We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fish and chip shop (and ice cream parlour) - but a very good one”

The Allan Water Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A fish and chip shop (and ice cream parlour) - but a very good one”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This probably comes out as the top restaurant in its region, which is a bit misleading, because it's a sit-down fish and chip shop (with an ice cream parlour attached), and doesn't pretend to be more. But the thing is, it's a very good fish and chip shop, and obviously and deservedly very popular locally. The fish we had was brilliant, and very good value. Service was quick and friendly. We were too full after the fish and chips to want the ice cream, but they were so tempting looking that we came back another day to try them - and they were worth it. An economical eat you will actually enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    83
    31
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“An ok experience ”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a couple of soft drinks and we both ordered a chip buttie (£2.65). Anyway, we waited 5 or 6 minutes during which time no member of staff acknowledged us, we had to stop a waitress and ask would they mind taking our order?
Food arrived quickly enough but they serve the chip buttie in a small bowl, how on earth you're supposed to pick this up without the remaining chips in the bowl spilling all over the place is beyond me. The serving is more than generous and tasty too but for goodness sake, stick it on a plate!
We were going to get an ice cream when we left but at £2.80 for 2 small scoops, no thanks. The mark up and profits made here must be huge!

Helpful?
Thank Vazbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth travelling for”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Giant portions, well cooked and freshly cooked fish and chips. Cant be beaten - especially welcome after a walk up to Dumyat. Chips were dry and hot; fish crisp battered and fresh - thick piece of haddock. A proper meal.

We were on take-out tonight

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Catch of the day”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped today and had the Catch of the day medium haddock meal, which included buttered bread/roll and a drink. Good plateful and great service. Would certainly recommend. Only thing missing for me was Goldstar Brown Sauce which makes my Fish Tea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips around”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Allan water Cafe has had the best fish and chips in the area for as long as I can remember and that has never changed. I never sit in I only ever takeaway so could comment on the service in the cafe but it it always good in the chip shop. The cafe has excellent ice cream as well. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Allan Water Cafe also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The Allan Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing