We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed as a coach party visiting the Edinburgh Tattoo.
Whilst the building is old and tired looking, refurbishment of the rooms seems to be being undertaken. My wife and I were certainly happy in room 5, the decoration was reasonable and the furniture seemed fairly new. The bed was excellent and gave us a wonderfully sound nights rest.
The food was good, well cooked and well presented. The staff could not be faulted, they were attentive and friendly.
We prefer hotels with a little character and are prepared to accept some problems, we did not notice anything as bad as described in other reviews, our worst experience was the delay in the water becoming hot.
As part of a package the value was great, at the normal rates available perhaps this hotel is a little pricey but that may be true of the area at large. It would seem that rooms at the front are preferable overlooking the main road which is surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front. Room 5 was everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I used the Royal Hotel for our wedding venue. Fiona, our Wedding Coordinator, was very accommodating and extremely helpful during the entire long-distance planning process. She helped me plan every detail and made sure everything was taken care of without a hitch from 4.600 miles away! We had a such a wonderful experience and the most spectacular wedding day! The best thing about this hotel is their rockstar staff! The entire staff was amazing! They treated us like royalty. Whatever we needed or asked for, we got. All of our guests were pleased, the food was delicious, and the ballroom looked amazing for our special day by the time they were done decorating as I had asked. I couldn't have picked a better venue. We were fortunate enough to snag one of their summer deals and it was worth every penny! The disco and cake were included! Big savings! My only complaint for the entire weekend was the beds weren't that comfortable and our "honeymoon bed" was two twin mattresses pushed together. We made it work ;). Thanks for a great memory and the most terrific wedding day! We love the Royal!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in the Royal Ivy as an overnight stop on a business trip. Let me start by saying that the only saving grace for this place was that the staff were approachable and did try to help when asked.

The hotel is based in an old building that is in dire need of some proper maintenance and care - far from the "beautiful boutique hotel" its website describes it as. The hotel seems to be run with a significant lack of attention to detail (you know that there are likely to be problems when the Certificate of Employers Liability Insurance in the entrance is over a month out of date).

As you walk in, you are taken by the interesting and striking décor but as you look around you notice the unterminated electrical cables hanging out of the wall covered by a few layers of electrical tape and an exposed connection block, similarly covered in electrical tape, where one of the large ceiling lights has been badly installed. Speaking of the ceiling lights, they are each missing a number of bulbs. The poor electrical safety does not stop with the entrance hall: there were loose sockets in all three of the rooms that we had access to. All of the appliances (kettles, irons, etc.) that had been checked for electrical safety appeared to have last been done in 2011 from the PAT stickers, which stated a retest date of 2012.

The problems aren't just limited to the shocking lack of electrical safety in the place. The banister on the stairs is incredibly wobbly and would not stop someone from falling over the edge. While we were waiting for the rest of our party to show up, an elderly gentleman slipped and fell on a non-obvious step (not the only one) between the bar and the toilets - none of the staff seemed to know what to do, and seemed to be actively avoiding trying to assist the person.

When the three (male) of us checked in we discovered that there had been a misunderstanding during the booking and they had us down as a Mrs. in a double + single room (room 12) rather than the triple that we were expecting. They were quick to correct this and moved one of us to a separate room. We then noticed that the base of the double bed in the original room was broken and was liable to collapse - how this was not noticed when the bed was made is beyond me and goes to further demonstrate that there is no attention to detail in this hotel. We were then moved into a twin room (room 6).

Unfortunately this room was not much better. The view comprised of looking out over a flat roof where there was a rusted and collapsing set of maintenance steps. Again, there were issues with the beds - one of them had loose legs and swayed worse than a water-bed so I ended up sleeping on the floor. The other bed was so lumpy that my colleague woke up with a bad back and could hardly move. If you stay in room 6, watch out for the incredibly sharp metal corners on the frame in the entrance to the shower cubicle - they are at the top and bottom so mind your head and feet as you enter the shower. Yet more examples of no attention to detail were present in the bathroom. The shower head and hose have been replaced at some point however the holder for the shower head has not. This means that the shower head has a habit of falling out of the holder. The toilet roll holder was also loose as it is badly placed right where ones knee needs to go. Additionally, the mirror was covered in tooth-paste splatter from previous guests.

Room 9 is currently configured as a double but used to be a twin from the headboards screwed to the wall. The gap between the two singles is so large that it needs a "Mind the Gap" sign. Also, as this used to be a twin, the light switch ends up being in the middle of the bed at the head.

We were hoping that breakfast would be better but we were sorely let down. A cooked breakfast was on offer with a small buffet of cheese, cooked meat, cereals and juices. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast was one of the worst that I have ever had - the bacon was like cardboard and the black pudding was like plasterboard. The only option for a vegetarian cooked breakfast was eggs, tomato and mushroom so several of our party were left wanting. Also, we had to ask for the buffet to be refilled as it was not being monitored by the staff.

On looking at the outside of the building in the light of day, it was clear that this has also been neglected. The window frame for room 12 has seen better days and there is a brick arch attached to the left of the hotel that has broken in such a way that the decorative metalwork is all that is stopping it collapsing on someone's head.


In summary, this hotel needs a lot of work to make it somewhere I would want to stay again - at the moment, I consider it to be such a hazard that I would not even recommend it to my worst enemy. Also, take the photos on their website with a pinch of salt.

Room Tip: Avoid them all. Room 12 is a double room with an option for a single camp bed. Room 6 is a twin ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a family room in August and it was meant to be 1 double bed and either another double bed or a single bed, however it was a very uncomfortable sofa bed. The hotel was not clean, dust on all surfaces and the room had not been hovered. It was £105 for bed and breakfast. Not worth the money so very disappointed. The hotel is really in need of upgrading, not the best of impressions when you arrive and their was about 20 cigarette ends left at the entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Showed up at hotel to check in, but guess what..our room was given away! Guess wedding that was going on needed all the rooms that night, their story? Someone thought we called to cancel the reservation! How convenient! Utterly disappointed on how a business runs this way.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dragone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have family staying at hotel so went up to meet them had drinks in the main bar and staff were fantastic cannot fault them at all very attentive and made sure we were all happy x

The bar was spotless and clean . The staff even sorted us out with food for the evening advising of all local places xxx

Love it

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I took my friend to afternoon tea here yesterday and while the service and food was acceptable it was very expensive (even at half price with a groupon voucher) for what was served. Supermarket bread, tiny amounts of butter, jam and cream for the scones and mediocre tray bakes. Not what I expected from a hotel of this standard. I have had much better afternoon teas at half the cost which had real bread and all home made patisserie. Disappointing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank poppyofusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,000 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing