We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Smoky Retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Smoky Retreat!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you're looking for a quiet get-away in an immaculately clean log cabin with a fantastic view of the mountains, this is the place! Each morning started with a unique and delectable breakfast, and the evening hours were spent in the midst of misty mountain scenery while soaking in a private outdoor hot tub! We had a delightful time! Thank you for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forest View Room which also has a view of the mountains. If you want a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Hearing that our guests noticed that our Inn is "immaculately clean" and that our breakfasts are "unique and delectable" makes all our hard work worth it. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hot tub and had a "delightful time." We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A 10+ acre retreat, set high atop Chilhowee Mountain in a secure gated area, this beautiful custom-built lodge-type log structure is a little piece of heaven. Soft relaxing music greets you as you enter the front entrance foyer, and the focal point is the floor to ceiling stone fireplace. A rear deck is an inviting feature, with an outdoor fireplace and comfortable rocking chairs...a perfect spot for reading, watching the hummingbirds, enjoying a morning cup of delicious coffee, or simply being mesmerized by the incredible view of distant mountains and valleys from the high elevation.

This was our second visit to the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, where we reserved The Bear Room for two nights. It featured a king-size log bed with beautiful linens, the most comfortable mattress ever, well-appointed furnishings and wall art, thick towels, and a bay window with a magnificent view of the distant mountains and valleys. Our spotlessly clean bathroom featured a double vanity, a steam shower, towel-warming rack, scented bath salts, and a large air jet tub with water massage settings...ahhh, so relaxing!

A reading loft with large windows was located just outside the entrance to the Bear Room, one of many private areas in which to unwind, read, or simply enjoy the views.

We selected the Dinner For Two option for the first night of our arrival. It had a lovely assortment of meats, cheese, fruit, sliced veggies, and yummy spreads...among them, a tasty olive tapenade. The tray was accompanied by delicious soup, bread, and Mary's special Coconut Sorbet for dessert. The meal was more than a generous serving for two, so Mary graciously offered to package and refrigerate the leftovers, which we enjoyed for a picnic during an outing the following day.

Breakfast is an EVENT and a gourmet delight. Both Jim and Mary are accomplished chefs, with an amazing talent for creating not only beautiful presentations garnished with their homegrown fresh herbs, but delicious offerings as well. Breakfast menus vary, and each one is a beautiful adventure in dining.

Mary and Jim are a lovely, friendly, and accommodating couple, with a wealth of information to assist their guests with suggestions for area trails and attractions, and they are eager to provide maps and information to make your visit one to enjoy and remember.

Homemade cookies and a citrus-water dispenser are available in the dining for all to enjoy at any hour of the day.

This is truly a retreat where one can relax and be stress-free. I guarantee that once you have the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat experience, you will want to return again and again. I highly recommend this hideaway for anyone who feels the desire for a tranquil, restful, and beautiful getaway. You will not be disappointed. Jim and Mary have a very special gift for making their guests feel welcome and special...with all the comforts of home. We will return...

Room Tip: Both the Wildflower Room and Bear Room have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol54946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
What else can we say. You have summed up the perfect experience. We are so glad you have found your "heaven on a mountaintop." Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review. We try our best to make our guests comfortable and relaxed and your review, by a lovely repeat guest couple, tells us we have hit the mark. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Chilhowee Mountain Retreat is a perfect getway! Jim and Mary are top notch hosts and the rooms are perfect! The view is unbeatable and the food is unforgetable! We got the "20 Hour Rejuvenation Special" and if it was triple the price it would be worth it, double would be a steal, at the price it is at, it should be considered theft. The Retreat itself is a beautiful appalachian style log cabin, well designed and built. The rooms smell like cedar, and were impeccably clean. Overall, I would go again, and refer anyone looking for a getaway.

To Jim and Mary, Thank you for an amazing trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "forest" room, lovely view and the hot tub is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seth_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for a glowing review. We are so glad you enjoyed the stay and found it to be a great deal too. Good to know our breakfasts are unforgettable. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Jim and Mary are amazing hosts and the building itself is absolutely gorgeous. We really enjoyed having coffee out on the deck overlooking the valley. Breakfast was delicious, I'm planning on trying to recreate a few things! Our room (wildflower room) had great views and a fantastic jacuzzi tub and steam shower. This might also be the cleanest place I have ever stayed! If you are in the area or thinking about a vacation...stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnSmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your great endorsement. It was great having you as our guests and we certainly are glad you enjoyed the two person air-jet tub and the steam shower. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are down this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend of our anniversary here and were able to acheive our goal of rest and relaxation. My wife is a stickler for cleanliness, and this B&B passed with flying colors so she was able to really unwind. I personally enjoyed the steam shower and the large window views of the rolling mountain chain. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend, and Jim and Mary are very hospitable and attentive to any need or request. Ten out of ten. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your great review. Isn't it wonderful to know there is a place not too far from home where you can escape your everyday life and rest and relax while enjoying luxurious amenities? Thanks for choosing to spend a couple of days here at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat to celebrate your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Chilhowee Mountain Retreat is the perfect wellness get away. It is secluded and only a short trip form all that is offered in the Knoxville area. Jim and Mary are great Host that take the time to get to know everyone that travels through their B&B. I hope Jim Takes me up on my bisquit reciepe as he is a great cook and always looking for great meals to share.
Yall be sure to tell him and Mary that yall heard it from here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are pleased that you found our Inn the perfect wellness getaway. We certainly enjoyed your visit. As of yet we haven't tried the secrets you shared to baking biscuits and cookies but it is posted on the board in the kitchen and we will be giving it a try. It was nice having you visit and we are glad you enjoyed the experience including the massages. Ya'll come on back next time you need an escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Wow! That pretty much sums up our stay at Chilhowie Mountain Retreat. It's gotta be the cleanest place I've ever stayed. Everything was fresh and spotless. Our room, Forest View, was large and extremely well appointed. The main inn is beautiful with a large deck where you can relax and enjoy the view. Jim and Mary cook up some tasty and interesting dishes for breakfast. Additionally, they could not be nicer or more helpful as hosts. I like the remote nature of the inn. Be warned, it's a 15 to 20 minute drive to anything, but it is a scenic drive. If you want to get away for a few days, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrishGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderfully kind review. We sure appreciate it when guests notice the cleanliness of the Inn, we work hard so our guests feel safe and comfortable in their surroundings. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and the back deck. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing