We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”
Review of Vecchia Bologna

Vecchia Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beautiful quite setting, private gardens and large car park. open 7 days lunch and dinner
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was at the same photography event mentioned in another review. Our experience was that the staff couldnt have been more helpful, the food was excellent, the venue was great and the evening part of the event, where we were left to our own devises was fantastic. While oraganising the event the owner and staff frequently went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that things ran smoothly. For that, I am especially grateful.

In fact I liked the food so much that I returned just a week or so later with clients. Again the staff made sure that we (and espcially) the kids were well attended to. This time we spent some time outside relaxing while the kids played on the safe area within the grounds. Cant fault Bologna.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank kingwoody45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    103
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst service ever , shocking i would never go back”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We ordered food and the waiter got the order wrong then stood and argued with us telling us we had ordered something else, bad attitude, bad waiters and poor food, we will never go back and would advise anyone thinking of going here to go somewhere else

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mckelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We all wondered how long you would have taken to you to post this review. You came across to us as a spitefull and nasty customer and we had no doubts you were to get your revenge if not your apology. :-)) You were dining as part of a group of 40 people all members of the" Scottish photographers association " and were accommodate at two tables of 20 people each. Your table had ordered 8 chicken and 6 seabass fillets. One person at your table ,as you had been told, erroneously took the wrong dish and that to me is not the waiter taking the wrong order !!!!!!!
When you were offered a replacement i.e. the chicken in 10 mins ( we need to cook the bloody thing !!!! ) you declined and went in the huff. Never the less i believe all the people in your party enjoyed the dinner ,the service ,and the atmosphere as they were with us from 11.00 am till after 10.00 pm.As for the "terrible" score of 1 you left to my restaurant ,after 24 years serving dinners in Bridge of Allan is not really making me loose any sleep. !!!!!!
Claudio on behalf of the menichetti family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Italian in Central Scotland!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently celebrated my wife's 30th birthday here, taking over the whole restaurant on a Saturday night and it was absolutely fantastic.

Claudio, Marco, Dan, Caroline and the rest of the team at Bologna went above and beyond to look after our friends and family on the night. We do eat there often due to excellent food, service and authentic family Italian feel. The buffet was one of the best I have certainly ever had for over 80 people and they even cleared an area as a dance floor later in the night.

With superb food, service and friendly welcoming atmosphere this is truly one of central Scotland's hidden gems and worth a trip whether it be an intimate romantic meal or more of a party atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bentaylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding evening.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I visited the bologna in march for a romantic meal, having read the reviews. It didn't fall short. The staff, atmosphere and food were all exceptional and the wine list had some phenomenal flavours. It's a touch on the expensive side, but we'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I recently moved to Bridge of Allan and have been coming to the restaurant a number of times. Very friendly staff and good atmosphere. Particularly like the starters, especially the salad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dctiffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Bologna also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Doune, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Vecchia Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing