes we know, a lot of our members complain about it' (!) 'but it is kept at the required temperature and we are unable to adjust it'. Hence, we stayed in there for about 5 mins max and never returned during our 4 night stay. Which is a shame as we were all really looking forward to spending time in there. I don't think we would visit Turnberry again because of this.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank 1two3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

We recently stayed at the Westin Turnberry for two nights. Having stayed before we booked two ocean view rooms as although the resort view rooms are cheaper the views over the golf course and towards the sea are a reason to stay at the hotel alone!

Our rooms were both kings with a separate hallway which made them very quiet despite the hotel being very busy. The bathrooms were large with huge tubs and seperate shower booths. There were plenty toiletries and towels and housekeeping standards were faultless. In the bedrooms furnishings were traditional, of reasonable quality although the TV was a bit basic. Both our rooms had little balconies which in the summer would have been great to watch the sunsets. Bedding and soft furnishings were high quality.

The Turnberry Restaurant is the fine dining restaurant and although it is no doubt quite pricey the food was excellent, well presented and service was friendly and attentive. The room itself is very traditional although the food had many modern touches. There are plenty fair priced wines and quite a lot of three or even four figure bottles! Dress was a bit mixed - there were a few who seemed happy in jeans although most diners made the effort to be dressed 'smart casual'.

There is also a casual restaurant above the spa with a bar area which also sold snacks - smoked salmon sandwiches were good and not much more pricey than Marks and Spencers!

The pool is lovely - large and semi-circle shaped to make the most of views towards Ailsa Craig. There are plenty of loungers to relax. Spa treatments are expensive - my daughter had a massage which she said was OK but not out of this world.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant and is plentiful with a good choice from both buffet and menu. Service at breakfast could be a bit better organised but after catching the waiting staff attention service was quick and helpful.

Please note that there is not a choice of eating places outwith the hotel as any nearby towns are not visitor oreintated so booking dinner is certainly required.

In summary this is a trditional hotel ( doormen in kilts ), no airconditioning, but spectacular grounds, excellent views, good service, good facilities and very relaxing with no stuffiness. One of Scotland's best hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blackterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

Booked a rate for two nights that included dinner in Turnberry restaurant to be told on arrival that Turnberry restaurant was closed for private party on first night, and that there was restricted time availabilty for Dinner in Turnberry on second night. Allocated bedroom was chilly on arrival, which was soon improved by turning on radiators! However bedroom had huge bathroom attached with no form of heating other than puny heated towel rail which seemed to make little or no difference to bathroom temperature. Despite size of bathroom, bath was actually located under sloping ceiling which meant over bath shower was fine for small people but very uncomfortable for others. No facility to use hairdryer close to mirror and sqeaky floorboards all over the room increased our dissatisfaction. Yes we should have complained, but these faults emerged after a few hours in room and given that the objective of the weekend was to chiil out the last thing we felt like was complaining. So the first night we had dinner in the Terrace restaurant which was generally of a good standard but my wifes starter which was described as Tempura Scallops (note the plural) actually consisted of one Scallop despite the fact that a supplement was charged on the menu.
Breakfast was very good on both days as was Dinner in the Turnberry on the second night ,despite our lack of time preference, but there were sufficient other little niggles with other aspects of the service to persuade us that we would not rush back when there are other 5 star hotels in Scotland of a demonstrably better standard. Finally on check out no amendment was made to our first night room rate despite the fact that the all inclusive price of the Turnberry meal would have been significantly more than the cost of the Terrace restaurant meal that was credited to our account. This last point was not noticed until we were away from the Hotel. The Hotel is in a great location and it is a pity on this instance at least it did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dss321ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews