We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue and exceptional host”
Review of Cormiston Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cormiston Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had my wedding here on 13/07/13 and stayed the 13th through to the 16th, and I have to say I cannot fault any part of my stay. Our wedding went without a hitch with the owner Richard acting as master of ceremonies, he made us truly welcome throughout our stay and could not have been more accomodating. We had our ceremony within a marquee on the front lawn and also an area marked out for games such as skittles and a coconut shy. Our meal and reception then took place in the converted barn at the rear of the farm which has been completed to a very high standard and still retains its rustic charm. We had photographs taken all around the farm which was not allowed at other venues we looked at and were allowed creative control of the venue when setting up for the wedding. We had 63 guests and there was not a bad word said by any of them, with many of them saying it was the best wedding they had been to. We stayed within the master bedroom which has a beautiful four poster bed and a gorgeous view out of the large bay window. The breakfast was amazing with fresh eggs from the farm and locally source ingredients. I would highly recommend this venue if you are looking for somewhere that will stand out and wow your guests, and we will definitly be back to stay in the future.

I notice there is a negative comment about the barn being cold, there was no such issue during our wedding and there is sufficient heating within the barn. I do think that it would be difficult to keep the rustic feel if there where loads of new radiators or gas fires around. As for the noise the 11pm rule applies across south lanarkshire and not only to this venue, I personally found this worked well as it gave us time to speak with our guests before setting off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malc0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Cormiston Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Thank you so much Richard for making Kyle and Donna"s dream wedding come true . Your farm is beautiful and you,your family and staff did your utmost to make their day run smooth ! Your barn is lovely with all your special wee touches ...even the toilets are gorgeous !! The young couple were singing your praises today regarding your cooking and Kyle thinks your breakfast was awesome !! Cant thank you enough ...Bob and myself would highly recommend your Farm ....and all the guests said ..its the best wedding they have ever been to.....say no more ...Regards to you and your family and good luck for the future ...Liz x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Normally whiz past this bit of Scotland on way to somewhere else but can thoroughly recommend stopping for few days. Villages except Biggar not up to much but scenery lovely. B&B is special, you feel so grand but not intimidated as have before when stayed in the larger country houses. Room are huge - don't feel put off by having the bathroom across the hallway - a) worth the trip and very characterful and b) very unlikely to actually see anyone as only 2 bedrooms for 'rent'. Lovely views and window seats to look at it from. Weather wasn't so hot when we stayed but could have just stayed in the house the entire time was so relaxing. Host is genuinely friendly (but overtly so). Nice lounge area. Breakfast excellent, good cake on first day arrival. Wifi didn't really work in the room but to be honest wouldn't be expecting it in such a rural, grand retreat. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Both rooms are at front of house, huge with lovely views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardPhilipps, Owner at Cormiston Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for the review. Sorry that the WiFi in the room is very slow. Broadband here in Cormiston is not fast. We have added a booster in the Sitting Room which gives better reception, and are addressing wireless speeds in the bedrooms.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had a great two-day stay here on a touring holiday of south-west Scotland. Richard is a very warm and welcoming host. The farm building has been tastefully restored, and while there are one or two things still left to be done, the rooms are lovely. Our room wasn't en suite, but we had a private bathroom along the corridor, with robes supplied, which is a nice touch. The bathroom had one of the deepest baths I've ever seen, perfect for a wallow in hot water after a damp autumn Scottish day!

Unusually for a B&B, you can have dinner here, cooked by Richard The menu is fixed every evening, but Richard is happy to offer alternatives for anything you don't want. Everything we had was delicious, and the meals ended with a selection of fantasic local cheeses. (With the cheeseboard left on the table for people to help themselves.) We'd initially only booked dinner for the first night, but it was so good that we ate here the second night, too. There's also a very good wine list, and selection of malts. Breakfast is a good as dinner -- we didn't need to eat much for lunch!

There's plenty to see in the local area. Don't miss the lead mining museum at Wanlockhead.

All-in-all, a great stay, and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grouchybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We enjoyed a comfortable night at Cormiston Farm, where the host was very helpful and attentive, and the room we slept in was large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good indeed, including fresh fruit, as well as the tasty cooked fare. We do have one grouse though. The website said that we would be greeted with afternoon tea and home-made cake and after a long journey we were looking forward to that. Sadly the cake didn't materialise!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jestersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Richard is the perfect host, we had a wonderful stay just wished we could have stayed longer, the house is so tastily decorated , the evening meal was outstanding our 15 year cleaned her plate on each course. We went to the Olive Tree on our way to the Highlands for that wonderful Cheddar and goats cheese which our friends very much enjoyed along with ourselves! We highly recommend Cormiston Farm and will be back for another visit on our next trip to Scotland.
The Sims family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowenasims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Overall great. We only stayed one night and would have liked to spend more time.

Overall great but I think it was just a tad expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCarims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardPhilipps, Owner at Cormiston Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Thank you for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are always looking at our value for money and hope that having your two children stay and eat for free helped with this. We look forward to seeing you again for a longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
1.9 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
341 reviews
6.0 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
185 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cormiston Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormiston Farm B&B

Address: Cormiston Road, Biggar ML12 6NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range: £88 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cormiston Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cormiston Farm, listed by Historic Scotland, lies in the Clyde Valley 2 miles from the town of Biggar. There are 2 double bedrooms, one with a super king size four-poster; both have private bathrooms. A three course set dinner is available at 8pm with a small but select wine list. Children welcome. Family rooms available. All major credit and debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cormiston Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormiston Farm B&B Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing