We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for 69.00 dbb.”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great deal for 69.00 dbb.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed on a deal. dinner menu was great plenty of choices and food was fresh and amazing. Staff were really nice and gregor was a wee star really helpful. One wee moan - couldnt open any windows in room or toilet. Will defo b back x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    148
    123
    119
    159
See reviews for
152
281
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here.
The room was clean and comfortable, but the rest of the hotel looked a little tired. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. The full breakfast was so small it looked 'lost' on the plate. It was also cold and the breakfast table wobbled so much that the coffee spilt.
It is okay to use as a base, but it is lacking in places.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smith1dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a Classic Britain deal which included 3 drinks per person per night. how the deal worked was never explained, but eventually a member of staff printed off drinks vouchers, well done to her!
But every time we tried to use the vouchers we were questioned and the bar staff had to leave us standing at the bar while they went and checked it out with the manager - very embarrassing!
The hotel was good but I felt that there were few things which could have been sorted easily and would have enhanced that very important "first impression". We were in a Superior Room will all the usual amenities but the curtains on the bathroom window were hanging off the window, it would have only taken 30 seconds for some interested cleaner to sort out. Toilet paper I think was rationed and the very cheapest money could buy, funny the things that can be annoying.
On the positive side, the staff were excellent but overworked an extra pair of hands was needed. This did not stop them being extremely pleasant and always helpful.
We ate off the Market Menu which had a fair variety of food which was well cooked and well presented, well done to all concerned.
Hope you can sort out the minor points and I'll certainly return. good Luck.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsBHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We originally booked B&B for £95 but closer to our stay found out they had a DB&B rate for £69. Staff helpful and enabled us to switch deal.

Room was poor. Clean but dreadful mattress and bedding. Bathroom was very tired. Tiny shower, chips out of tiles and mouldy grout. Room was above the function hall which had a wedding on until midnight so no quiet stay.

Dinner was average but staff, mainly Gregor tried very hard to please. One thing I hate in restaurants is when something isn't prepared properly so the kitchen just scrape the wrong bit off and stick the correct bit on. Sadly, the scraping of ice cream off my apple crumble resulted in a replacement plate of apple with a jug of cream on the side.

Bar staff in the evening harassed. No clean glasses, issues with taking payments, allowing smokers to use the fire escape rather than asking them to leave to go to the smoking areas.

Breakfast was a disaster. Cold food, continental breakfast plates bare, milk left lying out, flies on what food was available. Cooked breakfast was ok but lacking in portion size. No cups or cutlery on tables. Several tables remained uncleaned throughout service. Again, Gregor doing his best but a lot of frustrated customers having to get up and source the basics themselves.

On checking out I was asked by a gentleman at reception if my stay had been satisfactory. I mentioned we had issues at both meals to which his response was "I am sorry about that" before he proceeded to swipe my credit card and take full payment. Payment wasn't the issue here but accepting guests had an issue and taking time to hear them out is a basic of hotel management.

I'd never have paid £95 bed and breakfast for this hotel. There is no way this is a 4 star hotel (per the stars on the external hotel sign). It is 3 star at most. Rooms need a complete overhaul and the food needs addressing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function hall. Do not pay full price for bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridge of Allan hotels

Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No television remote so I can't watch tv. No internet in room despite WiFi password given out. Rude staff unwilling to accommodate. I am glad to be out of here in the morning. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upsetguy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel on DBB basis. Staff were very friendly and helpful, counldn't do enough for you. The room was a good size and comfortable but bathroom was a bit on the small side. The diner and breakfast were excellent, good size portions and hot! All in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night loved the food and service staff were excellent general manager has the best customer service Skills ever will definately return. And will reccomend to friends thanks for looking after my burn

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing