We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Party Venue Ever”
other travellers have booked this property
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
TOFTCOMBS IN WINTER Formal Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
TOFTCOMBS IN WINTER
Formal Lounge
Master Bedroom with luxury ensuite
TOFTCOMBS MANSION HOUSE
Stunning dining hall that seats 25
Stunning dining hall seating 25
Dining room
TOFTCOMBS IN SUMMER
Large 36ft fully equipped kitchen
Minstral Gallery above formal dining hall - with ornate glass cupula
Full sized Snooker Table in marble floored lounge
Second reception hall
Reception Hall
Our guests- butler available to serve breakfast - full catering available or self cater only
The drive- large gravel parking area at the side of the house .
Dining Reception Hall
en suite bathroom
Dog friendly- secure also area for dogs with kennel . Paddock and 10 acres
Wedding reception
Horse and Carriage at Toftcombs
Reception  dining hall
Marquee on the lawn at night
Dining Hall seating up to 25
View from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanya R
Borders
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Party Venue Ever”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband booked this as a surprise for my 50th so that we could have all our friends under one roof. The house is fabulous. The bedrooms are beautiful, each with their own personal touch (ours had a secret turret), and the softest sheets and the comfiest mattresses.

The kitchen was so well kitted out - we had everything for 16 staying guests and 45 party guests. We were particularly lucky with the Scottish weather and spent Saturday in the garden with lunch outside. Lots of the guests ventured into Biggar to shop, Stobo to spa and lots of lovely walks in the surrounding countryside.

We reeled in the main hall and guests relaxed in the drawing room.
Thank you Toftcombs - I felt like a Princess (and it was the 19th May!)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel E
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A true gem!! ”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We hired Toftcombs Mansion House as we were all in the area for a family wedding. Usually ones to go for a hotel, we wanted somewhere were we could relax and enjoy the bank holiday. Communication was easy and everything we could ever need was provided. You can even hire a butler, although unfortunately we weren’t around long enough to enjoy this luxury!

Toftcombs Mansion House did not disappoint. The house is absolutely stunning and it well and truly exceeded our expectations!

We were also blessed with good weather which meant we could enjoy the grounds of which there are plenty.

You will not regret booking here!!

Thank you once again and hopefully we’ll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggiefif...
fife
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had booked Toftcombs for a weekend to celebrate our Golden Wedding and had a wonderful time in this lovely old house. It was spotlessly clean, beds were so comfy and the space just lent itself to 24 of us living there for the weekend. It was so well equipped, absolutely everything you could need, and so so comfy, roaring log fires, Aga in the kitchen, a Drawing room, TV room, snooker room, plenty of bathrooms and toilets, wonderful house. Claire, the owner and Jan the housekeeper were so welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately it was very cold, snowing in fact, which meant that we did not really make use of any of the outdoor facilities but it was lovely just to relax indoors and enjoy the house and the magnificent views. Only fair that I mention Matt at The Crown Inn who attended to all our catering and did an excellent job and this along with Toftcombs made it a weekend for us to treasure

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robertfer...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Toftcombs manor”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 2 nights with family and friends while celebrating my granddaughters wedding in Biggar.
A wonderfully grand house that exceeded our expectations and catered for all our needs.
Set in a beautiful tranquil location and was the perfect retreat to relax and enjoy catching up with all the family.
There is an abundance of things in house to keep everyone entertained including a snooker room that would grace a worldclass professional.
Everyone commented about the comfortable beds and how spacious the rooms
were.
The main dining room was very grand and perfect for this occasion. There is actually another smaller beautiful dining room that we did not need to use.
In the evening it was wonderful to relax in the very large and so comfortable main sitting room and have a family sing song around the fire.
Cooking and dish washing facilities are superb.
This is the first time we have hired a house for the family on such a grand scale and I would not hesitate to come back here for a similar occasion.
I would also to comment on how helpful and accommodating the owner Claire was throughout.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little_Be...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most wonderful property”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed for two nights for my sisters hen weekend and had a fabulous stay. The house was spotless on arrival, beautifully presented, spacious and very well equipped. The bedrooms were all generous and with plenty fresh linen and towels. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. Claire was a pleasure to deal with, she promptly and fully answered all our queries pre-arrival. Would absolutely recommend this property and hope to be back ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjcphysio
rjcphysio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large groups”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great venue for family and friends celebrations. Kitchen well equipped with all you need for food and drink prep. Lots of sitting areas and a TV lounge which we used for the Grand National. The snooker room proved to us all how easy the game looks, but how hard it is to play. Biggar village is a 10-15 walk for anything you need e.g. Ice cream in our case.
We will be back for future family parties.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing