We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overnight with friends”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed there two weeks ago on a deal.Great food and service in restaurant and the breakfast was excellent.Rooms were a bit on the small side but comfortable and clean.Had a great night with friends and would return.Only downside was the bar area was very cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    179
    109
    64
    42
See reviews for
115
261
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I take my mum to the popinjay quite regularly and have never been disapointed.
On this occasion however we ordered burgers.
They were sold as prime beef burgers.
They tasted much more like lamb. We were told that they most certainly were not lamb but my mum couldnt eat her lunch.
The real disapointment came when we were given the bill and charged the full price. I would have expected more from an establishment like the popinjay.
This has certainly left a bad taste in my mouth.
I would like to add that the young girls who served us couldnt have been nicer and i was more than happy to tip for the service they provided.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jint68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had an overnight as part of a deal. The positives were
The area is nice with plenty to see and do; the health suite was very relaxing- pool, sauna and steam room; there are choices of restaurants; there is a good choice in the menu; dinner was nice as was breakfast; the staff are very helpful and friendly in all of of the areas in the hotel; a nice big welcoming fire at reception; wi-fi in the rooms and a nice, relaxed atmosphere throughout.

The negatives were that the heating in the bedroom was almost non-existent and the water was lukewarm. Had been looking forward to a relaxing bath. The only hot water we had was in the health suite.

Overall, we had a nice overnight but we were always cold in our room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 40forty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed there a few times on deals, the best thing we would say is the food and the service in the restaurant for dinner which was very good. The pool was quite nice as well. The rooms are very average, nothing special, breakfast was a bit chaotic, they seemed to run out of a lot on the buffet and not quick to replenish. Overall though good value for money on the deal

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a one night break. First impression was poor. Walked into reception and there were 2 reception staff - a male and a female. Neither greeted us. The man said "name?"!! Very cool attitude. Room was refurbished but VERY small. Walls were paper thin. Could hear the voices if the guests next door. Food was lovely. Waitressing staff pleasant. Wouldn't rush back:(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annieinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this for an overnight stay as it's only about 30 mins from where we live. We bought this through one of the numerous daily deals website that offered the overnight & £40 towards food or drink.

The food was excellent, just the very outdated rooms badly let it down, with bulbs in lamps etc missing and a horrific flowered carpet in the room, but the strangest this was getting that weird sensation that you got years ago when a wet shower curtain sticks to you when having a shower!!! Yes the bathroom is that old it's a bath with a shower curtain.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the sauna and swimming pool were well kept

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Just had a one night break with my wife. First impression as we entered the hotel was very good - the reception and public areas were very nice.
We stayed in a refurbished room which was quite small but comfortable.
The only thing that let the room down was the lack of house keeping.....there were several large cobwebs dangling from the ceiling!!
We ate in the restaurant and the food served was first class.....very tasty and of very high quality 10/10.
The breakfast was buffet style with a very good choice which was constantly replenished by staff.
My wife and I had a drink from the bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel for a short break.......we certainly intend on returning

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
553 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
579 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
463 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank
Popinjay Hotel South Lanarkshire/Rosebank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing