We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a makeover”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst at the Commonwealth Games. The hotel was reasonably priced compared to most and within easy reach of the city.
Like a previous reviewer, we stayed in the garden suite. Yes, it was big with a large bathroom and a comfy bed but the decor was awful. The purple flock wallpaper and fabrics - and the general furnishings -were pretty shabby and long past their best. Like the rest of the hotel, it's in need of a makeover.
We had a late lunch on our arrival day which was pretty good, so were looking forward to a decent breakfast, but what a disappointment. The choice was limited and the cooked food had spent so long being kept warm that all traces of moisture had gone. The fried eggs and bacon were like rubber. What was worse was being served tea and coffee from vacuum jugs. We tried both and it was stewed and barely warm. Serving guests fresh tea or coffee in a pot wouldn't break the bank but would certainly improve a mediocre breakfast.
The best thing about the hotel was the staff. Bright, friendly and helpul throughout our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    182
    109
    65
    44
See reviews for
117
265
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The wife booked the hotel as we were going to the games, it was as close to glasgow as we could get without needing to rob a bank.

So impressed, friendly welcome from the out set and the best hotel room we've ever stayed in. We had the garden suite which makes a perfect family room. Bar area, dining area, sofa area with remote fire. Dressing room, huge bathroom with a massive jacuzzi bath (4 person size), double shower and his and hers sinks.

The most comfortable hotel bed ever, with the softest sheets.

Dinner in the restaurant was superb, excellent quality. Being from Kent we're used to pricey food, this was southern prices for rural scot cuisine, but I have to say is worth it. Even breakfast was divine (so nice when scrambled egg is seasoned properly).

Cost a lot for one night but considering the games were on and the standard of the room and food, I think value for money.

Would definitely recommend a stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope this will be your first of many stays with us. With my good wishes, Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry to say it but I was HUGELY disappointed with this stay. I researched carefully to find a nice hotel in travelling distance of the games and was very pleased with what I thought I'd found - a spa hotel with gym and pool for less than £200.
I'd been looking forward to the night for a long time after a couple of tough months so possibly overreacting but the room was simply tiny. Under the eaves so head bangs always a possibility and you literally had to close the door before you could squeeze into the room between the (single) wardrobe and the bed. There is simply nothing positive to say about the room.
The pool and jacuzzi were a highlight however I think on cooler weekend we might have questioned the tepidity of the water.
Then on to dinner and I'm afraid to say the worst service I have ever experienced - a 2 course meal took close to 2 hours to complete because the waiters simply didn't seem to notice their customers waiting to be served. We waited 20 mins for a bread and olives starter then an additional 20 minutes for the main - we forgot to order a sauce for the steak and asked for one but it never arrived and the waiter never mentioned it again. We then asked for the dessert menu and waited and waited but he simply carried on polishing cutlery. So after 2 hours during which we were probably eating for 20 mins and waiting for 100 mins we decided to give up and get the bill. I really wanted a special meal on a rare weekend away and could not imagine being any more disappointed.
Maybe they were busy, maybe they over-stretched the staff because of the games so maybe there are some mitigating factors but I can't imagine ever coming back here :-(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFC0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked one night stay through Classic Britain with dinner and breakfast. On arrival found reception staff very nice and helpful. Room was clean and modern. Leisure facilities are great and found everything very clean. Restaurant staff also very nice and attentive and couldn't fault the food. Both three course meals were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beermanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Classic Britain break. excellent value for money. Good simple food well cooked. lovely local staff, clean, with a good health suite. Perhaps some external and room upgrading required but hey for value for money it is a great hotel. Next to Clyde walkway, Tinto Hill, New Lanark etc and loads of garden visitor centres in a very underrated but nice part of Scotland. Relaxed atmosphere and cheerful staff are so important, the management have got this right. Some of the negative reviews are hard to understand ,have ben in far worse five star expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Not sure on size but overlooking garden appears preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Popinjay and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated every aspect of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Recently visited this hotel for a course. What a great location, good hotel with good facilities for the course. Plenty of parking at the hotel. Lovely grounds and set in a good location. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Please come back and see us again soon but, in the meantime, happy travels. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hotel looks better on line then in actuality.
Some areas within the hotel have been updated but overall the hotel is a little tired and requires more attention to detail to really improve the experience of the guest.
The room stayed in had little natural light and the smell of the kitchen permeated the room if i left the window open to get some "fresh air".
The staff were generally polite and the service was fine and I guess its OK for a 3 Star hotel if that's what you want, but unfortunately its not for me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay, every point you raised in this review have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department.

I understand you may have lost faith in The Popinjay although I would like you to reconsider as I am certain we can regain your trust. Should you wish to come back to the area again please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank
Popinjay Hotel South Lanarkshire/Rosebank, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing