We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden Gem”

Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Biggar
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Description: We are proud to serve the very best of meats from right here on the Carmichael Estate. All the Venison, Beef & Lamb is born and raised within the estate and is cared for to the highest welfare standards. A full range of scones, cakes, breakfasts and full meals Fully licensed All meals and cakes are made on the premesis
Restaurant details
Description: We are proud to serve the very best of meats from right here on the Carmichael Estate. All the Venison, Beef & Lamb is born and raised within the estate and is cared for to the highest welfare standards. A full range of scones, cakes, breakfasts and full meals Fully licensed All meals and cakes are made on the premesis
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just enjoyed a week long stay on the Carmichael Estate in Lanarkshire and this onsite bistro and tea rooms proved to be a real highlight.
Jen & Steve were incredibly welcoming and offered a wide and varied menu including vegetarian options and a good choice of children’s meals, which our daughter loved!
They open at 9am for the full Scottish breakfast experience (which was incredible), provide lite bites and sandwiches throughout the day and although the normal closing time is 5pm, if you book beforehand, they can accommodate you for evening meals as well which we took advantage of a few times.
The food is of an extremely high standard and they pride themselves on providing meats produced on the Carmichael Estate which include Lamb, Beef and the best venison I have tasted in a long time.. other items are locally sourced from award winning producers and I truly could not fault the place.
If you are staying in the estate cottages or just passing through, it is well worth a visit.

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the reviews hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A super gem, child friendly café / bistro food always first class and will try and cater for all tastes e.g. will adapt menu for vegans etc,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times now while out cycling in the surrounding area, always a lovely stop for food and quality coffee.
So after taking the afternoon off of work, I decided to share this Gem of a place with my wife. It’s was her first visit and she loved it.
A truly friendly and warm place that offers homely comfort and quality food. The service was warm and friendly and a credit to the beautiful area.
Thank you so much for a lovely lunch, will be back soon...

Thank bigjohnrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cheers for your generous review was a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Today we visited for lunch as we do every few weeks, the food (as always) was outstanding.. freshly cooked delicious. The owner Jen who serves us is so welcoming and helpful, we cannot recommend this place highly enough or the genuinely nice people who run it.

Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Many thanks for your review as ever a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We have been going to Carmichael for many years firstly the estate dog friendly accommodation and farm shop are second to none. Andrew Carmichael can not be more friendly helpful and welcoming. Unfortunately last year this crowd took over the tea room. Last years experience I overlooked having.the decency to know a review may be damaging and they had only just taken over so was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt over the awful service and complete muck up they made of our private function. This year however I have no option but to let other's know of our experience From the moment I arrived in the beautiful courtyard of this peaceful place i had a very rude get that dog on a lead comment no please no thank you very abrupt and rude I was then told I had a nasty dog by another employee as she barked at her. Dogs bark and if it isnt acceptable she shouldn't has approached my dog. Anyway the dog must have had foresight of how unwelcoming these people are as I explained at the time she isnt usually like that. It went from bad to worse the atmosphere was terrible used to be such a lovely place to spend time every year for our annual charity event but felt very unwelcome and the feedback from the event guest's is that we felt snubbed and unwelcome by bistro staff. Our meal at the Bistro in the evening was terrible a format and menu had been agreed after the hash last year a buffet had ben agree'd. Firstly no buffet table service a alternative meat choice and pudding choice had been agreed no didn't happen a meger portion of turkey half a roast parsnip less than a dessertspoon size tiny ball of stuffing and a child size portion of potato was served with a very watery splash of fluid i presume was gravy. I agree very little food went back but that's because we where all starving and there wasnt a adult size portion to begin with. The service it's self was briskly done in abrupt and unfriendly manor any question's about buffet style or alternative choices met with hostile replies in front of our 30 guest's.Pudding was supplied by a event organiser but the Bistro had agree'd to provide a alternative cheesecake..... guess what no cheesecake. You would have thought after last years fiasco they would have went above and beyond for our party we are paying customers bringing them business, they in turn are supposed to provide a service. Not only was the service again terrible but the people skill's they showed the unwelcoming atmosphere they installed and general uncomfortable atmosphere over the whole weekend was unacceptable. Many a lovely time has been spent when the estate ran the Bistro themselves unfortunately now this is very changed. Their lack of customer skill and behaviour to our group who have been coming for more years than they have been in situ is such a shame as it also reflects on the estate it's self. Very very sad and disappointed for us as organisers and the upward of 150 guest's we bring to the estate annually and more so for the regulars that travel from all over the world to stay over for the entire weekend. There behaviour is not very business clever. Carmichael please take back your tearoom and restore former pleasant atmosphere. As a footnote it isnt very conducive of a country estate atmosphere when Bistro staff sit in court yard playing loud pop music it completely kills the idyllic country estate ferl and is very annoying to anyone walking around to the bistro.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank alli55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

I’m sorry you have had a bad experience as you're already aware as you’ve posted in a number of places your version of events is not borne out by other attendees and cctv. Signage is very clear about dogs being kept on leads.You however believe you are above these instructions .As you're also aware, a pet Hen was killed by a dog off lead during the Saturday. Your clique comment to this “fair game” Sorry it’s not !! Respect should be given to everyone and is on this working farm. I wish you luck finding somewhere where your behaviour is considered acceptable. We have to look after the majority of people and not pander to the the demands of an individual. Numerous people from the event have apologised for your clique’s behaviour and given nice reviews from same event. I trust the judgement of our lovely regular customers over the accuracy of your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom also viewed

Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Carmichael Bistro & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing