We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Popinjay on my birthday with my other half and stayed in the garden Suite along with dining at the hotels restaurant.

All in one of the most pleasent stays i have experienced in the Uk, and (being the first time i have been to Scotland) certainly the nicest hotel i have stayed in in Scotland!

Booked on a whim as needed somewhere to stay near cotebridge for a funeral the following day but didnt want to miss out on celebating my birthday.

The garden suite is huge, kingsize bed, sofa area, dining table for 6, bar area and besides Vegas, the biggest bathroom i have experienced in a hotel room.

The decor in the room is a bit liberache but very comfortable, and done to high standard. Bathroom has a massive double walk in shower, and the biggest bonus of the room a huge 4 person hot tub/jacuzzi.

Check in was very good with extremely welcoming staff, and the food in the restaurant was also very good, and frankly ridiculous value.

Breakfast was excellent, didnt use the spa, but the gardens of teh hotel are very nice.

All in, highly impressed with popinjay, and i wouldnt hesitate to recommend based on my experince.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it go for the garden suite
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on excellent service from friendly staff and I am so pleased to know that we made your stay special, and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed the weekend of 18th May. Positive about the full experience. Rooms lovely (bed not so comfy - very hard), restaurant and food lovely, service great and especially loved the modern, spotless pool and spa facilities. Hotel was busy with weddings/communions but this added to the buzz. Restaurant full at night - another good sign. Lovely walks and garden centres/shops nearby but still deep in countryside feel. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfcfirpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I cannot begin to tell you how much your review means to each and every member of the team - a huge thank you. Kind regards, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay! Lovely hotel with very welcoming staff. Leisure facilities great and garden beautiful to sit in during the evening. Breakfast very tasty with plenty of choice. We will definitely be back in the near future!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience here. everyone here works so hard to make sure that our customers get the most from time here! We hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If the scenery doesn't blow your mind and the tranquillity of the beautiful Clyde valley, then wait until you've discovered this beautiful little gem worthy of any crowning glory. Easy to find, no Sat-nav required! Plenty of parking. Beautiful facade. Extremely welcoming staff and great service throughout. Great selection on menu and cooked to perfection. Rooms decorated and finished to high standard, comfortable beds. And if you’re a malt-whisky man like me then you’re in for a treat, great selection to choose from. Slange'

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Every guest who stays is special to us and your review means a great deal to us all – thank you so much. With all good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Can't faulty this place, brilliant hotel and spa facilities, food is a very high standard and very tasty, excellent value for money, friendly & helpful staff especially restaurant, will continue to use again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

A big thank you! Please come back and see us soon. With my good wishes and those of all the team, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our visit to this hotel was booked through booking.com as a last minute arrangement as the purpose was to attend a funeral early the next morning. We were well received by the receptionist who provided us with all relevant information and reserved a table for dinner for us. Rooms were very comfortable and had all we needed for an overnight stay. The only adverse comment I would make is the 2nd room we had looked out onto a brick wall which would not have been desirable if staying for any length of time.We had a beautiful meal in the dining room and service was first class. Breakfast was both continental and a fully cooked and again was very nice with good service. We had a relative join us for breakfast and that presented the staff with no difficulties. We were sorry that we did not have the opportunity to use the spa facilities but they did seem very popular and price list very reasonable.
As we left in the morning the receptionist very tactfully referred to the type of day we were about to have and wished us well, which we appreciated. Overall a very good experience and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope this will be your first of many stays with us. With my good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was lovely, great facilities, such as huge pool etc! The food was lovely the only problem i found was that I was using a voucher. I found this a bit annoying at times with staff asking " is it a voucher deal" this did in my eyes bring the level of service down a bit, but not that much I didn't enjoy it. My only advice to the hotel is that the deal is put on by them, and people are still valued customers that should receive the same service as anyone else,as they are still spending money on drinks etc. all in all I would defiantly go back. There is local amenities around and the location is easily accessible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline30x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Popinjay Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience here. everyone here works so hard to make sure that our customers get the most from time here! We hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
598 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
344 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Popinjay Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Popinjay Hotel and Spa

Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Popinjay Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Popinjay Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank
The Popinjay Hotel And Spa South Lanarkshire/Rosebank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing