We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wee Break”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great wee Break”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just returned from Fab overnight stay. Staff all very pleasant and very helpful-we even know where to get our nails done! Our room was spacious and very clean. Big Bay window that you can watch the world go by, whilst chilling and putting world to rights. Lovely wee shops in Bridge of Allan and neighbouring Dunblane. My friend has already booked for end of April with her partner and im hopeful of returning again in near future.
Food very tasty and plentiful. Made valiant effort to clear our plates,but Apple Crumble did defeat us-Huge Portion! Loved the lights in resturant windows, reminded me of snow and added to cosy ambience. All in All-no complaints and only 80mins from Prestwick-Fandabadozzy.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2,lovely,with spacious en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smirnoffLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you both! Bridge of Allan is a perfect town to relax and enjoy some time away, as you know we aren't too far from Glasgow or Edinburgh. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Be sure to phone us direct to make use of our special offers and we wil be sure to reserve Room 2 for you!

Kindest Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    146
    120
    116
    152
See reviews for
148
275
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed at the Royal hotel on numerous occasions with my other half and also with my kids and had a lovely time on every occasion. The rooms are lovely and cosy and the food is amazing. The steak pie and the sticky toffee pudding are fab!! Only a 30 minute drive from Glasgow so far enough away for a break but not to far. The breakfast is lovely too (omelettes are great)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieandRyansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and post a great Steak Pie picture too!
We are delighted you have enjoyed staying with us at The Royal Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, phone us direct for the best special offers. Be sure to use your loyalty card next time you say too!

Kindest Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

stayed for 2 nights a voucher deal. Well decorated room ,clean, ensuite extremely large .
Having read previous reviews was doubtful but could not complain Staff friendly . would recommend plenty to do in the surrounding area

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melonedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you weren't disheartened by any previous comments too.

Be sure to phone us direct and we would love to honour the same deal for you again!

Kindest Regards,


The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife,scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were booked in for a Groupon deal on Sat 15 th March , we arrived slightly dubious after recent reviews. We were welcomed by a friendly helpful receptionist. Our room was number 28 , very clean and spacious with a comfy bed and plenty of supplies for a few cuppas. Our meal was lovely plenty of choice I had the steak which was a £6 supplement but worth every penny the waiting staff were excellent.We went thru to the bar for a few drinks and again great service. Down for breakfast which was a selection of cereals, fruit yoghurt etc as well as the choice of a few cooked breakfasts we couldn't fault it . The only downside was we couldn't get internet access to work but apart from that a good time was had by us both :))

Room Tip: Room 28 clean spacious
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank voddygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive response! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and weren't disheartened by any previous comments. We really value customer feedback in order to improve our services at The Royal Hotel. We hope to have an improved wifi service in our bedroom area before the summer begins this year, as it can be difficult to log on with our Victorian Building Walls.

Be sure to phone us direct to book the same/similar offer and we would be delighted to reserve room 28 for you again too!

Kindest Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here on our way through perthshire , food Excellent great value for money Sunday Afternoon tea cakes well Recomended,,Bridge off Allan nice town centre Good shops friendly local pubs,good walkin places would return in Summer,,, only negative with Hotel no Connection off wifi in Bedrooms,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel on the 19th March. My room on the second floor had no remote for the tv, the bedside light was snapped and the shower had no pressure and a broken shower head. The receptionist said she would replace the remote but this never happened. She said they had a rowdy party staying at the weekend who stole remotes and batteries. I have been going to this hotel for many years but this will be my last visit as on every visit there are problems.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridge of Allan hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

booked 2nights stay deal through Amazon, staff were really friendly and helpful, food in the Windows restaurant was fab,we enjoy ed our stay so much we stayed an extra night, great value, lovely hotel,
Excellent staff, excellent location easy to travel to Stirling and surrounding areas, would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilltime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing