We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat and it was truly an enjoyable 2 days. I have never stayed in a place as clean and well organized as this and the owners made us feel comfortable throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious and a source of pride for Jim and Mary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you both as our guests and getting to you. Our late night discussion on the porch was truly enjoyable. We are glad you felt comfortable during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again when you get the itch to hike the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spend a weekend at the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta. The B&B is a great place to relax. The owners are very nice and have plenty of tips on places to visit in the area. Breakfast was very good as well (and different every day).The rooms were large, with good beds and bathrooms (including a steamshower and hottub) and amazing view of the mountains. Close to Smoky Mountains National Park (Cades Cove) and the Dragon's Tail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdCrebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for writing such a nice review. Yes, we are tranquil, relaxing and off the beaten path, yet close enough to the National Park (which we border), the Tail of the Dragon and other sites of interest to our guests. We appreciate the review very much and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Everything about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat was perfect. I can not think of one thing that would have made it better. We stayed in The Forest room and I must say, cleanest place we ever stayed in. Our room was very private. we had our own entry, deck with rocking chairs, hot tub and garden. We loved all the little things that they thought of from the music to the snacks. The view was so beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Jim and Mary are wonderful hosts, and must love what they do because it shows. If you are looking for a clean, safe, peaceful, private,perfect B & B, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrbsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your very nice comments and review. We are pleased that you found our Inn the cleanest place you have ever stayed. We take pride in having a clean environment where guests can walk the floors barefoot and relax in comfort. It is also good to know you enjoyed the music and the refreshments that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Me and my husband spent our 3rd anniversary and (very late) honeymoon here for three days. It was our first experience at a B&B. SPECTACULAR views (we had the wildflower room) and gorgeous home. It would be hard to find more hospitable hosts - their personal touches really make you feel at home - not to mention the homemade breakfasts were to die for! The only complaint we had was that the location was a bit far from the sites (60+ min. to get anywhere.) We also wished we could have booked the forest room (more privacy) but overall, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The wildflower and bear rooms seemed to have the best view of the mountains, but the forest room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality, breakfasts and that you felt at home here. Being “a bit far from the sights,” depends upon why our guests come to the Smoky Mountains. Our Inn is situated on a quiet, forested mountain-top, within minutes of Great Smoky Mountain National Park trailheads (several of which get you directly to Abrams Falls). We are also within minutes of the Tail of the Dragon, kayaking, canoeing, and fishing. Yes, Cades Cove is about an hour and fifteen minute scenic drive from our Inn; but if you stay in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg it can take just as long or longer depending upon the traffic. Our niche in this market is a relaxing, quiet, secluded, romantic getaway; but close enough to the area’s sights and attractions to make for an enjoyable day-trip. We are so glad you stayed with us to celebrate your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the best two nights of our week-long vacation here! We were traveling throughout KY and TN as a celebration of me graduating. I couldn't have been any happier. Everything was perfect. We stayed in the Bear room, which had the most beautiful view. I LOVED the bathtub as well :)
Breakfast was spectacular the two mornings we were there as well.
I think we appreciated our hosts the most though. We couldn't have asked for two more gracious and warm people.
My parents are already planning a stay here within the next two months after hearing about our trip!

-Lenore

Room Tip: Bear room is supposed to have the best view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased you visited and have recommended us to others. It is great to know that you found your room just right and that you loved our breakfasts as well. We hope to see you again in the future. And, congratulations again on your graduation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Surprised my husband Bob with a weekend getaway for his birthday. He had never stayed in a B&B before and was a bit leary of not having enough privacy. We stayed in Bear Room which was very comfortable and with the most amazing view They are the perfect hosts. We felt completely at ease and not at all crowded. They even went out of their way and put a Happy Birthday card with a Rose in vase...very sweet. Best coffee ever and the delicious fresh fruit water and afternoon cookies were a great touch!! Loved every minute and miss it already. Hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you Colette for your kind review. We are so glad your surprise weekend worked out so well and that you both had a wonderful time. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the coffee (it is all in how you measure it). We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I visited Maryville to see his family and we chose to stay at Chilhowee. We could not be more happy we did. Very nice and very relaxing. Our view was fantastic: we could sit in our hot tub and gaze over the Smokey Mountains. We had to run around quite a bit to visit folks but coming back to our room was the most relaxing we've had in a long, long time. Our bed was very comfortable and the sitting room was as well. The host and hostess were top notch and put out a wonderful spread for breakfast. My husband is picky and the first thing he mentioned to our son when we returned home was that he was definitely planning on returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you very much for your great review. It is always satisfying to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay so much they plan to return, soon in fact. It is our goal to make sure all our guests have a pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased that you found the accommodations and amenities just what you needed. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
118 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast
12.1 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
598 reviews
9.4 mi away
RT Lodge
RT Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maryville
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing