We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay - wish it had been for longer”
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Biggar
Certificate of Excellence
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay - wish it had been for longer”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Much needed night away with my friend - using a deal for DB&B. Arrived and headed to room to find a lovely twin room which was very clean, and lovely touch with Arran Aromatics toiletries to use. A few cheeky drinks in the afternoon in the bar was very relaxing, and then off to dinner - in a lovely restaurant - with real fire which was fab as it was a chilly March evening.

Dinner - great selection to choose from, and everything we had was delicious. Want to head back to try more of the menu.

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother - such a relaxing atmosphere.

Brekkie the next day was superb - we headed off home happy and contented that a night away from the families had been such a relaxing experience. Will definitely go again - especially for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquiMcK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    68
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
67
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Elphinstone for two nights while visiting Biggar for a wedding. There was adequate parking outside the hotel at all times which was very convenient.

The hotel room that we were given was spotless and comfortable, small but fine for the price. The bathroom has a good shower. We had also booked a room for another couple and found that their room had no windows which some people might not like.

The bed was comfortable and slept very well. No disturbances at all despite the pub below.
The pub itself has a broad menu and felt very welcoming.
The hotel info book says wifi is available in all rooms but we found this to be hit and miss.

A full breakfast was included in the price of our booking and we were pleased with this. It was very tasty. Plenty of food, as well as coffee, tea and juices.

The one thing that let the hotel down was the attitude of the staff on our second day during breakfast. We were made to feel as if our presence there was a hassle. Had to ask repeatedly for tea and toast. I would probably have complained but there were no other staff to speak to.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulabelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 2 night deal. Will definitely come back. Food and wine excellent. Tried pheasant for 1st time, will have again. Breakfast lovely, although could not manage full Scottish on 2 mornings!! Room warm and relaxing - just what we needed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Henny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here with a Groupon Deal 2 nights bedand breakfast evening meal first night with a drink each could not fault it ,really friendly staff and Annie lovely girl restaurant really nice lovely coal fire which was just what we needed as it was really cold ,only downside the bedroom we had was really dated this is one that has not been refurbeshed ,most of the ones to the back have all been done,really friendly staff and very helpful .

Room Tip: Rooms to the back haveall been refurbeshed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here on Groupon deal 2 night stay, brilliant staff fantastic varied menu, Food was brilliant, , room was clean and tidy and Annie , and Diane outstanding customer service. will be back even without a deal, just loved the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Popped in for lunch mid-week and though the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very disappointing. My cannelloni was definitely not made fresh, the filling was an unappetising grey-green and it was overcooked and the base of the pasta inedible, the Ploughman's Lunch was basically a plate of grated coloured cheddar and about 5 tablespoons of Branston pickle out of a jar with some rather tired looking salad. The three-bean chilli looked good, but tasted pretty bland and more than half the plate was packet nachos. As a much-beloved old haunt of years ago, I was very sad to see the standards had slipped from the tasty home-cooked fare previously offered. Such a shame, but I will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Was really looking forward to our stay after having read the great reviews, but think we may have been a bit unlucky with our visit, however there was some good points. On arrival we checked in and were greeted by a lovely member of staff who was very cheery and helpful. We went to our room and were a wee bit concerned about it. We were in room 3, and its a very strange set up. There is no window and only a large skylight in the ceiling, the bedroom was pretty small and with dark carpeting throughout it made it feel quite claustrophobic. The skylight during the night was a real issue due to the lovely Scottish rain battering off of it. I know the rain is not the hotels fault but I really think having such a large plasticky skylight in a bedroom needs a rethink. The other issue with the room was the bed; don't think I've slept in a more uncomfortable one before. On the plus side, the room had a fantastic en-suite, with a huge bath and separate shower.
Spent the afternoon in the lounge which was really lovely and cozy with a great coal fire which was very welcoming on such a cold wet day.
The meal at night was part of the deal, and there were a lot of decent choices on the menu. My partner was really impressed with his chicken pakora, and my fried Brie wedges were delicious. His main meal was trio of fish which he loved. My spinach and ricotta cannelloni was a bit disappointing. It actually tasted quite nice, but was unbelievably dry and desperately needed some sauce. I also ordered a portion of garlic bread with it - I got one slice of bread and we were charged over £2.00 for it which I think is a bit cheeky for one slice of garlic bread!!
Breakfast in the morning was okay but I do feel there should be a breakfast menu so you can choose what you want instead of just being offered a full breakfast.
So in the main a bit of mixed feelings about this hotel, I wanted to like it more, but the awful bed/sleep, bedroom and pricey garlic bread put a bit of a damper on our stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
249 reviews
6.7 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
168 reviews
10.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
317 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
11.2 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Property: Elphinstone Hotel
Address: 145 High Street, Biggar ML12 6DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing