We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Relaxing with views that take your breath away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet & Relaxing with views that take your breath away”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After coming up the mountain into the beautiful drive that is surrounded by wildflowers, I was greeted warmly and felt welcomed. Breakfast each morning was suburb in presentation and taste and will fill you up until dinner! Comfortable rooms and bathrooms that you wish were in your home ....I went to the retreat to work so never left until checkout after arriving.

With the long drive in to town, and the mountain drive, you may want to bring snacks to tide you over if you don't want to leave the beautiful retreat!

Room Tip: stayed in the Bear Room - one of the two rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for your review. It is always nice to know that folks find our place so relaxing they just don't want to leave. We don't want to see any of our guests go hungry -- when you want to stay and relax we offer bag lunches and a dinner, but these items need to be ordered at least two days ahead of time. Next trip just let us know if this interests you. If you do want to make the 20 minute drive to town there are some really great restaurants. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
125
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vevay, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stay for two nights in June. Jim and Mary have a beautiful home and they are wonderful hosts! We have stayed in many B&B's and the Chilhowee Mountain Retreat met our expectations! This is without a doubt, one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed! Just a little warning on the road up the mountain to get to the retreat. It is very steep and narrow in places....not an ideal road to pull a trailer or ride a motorcycle. We found a place at the bottom of the mountain to leave our trailer. If you are pulling a trailer, talk to Jim prior to arriving and he might offer suggestions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bear Room with a wonderful mountain view and relaxing air-jet bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelinggirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
First we want to thank you for your review. Yes, the road up to the retreat is climbing up a mountain. The road is steep in places and narrows to 16 feet in some areas. There are places to park trailers at the foot of the mountain, or you can just bring it on up since we have trailer parking here. In the last week we have had two different guests trailer their motorcycles up. We do appreciate the fact that you noticed how clean our Inn is kept. We work hard on cleanliness so that everyone feels comfortable enjoying the ambiance. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic getaway in the mountains and we got more than we have ever expected. Not only did we get a great deal for our stay but it was well worth the money that we spent. The trip up the mountains to the cabin as a site in its self, especially for the time of the year that we went the mountains were beautiful. The room was spacious and comfortable with a great view. Breakfast was served every morning and it felt like eating at a five star restaurant. Jim and Mary were very attentive. They offered us places to go visit and recommended restaurants. They treated us as if we were family instead of guests in their home. My boyfriend and I plan on visiting soon, it was a great experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so pleased that you found us for your romantic getaway. We're glad you felt like family and enjoyed the breakfasts--after all, you go to a bed and breakfast to have a special breakfast, not something you do on a daily basis. We thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband & I stayed in early May for the weekend. I really can't say anything different than everyone else. Jim & Mary were extraordinary hosts. The B&B was gorgeous, the rooms cozy, the breakfast delicious, the views...amazing. Which brings me to my one (mini-not really) complaint. We were so comfy & relaxed at the retreat that if we had a mini fridge in our room & had been able to store some food overnight we probably wouldn't have gone out the next day. I literally could have sat on that porch all day. So yeah, not really a complaint. It was so relaxing I didn't want to leave. After hearing about all of the Christmas trees that go up after Thanksgiving we are already talking about a December 2015 visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktdipaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you found our home a place where you could just chill out all day long. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our home. Deciding what to have in each of our guest room is not easy. There is just not room for everything. We understand that some guests need some things refrigerated and do not have a cooler available. Some guests have some items to keep cool and some return in the evenings with leftovers which we are happy to refrigerate for them. We hope you understand. We do look forward to seeing you at Christmas when our home is decked out floor to ceiling with decorations and trees. Till next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There is no doubt why there is a 99% excellent rating....I stayed here after a full day of exhilarating driving my new BMW on the Moonshiner 28 and Tail of the Dragon. Mary greeted me and showed me around...I just loved the back porch and view of the Great Smokies (made for an excellent place to have coffee the next morning). I loved the Bear room..another great mountain view...the decorations were superb and bathroom so modern and complete. Got recommendation for dinner in town...After a great night sleep, had an amazing breakfast...Had the best time relaxing and chatting with Jim and Mary afterwards. We swapped travel stories. Jim and I got out maps to plot my day which included driving the Cherohala Skyway which was spectacular. The WIFI worked very well. I look forward to staying here again !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watever_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your tremendous review. We are so glad you decided to spend an evening here at our Retreat, we really enjoyed having you. Sounds like we hit the spot after a great day of driving the mountain roads including the Dragon. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Cherohala too. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are just home from 3 fabulous days at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat. I felt I needed to post my review right away. This was our first experience at a bed & breakfast and it was fantastic. From the beautiful mountain views to the scrumptious breakfasts, we were pampered to the full extent. The Smokie Mountains have always been a favored destination for us, however we have never experienced the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. We were impressed the minute we walked in the front door. We appreciated all the information Jim supplied which made it easier to navigate the area. We will highly recommend Chilhowee to all our friends. A truly 5 star experience.

Room Tip: The views are fantastic from any room in the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guests and are happy to hear you felt pampered. We are glad our recommendations and suggestions paid off for a great trip for you. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We own a B&B and were given this as a gift. Well it was PERFECT! Great hosts, great amenities, great bed, tub and steam shower! Loved the views from our huge windows of the mountain's...Close to everything. Knoxville, Gatlinburg, the dragons tail...Would love to come back when we have the time...best "Breakfast Pie" ever!!!!! thanks for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: We were in the the bear room. all our great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldeMillInnBNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersCMR, Owner at Chilhowee Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Wow! What can we say but thanks for your review. Coming from another B&B owner your review was very flattering and humbling. Thank you again and best of luck in your endeavors. Keep that mill running!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
9.8 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
112 reviews
11.8 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
13.5 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Property: Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing