We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Italian in Central Scotland!”
Review of Vecchia Bologna

Vecchia Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful quite setting, private gardens and large car park. open 7 days lunch and dinner
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Italian in Central Scotland!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently celebrated my wife's 30th birthday here, taking over the whole restaurant on a Saturday night and it was absolutely fantastic.

Claudio, Marco, Dan, Caroline and the rest of the team at Bologna went above and beyond to look after our friends and family on the night. We do eat there often due to excellent food, service and authentic family Italian feel. The buffet was one of the best I have certainly ever had for over 80 people and they even cleared an area as a dance floor later in the night.

With superb food, service and friendly welcoming atmosphere this is truly one of central Scotland's hidden gems and worth a trip whether it be an intimate romantic meal or more of a party atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bentaylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    105
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding evening.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I visited the bologna in march for a romantic meal, having read the reviews. It didn't fall short. The staff, atmosphere and food were all exceptional and the wine list had some phenomenal flavours. It's a touch on the expensive side, but we'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I recently moved to Bridge of Allan and have been coming to the restaurant a number of times. Very friendly staff and good atmosphere. Particularly like the starters, especially the salad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dctiffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just to say that my husband, granddaughter, myself and a trainee assistance pup had a wonderful lunch two weeks ago. The pup was made most welcome and was offered water. The food was exceptionally good and there were clean plates all round! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Definately will be back. Highly recommend it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kety123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A special treat but watch for the drink prices!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I went with my Girlfriend, her Sister, and her Sister's partner as a thank you to them.
I found this wonderful restaurant when I received an e-mail from one of the well known "Voucher" companies.
I purchased the Two course plus coffee deal for four at an amazing saving.
The restaurant is not on the main road in Bridge of Allan, so a map or sat-nav is recommended.
The whole experience was fantastic from the staff, food and wonderful scenery.
The only downside was the drink prices. £5.80 for a 250ml glass of rose wine, and £3.00 for a pint of lemonade!! Although Jim's pint bottle of cider was average at £3.00.
If I could I would have marked it down by only 1/2 a point for the drinks, but the rating is only in full points.
But for a special treat regardless of voucher, I would recommend this without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Bologna also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
Doune, Stirling
 

Been to Vecchia Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing