We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent But Not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soccer Taco - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Soccer Taco
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Southwestern, Latin
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent But Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My son and I recently stopped by the Soccer Taco location in Maryville for dinner and, for the most part, we had a decent dining experience. The food was hot and fresh but I disagree with reviewers who describe the dishes as "authentic". The staff was friendly and curteous and I may stop in again in the future, maybe for lunch instead of dinner. I guess the Mexican food sports bar concept just doesn't impress me that much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican food in a sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We visited Townsend during Labor Day weekend & stumbled upon Soccer Taco in Maryville & enjoyed our meal. It was very busy on both Friday & Saturday nights & the host asked us if we'd mind sitting at the bar rather than waiting for a table to open up -- we had no problem with that. We had good service at the bar & had zero wait time for drinks & minimal wait time for food. There was live music that night -- very loud, but, we didn't mind that. They had a bunch of different college football games on -- multiple tv's thru out the bar & restaurant. I had a few glasses of sangria -- very tasty & complimentary chips & salsa were presented to us when we sat down. My husband had a combo meal w/ tacos, beans & rice & I had a chicken quesadilla w/ rice & beans -- nothing fancy or spectacular, but, good & not over priced. It is a small restaurant -- some booths & tables scrunched together -- I also noticed that they had outside
patio seating on the side of the restaurant. If your looking for a sports bar that specializes in mexican food then you will love Soccer Taco. If/when we come back to the area, then we'll stop in again for a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angela314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best local Mexican food by a mile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

This is real authentic n always tastes fresh. My fav is the Chile rellano and taxi combo. Their charro beans are great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank knoxvillevolntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My family goes here a lot. You get ur food pretty fast and the food is average. I don't really like the layout of the building but it's one of the three Mexican restaurants I like to go to.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank summer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“mexicalisportsgourmettacoshopsupremo! [ sic]”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I'll confess, i'm guilty of practically living at taco bell (I see my ratings in trip advisor suddenly dropping!). And I've hit up the alternative fast food taco shops, you know the ones, they're everywhere.

So this was a kind of surprise to me. The unusual name kind of kept me away, frankly, it sounded gimmicky.

But walking in, seeing you could eat-in or take-out (which i did), seeing the tv screens all around, and seeing the staff (muy authentico, if you catch my drift), i felt pretty good about it even -before- eating anything.

I got a ginormous burrito (and hey, i'm a big 'chipotle' and 'qdoba' fan too, so i know ginormous burrito's when i see 'em), which was very very tasty, very unique, loaded with flavor and good ingredients. I think it was the Mole Poblano Chicken breast topped with traditional mole sauce I got it with rice.

Really really good. I reccomend it.
To say it's not different than other places is just not doing it justice.
It's a mexicalisportsgourmettacoshopsupremo [sic] kind of place!
I'll be going back!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blitzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soccer Taco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing