We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed -----Dirty and damp” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed -----Dirty and damp”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hotel dirty and damp. Shower over bath didn't maintain temperature. Carpets and chairs in room were stained. Light fitting full of flies. Whole place needed a good clean and renovated. Definitely not worth the price. Would not visit again.

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22rtwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    140
    114
    109
    139
See reviews for
137
262
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Your glass of bubbly is Lambrini, scones and pancakes were neither fresh nor home made! Coffee tasted like instant, sandwiches had obviously been left uncovered in the kitchen.. For a while!! Overall a very disappointing experience and will not be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 5co11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridge of Allan hotels

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked half price dinner bed and breakfast deal for Mrs ahlbbak and myself at Royal and after reading some reviews was a bit worried.Have been before for bar lunch and remembered hotel as being very old building but well run with good food.On arriving were greeted by very friendly receptionist and made very welcome,given room no 11 which was obviously recently refurbished and above 3 star standard(tho they are trying for fourth star) and personally I feel with a few tweeks they deserve this.The staff we encountered were all very customer friendly and welcoming,Only problem we had was room was very cold and radiator was not adequate for size of room, however once we told member of staff an additional heater was provided and that was more than sufficient for us.Prices for alcohol were more like pub than hotel prices,the menu for dinner is mind boglingly large and a bit too large if you ask me but we enjoyed our food as did everyone we spoke to.The only negative was the slow service,I dont know if it was just an off night but it was slow,and to be honest not very well organised.But overall I would still go back and recommend the Royal to family and friends as the staff obviously try very hard and it has lovely rooms,good food and affordable bar.

Room Tip: Dont know if all rooms have been redone ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahlbbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I received a gift of afternoon tea and bubbly as a Christmas gift from friends. It had been a Groupon deal and we were thrilled by the thoughtfulness of the gift.
Unfortunately the quality of the food served up was extremely poor and the “ I’ll take a note of your complaint and let the manager know” attitude of the waiting staff did little to alleviate our disappointment.
Shop bought scones and mini cakes, and basic bread sandwiches with as thin a filling of ham/ egg or cheese that you could imagine. The jam for the scones was re-potted into mini glass jars to give an impression of quality produce as was the cream which tasted like dream topping.It came with a plastic portion of margarine.
The hotel looked tired and there seemed to be damp on the walls of the dining room, but it was the food quality that was for us the source of our dissatisfaction.
We have not yet heard from the manager despite a 4 day time lapse so customer satisfaction seems to be of little importance to the establishment. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelagh22W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My friend and I were searching for somewhere to eat and this hotel had promising signs outside advertising good food deals.From outside we could see a brightly lit bar.
We went into the reception area and stood for a while looking into a rather subdued restaurant, a staff member headed our way.We asked about eating and she looked us up and down and hissed " if you wish" and walked off.
We stuck our noses into the empty bar and were ignored by the barmaid.
So this is not a review of the food only of the frosty reception we received. Suffice to say we went elsewhere and very good it was too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel for our Christmas party with 8 friends. What a fantastic night we had ! Food was excellent , no the usual pressed turkey or beef all very fresh including veg with a great trio if desserts.
Table service & bar staff excellent !!
Breakfast the following morning was Devine !!
Will definitely book for next year !!
Great night for a great price !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo_kane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Book in for sparkling afternoon tea with a Groupon deal, whole afternoon was disappointing. The bread wasn't the freshest and I doubt the cakes were homemade. The 6 mini packs of flora for the pancakes and scones did make me chuckle. On leaving I was asked for my voucher I showed the man on reception the voucher on my app he told me I had to print or email, he was rather rude throughout the time I was trying to access my email to send it. I wouldn't go back the one thing I hate is rudeness.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank deb1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
2.4 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing