We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this for an overnight stay as it's only about 30 mins from where we live. We bought this through one of the numerous daily deals website that offered the overnight & £40 towards food or drink.

The food was excellent, just the very outdated rooms badly let it down, with bulbs in lamps etc missing and a horrific flowered carpet in the room, but the strangest this was getting that weird sensation that you got years ago when a wet shower curtain sticks to you when having a shower!!! Yes the bathroom is that old it's a bath with a shower curtain.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the sauna and swimming pool were well kept

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bullseye4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just had a one night break with my wife. First impression as we entered the hotel was very good - the reception and public areas were very nice.
We stayed in a refurbished room which was quite small but comfortable.
The only thing that let the room down was the lack of house keeping.....there were several large cobwebs dangling from the ceiling!!
We ate in the restaurant and the food served was first class.....very tasty and of very high quality 10/10.
The breakfast was buffet style with a very good choice which was constantly replenished by staff.
My wife and I had a drink from the bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel for a short break.......we certainly intend on returning

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Unfortunately this hotel didn't live up to expectations. When possible, owners should really consider a refurb as it has the potential to be amazing.
No great complaints - everything just a little bit tatty. Have to agree with some others tho - lighting not good enough in rooms. My sight isn't the greatest but really felt its limitations in the bedroom. Even a spotlight on the table would help. Or old-fashioned 150w bulbs.
Thought it a little overpriced for its current state.
Fix it up and I'll happily return though as it is in a lovely location and is very handy for so many pl;aces nearby.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffthechef2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely location, great food and staff helpful and accommodating. Spa facilities good and we both had a back and shoulder massage which were excellent. The only thing that let us down was the room. Poor lighting, 2 massive boilers in the room cupboard and our bedding had to be changed due to it having stains on it. When we raised our disappointment in our room, the bedding was changed when we went for dinner and on our departure we were assured all of our comments would be taken on board and addressed. I will return and if we have a better room then I would be happy to give the hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinty1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First of all please ignore the people who have complained about this hotel. They are simply looking for fault.
We stayed here for 3 nights. For 2 of those there were weddings taking place we were not disturbed or interrupted by this at all. A credit to the hotel. The food was top notch The bedroom was clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was small but it certainly didn't spoil it.
The hotel staff go out of theirs way to help you. Special mention to Craig who looked after us fir 3 nights. We will most definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, The team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Your wonderful review means a lot to us all and we send you our good wishes. Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well furnished hotel, bar, resturant, rooms . However if you stay here suggest you take a supply of candles, The lighting in the bedrooms is so dim you can't see to have a shave or read a paper. Breakfast was good though

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Spa was really nice although advertised a steam room but there wasnt one.
Room was small and in need of a lick of paint..carpet had seen better days as well.
Cant fault the food though it was amazing and the service was first class.
Wouldnt rush back but would recommend it if your just passing through.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
613 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
874 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Popinjay Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Popinjay Hotel and Spa

Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Popinjay Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Popinjay Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank
The Popinjay Hotel And Spa South Lanarkshire/Rosebank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing