We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark in Scotland”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dark in Scotland”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well furnished hotel, bar, resturant, rooms . However if you stay here suggest you take a supply of candles, The lighting in the bedrooms is so dim you can't see to have a shave or read a paper. Breakfast was good though

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    186
    111
    66
    45
See reviews for
119
269
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Spa was really nice although advertised a steam room but there wasnt one.
Room was small and in need of a lick of paint..carpet had seen better days as well.
Cant fault the food though it was amazing and the service was first class.
Wouldnt rush back but would recommend it if your just passing through.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amjohnsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were really looking forward to an overnight stay at the Popinjay, having heard a lot of good things about it, but were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. Recent reviews had warned about the rooms being a bit tired so I deliberately booked a 'deluxe' room, thinking we wouldn't have any issues. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case. Their was nothing deluxe about the room at all. Although the decoration, bathroom and furnishings were modern, there were no luxuries such as bathrobes, fridge etc. The room was very basic, very tired in places and badly needed painted. The bed, which was supposedly a king sized, was actually two single beds pushed together. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable, with springs poking out so we didn't have the best sleep. The room was also very cold as although there were two radiators, these were right below the windows, so as soon as we closed the heavy drapes, we also shut out any heat! We did, however, have a lovely view of the beautiful gardens, which seemed to be very well maintained. The Wi-Fi didn't work either (in fact, we didn't even have a phone signal the whole time we were there!)

The one good thing about the hotel was the food. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, we did have room service and this was delivered quickly. The food was very tasty, albeit quite expensive. The breakfast was also very good, with a decent selection of both hot and cold food. The service at breakfast wasn't particularly great and you have to make your own toast.

We didn't use the leisure facilities but they did look very nice. The gym is a really good size and seemed to be well equipped. The other communal areas looked drab and dirty and the corridor which lead to our room housed at least 10 spiders!

We were very glad that we had managed to book a deal as we would have been even more disappointed had we paid full price for our room. We would perhaps return to eat in the restaurant, but we certainly won't be staying at the hotel again anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My daughter had her wedding here on the 21st September and a fabulous day was had by all. There were 80 guests of which about 50 stayed overnight and everybody rated the place. My daughter was married in the the main room, it then had be changed for the meal and then again for the evening party. This all happened seamlessly and the staff were delightful at all times. When one of the guests spilt a glass of red wine on my daughters dress, the hotel coped with it very well, making sure my daughter was okay, trying to get the wine out of the dress, ensuring that the food service went on. All in they were fantastic. Most of the guests commented on how good the food was especially the beef, which they managed to serve rare, not an easy job when feeding 80+ I would definetly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stopped by this famous watering hole for a quick lunch after a visit to the local garden centre. We usually have lunch at the Rosebank Garden Centre, but decided to try this hotel as it looked quite nice. Now, I have checked out the other reviews of this watering hole and they all look rather good. We seemed to have arrived on a bad day. The staff were really nice and helpful, and we looked forward to our lunch. When it came it was, shall we say, nice but very average. To be really frank, we have had better fare at a McDonalds! The food was nice but the bill was a joke. We do not mind spending money on a good meal. Sometimes we do go to a McDonalds, sometimes we go to Scotts of Troon. Price should reflect the meal, quality and service. Scotts are dearer than the Popinjay but we don't mind that. What we do mind is mediocre food at top of the market prices. I would love to see if the manager of the Popinjay has the courage to respond to this review. If you all check my previous reviews, you will see that I more often than not give a good review to the establishments we visit. The Popinjay however seem to rely on their goodwill of the past and that they are in a good tourist trap location. A word of advice to the management, pull your socks up friends!!! Either raise the quality of your food or drop the price.

Room Tip: Do not eat in this hotel until they raise the standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morningside Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After a meal in the late afternoon on Sunday 06.10.13,disappointing is an understatement! had to go looking for the waiting staff to clear our table, and found the 3 waitresses and their supervisor gossiping at the bar. the attitude of the staff was so poor I requested the bill instead of ordering a dessert and coffee!!! I complained to the supervisor on duty, but on the return home I felt the complaint was pointless as there would be no redress on the staff neglect to the paying diners and chose to phone the hotel. Apparently I spoke to the hotel manager who, in an attempt to encourage us back would send out a voucher for a free meal. Today, Monday 07.10.13, while discussing the poor service and over priced, average meal with a colleague, I discovered we had been over charged (two diners, billed for 1 starter and 3 main courses), so once again I phoned the Hotel at 5.02pm. to be promised someone would phone back asap to rectify their mistake. It is now after 7 in the evening, and as yet no phone call. While, in the past, the Popinjay has had an outstanding reputation, I think this is now under question. the bar, bistro and Hotel in general appeared very quiet. Perhaps there are many disappointed diners who have chosen not to complain but just to not return!!! As you, as a hotel have now all my personal contact details, I hope to hear from yourselves. In good faith

An update on this is that I contacted the hotel manager directly on the afternoon of Tuesday 08.10.13. Eventually, after being put on repeated hold, "Denise" the manager informed me the complaint was in her "to do" box. Again huge disappointment, and I await the refund to the overcharge bill to arrive. I actually felt disappointed that the manager really had no regard for our disappointment, and made repeated excuses for the ill mannered and inattentive staff.. And also, more importantly to consider a customer complaint so unimportant, to be placed in a "to do" tray.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tamman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here one night, On arrival were were booked into room 27 , A nice room a fantastic view however we had no cold water ,reported this to reception then went to the swimming pool and spa.This was very well managed and attended Found staff to be very pleasant .Called back to reception to find still some problem with room 27 so reception decided to upgrade us to room 4 ,which was very well kitted out with a 4 poster bed , however later discovered that this room had no hot water, Fortunately this was sorted out within an hour or so .Ate a nice steak cooked to perfection Mrs H opted for the sea Bream which was perfect in every way, Apart from the few initial problems we would not hesitate to stay here again, The staff are a credit to the hotel ,nothing was too much trouble...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
583 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,411 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
821 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank
Popinjay Hotel South Lanarkshire/Rosebank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing