We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nice getaway from city life and stresses of life. Jim and Mary were great hosts who made excellent recommendations for where to eat, and what to visit. The views were amazing to wake up to. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, there is no doubt that we are away from the city life and a great escape. You can't miss when you are on top of a mountain in the midst of a forest. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, and it is good to know that we are making great restaurant recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat and it was just as amazing as our first. Visit three is already booked. Jim and Mary go above and beyond to make sure that your visit is incredible!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you both for your very kind review. It was great seeing you both again and we, as we're sure you, are looking forward to your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Watching sun rising from snow-capped thunderhead mountain in the bear room, waking up smelling aroma of hot breakfast, hiking on nearby trails in the smoking mountains, soaking in hot whirlpool tub or steam shower, the two-night stay at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat was heavenly experience for us. Everything could not be better. It truly lives to what previous reviewers raved about: beautiful, new and meticulously clean log house, breathtaking mountain view, delicious and healthy gourmet breakfast, etc. The host Jim and Mary went beyond their expectations to accommodate our needs and make our stay the most memorable days of our life. The retreat is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. We highly recommend it to everyone and will sure come back again.

Room Tip: Bear room has a very large picture windows facing thunderhead mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YWAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. From your kind and gracious comments we believe that you had a wonderful time. We were happy to make your stay special and memorable. It is one of our goals to make Chilhowee Mountain Retreat a unique and romantic place for couples. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The owners, Jim and Mary are just great. We stayed in the Forest View room, very clean and secluded. We also got a private hot tub, which was just awesome in the night. There was WIFI reception in the room too. You won't get any cell reception up there though. We stayed there just one night and I wish I stayed there longer and have the amazing breakfast Jim and Mary prepared. We went up there to ride the Tail of the Dragon. Its pretty close from here, Jim & Mary were very helpful in giving us directions and recomending other similar place to see.

There is just one thing that I would have loved to do. If you are a biker, the climb from 6-mile road to the retreat is just awesome, I wish I had taken my bike up there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyurBhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay here with us. We look forward to your next visit (on your bike) when you can climb the mountain. Thanks again for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said by previous reviewers. We stayed in the Bear Room and everything was clean and comfortable. My wife and I had an enjoyable time and met some new friends as a bonus.

I personally want to thank Jim and Mary for honoring myself and another military veteran and his wife by giving us a free night in their B&B. This is one way they chose to honor veterans on Veterans Day and we appreciated it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ezriderga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your review. It was a pleasure hosting you both for two days. Glad to know that you enjoyed your time here and left having made some new friends. We really enjoyed our conversations and getting to know you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I planned a visit to Tail of the Dragon. Friends who have stayed with Jim and Mary several times highly recommended Chilowee Mountain Retreat - they are even better friends today. We enjoyed three nights in the Forest View Room and it was perfect. Each day began with a special breakfast, prepared by Jim and Mary, in the rustic and beautiful main house. Views of the Valley are breath taking. Each evening ended with time in the hot tub on the private deck enjoying a fantastic view of the mountains. The entire experience was 1st class. The food was exceptional, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was perfect and the setting was breathtaking. Jim and Mary are the perfect host and hostess. We enthusiastically recommend Chilowee Mountain Retreat.

Room Tip: The Forest View room is like a very private retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are so glad you made the trip even though there were some trying circumstances. It was great to have you as our guests and to get to know you. It's always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year and we hope the whole group will be able to make the trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Mary and Jim have done an amazing job with creating the best place to go and jut relax and get away from the rest of the world. The rooms are very large and you do not feel like you are in a hotel! This is the cleanest place I have ever been to stay at. I highly recommend you staying at this retreat.

Room Tip: There is not a pool I just could not get the bubbles to delete. Very nice place. No complaints!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you during a tough time. We are glad you found us a place where you were able to get away from it all. It is great to hear that you noticed how clean our Inn is kept. We know how important a clean environment is to our guests. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
112 reviews
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
185 reviews
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing