We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in nice house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Rowans

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Rowans main entrance with level access Visit Scotland 4 Star Award for The Rowans.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Rowans main entrance with level access
Visit Scotland 4 Star Award for The Rowans.
Single Bedroom has a wardrobe, and a rocking chair as well as a double USB charging socket.
A full st of fluffy white towels is provided for each person staying at The Rowans.
Twin or Family Room. This offers flexible accommodation with the choice  of a single or double bed.
Twin or Family Room with dressing table, hairdryer, USB charging socket, wardrobe & bedside cabinets
Double Bedroom  with flame effect electric stove & seating area, large wardrobe & a dressing table.
Double room has a hairdryer for you & a double USB charging socket, & a flame effect electric stove.
The kitchen has a dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, hob &oven, crockery, pots & pans.
Heated Towel rail in the bathroom with walk-in level access shower as well as the bath.
Patio Doors to outside decking
Tinto Hill with our sheep grazing in the field in front of The Rowans.
Looking over the roof of The Rowans towards nearby Biggar.
Side view of The Rowans.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dms1112
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in nice house”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here whilst visiting relatives in Lanark. The house was spotlessly clean, lovely and warm and slept the 5 of us very comfortably. The house has all the facilities you need to self cater well and is in a quiet rural setting. Whilst the house is a little isolated from shops/ pubs etc. its a very easy 10 minute drive to Lanark.

If you're looking for somewhere to self cater in this area, this is a great option, and excellent value. George and Lesley were friendly and easy to communicate with.

All in all a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind comments! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jenni_nel...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely exemplary...without a doubt the best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Okay....I'll start off with the bad (and may I say that this was ENTIRELY down to my stubborn "I know best" attitude) - it was a little difficult to find the place at first. I suppose the warning signals should have been firing in my brain, when both my beloved father-in-law and the owner sent me specific directions how to get here. However...I got it into my (thick) head that we have a sat nav, no need to pay any heed, we'll manage. Believe me, my ears are still ringing from the (loud) telling off I received from my husband, since the road the sat nav takes you is through an old estate which must hold the world record for large, deep pot holes, somewhat akin to minature Loch Lomonds. As well as having to dodge about 65 pheasants - personally I thought it was rather lovely and scenic, but my husband who had just had his (white) car valeted did not let his disapproval go unnoticed. Alas it was only for a short distance, but had I heeded the directions from the locals, none of that would have been necessary and we would have arrived faster, clean car and with such ease! So note - stay on the A74, look for a little crossroads sign near a belt of woods and opposite the Eagle gates - turn up the road and left, then Bobs your uncle!!

Now for the good - we have stayed in many many of these self-catering cottages, but without a doubt this little diamond wins hands down. The owners George and Lesley are warm, welcoming, informative and extremely interesting to chat to (indeed I think I probably talked the back legs off them). The house itself is spotlessly clean and absolutely immaculate. Lesley and George had gone well above and beyond and supplied everything we could possibly need - and some. The underfloor heating is an absolute treat in Scotland in particular, where my feet are always like blocks of ice. The beds are sublimely comfortable and we just adored the complete silence at night, despite George and Lesley having a small holding with a plethora of chickens, a cockrel (also loved hearing him through the day) and much more. There's just nothing that we can say bad about the place and we will definitely come back again. If you are looking for self-catering accomodation in this area - you will not find a better place to stay. It's been amazing, we've just loved it!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Trying to find the place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj P
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent time had by my famil”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Everything was great, so good that we tried to extend our stay but was booked if we head to Scotland we would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Clean, warm and thoughtfully decorated.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is very spacious and with underfloor heating in most of the rooms we were extremely warm at night and windy days. There are magnificent views of the Scottish countryside from all the rooms and the lovely patio with decking all the way. The bathroom with a wet room was fantastic. The kitchen was well equipped with gas hob and oven. The owners George and Lesley were on hand to welcome us though we arrived quite late. They gave us a tour of the Rowans and they were warm and friendly as they showed us their birds of prey. They even bought us a new TV because the remote for the DVD player was missing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Under floor heating and shower.
Liked least: More kitchen utensils as it was minimalist especially saucepans and frying pans.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. George & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie B
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the lovely chocolates, they were most welcome!
Je vous remercie! Je suis ravi que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour et merci pour les délicieux chocolats, ils ont été les bienvenus!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing