We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food!”
Review of Giovanni's - CLOSED

Giovanni's
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
268 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best Italian food!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Food is amazing! Best, most traditional Italian food in the area! Great atmosphere, locally owned and operated! A must try!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tracylynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is Ok but service needs to be a bit more professional!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I gave this restaurant an average rating based mostly on their service. The waitress we had was VERY LOUD and had her 3 year old grandson tagging behind her. The staff had a family reunion at the register and was also VERY LOUD. This is no way to run a restaurant. It felt like we were in a backwoods cafe.
Strange menu too. The same item, i.e., chicken parmesan, that does not come with salad is $11.95; with salad, $17.95, but you still get pasta and bread sticks for $11.95.
The portions are generous, large tender breaded chicken cutlet, the pasta (spaghetti) was cooked perfectly, and the sauce was good.
The desert cannoli was also excellent.
We have also had their $4.95 lunch specials, that except for their lasagna, are very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I eat here at least 1 time a week and have NEVER had a bad meal!! The sevice is great, food great, and it is quiet! Love it!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LADY3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Experienced dinner at Giovanni's with our group of thirty people. Food and attention to service was excellent! Everyone was more than pleased and eager to return. Truly authentic Italian food which isn't easy to find in this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average, Could Be Better”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I have only had the pizza here and it used to be much better. Tried it last week and it was a wet soggy doughy mess. Nothing really seems fresh for the toppings and the sauce is nothing special. Be sure to tell them you want your pizza done! Maybe we'll done!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SirBuckleyIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing