We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Superb Wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had our wedding at Shieldhill castle on Saturday 31st May 2014. Absolutely fabulous!! Where to begin..!!

Mary, the owner, and her staff were absolutely amazing both in the lead up to our wedding and throughout the day. we had a family-night on the Friday evening, where a hot buffet was provided for everyone staying at the castle. Food was delicious and the staff were very accommodating. it provided a very relaxed atmosphere which is exactly what we wanted.

on the morning of the wedding, breakfast was served to me and my bridesmaids in the "ladies room" (a separate room was provided for hair/makeup/getting ready) so as not to bump into the groom during brekkie. We were lucky enough with the weather to have our wedding outside, and Mary went to a lot of effort to set up the perfect scene outside, including a small stage/altar, fresh flowers and linen drapes, creating a perfect backdrop for our ceremony. I get goosebumps just thinking about it!! it was STUNNING.

For photographs, the grounds of the hotel provide fabulous natural settings, our favourite being the wooded meadow where we had some amazing photographs taken. inside the castle is also fabulous, the room upstairs providing a beautiful backdrop for some indoor photographs. you will have no problem having lovely photos, regardless of the weather!

the meal was flawless! we had a free taster session about 2 months before the wedding, and the meaL on the day was as high a standard as in the taster session. Again, Mary made sure that everything ran like clockwork.

the dancefloor is a good size for many guests (we had 130 incl night guests) and never felt to squashed while dancing. To me, this is very important!

the rooms are a very high standard, the honeymoon suite absolutely stunning, the perfect venue to spend the night as husband and wife. :)

The following day after our wedding, we had a BBQ in the hotel grounds. again, the food was delicious, the atmosphere very relaxed.

Overall, I have absolutely no fault with our wedding at Shieldhill castle, it exceeded our expectations in every way. We had the perfect day and will be enjoying the memories for years to come. Thanks so much to Mary and her team for making it one of the happiest days of our lives.

Heather & Nick Dewey

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Shieldhill Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was at Sheildhall rceently for my son's wedding. Cannot fault the hotel, or the venue as a place for a wedding, however having in stayed in hotels all over the world, including 6 star hotels, this is without doubt the best service I have ever enjoyed.

From the owner Mary to all other staff absolutely nothing was any trouble. In reality I cannot praise the staff enough.

Outstanding service.

Thank you

Room Tip: STay in the courtyard if a party is on - its quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_Steel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel as a precursor to our daughters wedding. What a superb location and hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and the hotel has lots of atmosphere and history which is what you want for a Scottish based wedding. The rooms are of a high standard and the staff are all enthusiastic and helpful. It is both dog and child friendly which is a great asset when looking for wedding venues as well as a base for touring and sight seeing the local area. We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone. Well worth a visit and the cost.

Room Tip: If attending a function the courtyard rooms are slightly more peaceful than the main building and ac...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevSBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Shieldhill tonight with family to sample our wedding menu. To say the meal was fantastic does not do it justice. Mary and the staff were attentive and professional during our visit and the food was out of this world. My partner and I are even more so excited about the venue and service. And for all 4 guests to be served with our full 3 course meal was a lovely gesture and way more than we possibly could have expected. A huge thanks to everyone for making the run up to our wedding stress free, as we know that Mary and the team have everything under control to ensure our day is memorable and special. For anyone looking for a Scottish wedding venue, this is a must visit and at the very minimum short listed for your venue.

Stayed: May 2014
5  Thank 5tue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

we were staying l night for a 1920s Murder Mystery night which was really good. The 4 course dinner was excellent good wine at a reasonable price. Staff are ab fab,cheery helspful and efficient. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My son was married on 26/5 and the reception was in Shieldhill castle. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. From the very first visit we were made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. We were invited back to sample the full wedding meal beforehand with no charge which was a lovely gesture. The meal was perfect and everyone commented on it. Served piping hot to all 100 guests. Don't know how they did it. The staff throughout couldn't do enough even checking on elderly guests throughout, offering cups of tea with shortbread. My son had his dog with him and the staff took care if him too leaving him and his new wife to enjoy their day. Breakfast next morning was delicious also. As I said earlier I can't give enough praise for everything !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elspethgillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For anyone looking for a wedding venue - please consider this place. We had a few meetings with Mary (the owner) in the months running up to the big day. On each occasion we were armed with questions but we left totally relaxed as everything was answered, and more!

On the day of the wedding itself everything ran like clockwork. Aside from that the chapel and marquee were set out beautifully - more than we could have hoped for. We had a humanist service but the chapel really is a lovely, intimate setting.

And as others have stated elsewhere, the staff were immense. Very friendly but professional at the same time. They treated us and our guests so well and nothing was too much trouble. We even had an issue with kilt socks and they offered to drive to Lanark to pick up a new pair!

Downsides? - None that I can think of at all. If there are then the staff will help you best they can.

We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the castle are of different size and decor - however all the guests I spoke to enjo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hambo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.3 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
341 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
259 reviews
8.0 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
64 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieldhill Castle Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing