We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big improvement”

The Allan Water Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A big improvement”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Admittedly I haven't been in here in quite a while.
But that's no reflection on the food.
The last time we visited here it was just not very clean & tidy.
Maybe when we were there it had been a busy day but the place was just a bit grubby.
But after a quick visit with my boy today I'm glad to say the place has been revamped and cleaned up and on entering for our ice creams we just had to have some chips beforehand as they smelled so good.
And the ice cream was great too.
We'll done folks.
We will be back again soon for sure !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    86
    32
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Prompt service, child friendly, good food (we enjoyed the potato leek soup and the fish and chips). The unique ice cream flavors like salted caramel, apple crumble, and Ferrero Rocher were a nice after lunch treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank kateeboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flroida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge portions”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What this café lacks in ambiance, it makes up for in portions and flavor. The staff was helpful and friendly, the fish was fresh and delicious with a nice crispy coating. The chips were plentiful, hot and fresh. Nothing pretentious here, just good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmchanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheasp cheerful and delicious”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

For the best fish and chips in the area come to the Allan Water. Service is great and the meals freshly cooked and excellent value for money - they even do a gluten free batter. Then to finish off the ice cream is superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A fish and chip shop (and ice cream parlour) - but a very good one”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This probably comes out as the top restaurant in its region, which is a bit misleading, because it's a sit-down fish and chip shop (with an ice cream parlour attached), and doesn't pretend to be more. But the thing is, it's a very good fish and chip shop, and obviously and deservedly very popular locally. The fish we had was brilliant, and very good value. Service was quick and friendly. We were too full after the fish and chips to want the ice cream, but they were so tempting looking that we came back another day to try them - and they were worth it. An economical eat you will actually enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Allan Water Cafe also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The Allan Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing