We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Chippy”

The Allan Water Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Stirling
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Chippy”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What can i say - one of the best chippys in the area and it never lets you down. It serves good food with no frills and is child friendly. The ice cream for afters is also excellent. Highly recommended, they never disappoint you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank purplejef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    84
    32
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best ice cream in Stirling!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite not expecting very much as the exterior isn't the most appealing - however how glad we were that we did!! We had perfectly cooked British fish and chips - so tasty! And the home made ice cream is to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Alexray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A guilty pleasure”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Brilliant chips and the ice cream is also very good.

Living just down the road I'm guilty of having visited too often in the last year but it never fails to disappoint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back again......”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Not much to say, just good value, super fish and crisp chips - what more is needed? Good friendly service as ever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Love coming to eat in this cafe if I am in the Bridge of Allan. As a vegetarian I am rather limited to what I can eat, but would highly recommend the vegetarian burger and chips. Large portions so I usually cannot have one of their delicious Italian ice cream. But on the odd occasions I have managed the ice cream too and it is wonderful. Always have found the staff friendly and helpful. Great to see in the window and just watch the world go by. Very clean and spotless restaurant and if you are full up afterwards, there are always some lovely walks in the town to walk some of the food off especially along by the river.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Allan Water Cafe also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The Allan Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing