We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allan Water Curry House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Allan Water Curry House
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We always got our takeaways from here when it was the "Royal Ashoka". It's now changed hands a couple of times and I'm afraid it has gone a bit downhill. The food doesn't seem as tasty and the portions are smaller. We now go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matchmaker1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply superb Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is our local Indian restaurant on Henderson Street here in Bridge of Allan. We usually order a takeaway and walk up to collect, but this evening following a successful job interview today :), my husband and i went along for a meal within the restaurant. This was our second time sitting in, and as usual, the service was second to none, polite courteous staff, warm and welcoming. The restaurant is small and cosy, very well decorated, and immaculate!. Soft comfortable seats, crisp white linen table covers, well laid out with excellent cutlery. Can recommend the house white wine Pinot Grigio...delicious, and the waiter keeps it in the fridge chilling for you between glasses.
We had the sharing platter starter for two....really fresh and tasty food with x3 sauces, served really hot and tasted delicious. Main meals with fresh prepared nan bread arrived, placed on candle heaters to avoid becoming cold, again just delicious, freshly prepared food, flavoursome and sooo fresh!...too much food, so had a doggy bag to take home also.I haven't tasted such good food for a long time, and you can be sure whenever you go in you will have the same dining experience where you are well looked after, but not constantly being interrupted, thier customer service is just right.
If you like good Indian food, freshly prepared, excellent staff in a lovely enviroment, and for a good price, then this is the place to visit....once you do, like us you will be going back again and again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mootsandtoots09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More artificial colours than the rainbow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Recently changed hands and know under Rana"s banner. Used it for a carry out, our son doesn't eat curries so had a pizza instead - no complaints. Order placed, I went to collect at the suggested time had to wait a further 20 minutes not good. Food, mushroom dish in the brightest red sauce I have ever seen, Chicken Tikka Massala in a bright yellow creamy sauce, finally Goan Fish dish another bright colour with a hint of green-that was the chopped up Chilli which was the only thing that resembled a flavour on Indian cuisine. Could not recommend this to anyone nor will we return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emenem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Stirlingshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had the best chicken tikka I had in a long while and easily beats the competition in Stirling and surrounding areas. It is very reasonably priced for what you get the portion sizes are HUGE and can easily feed 2 people! The atmosphere is homely due to the size and service very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I'm planning on returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

As others have stated its a take a way with a few tables. I visited not long after it opened as I had been visiting BoA a few times on business. I had Rice, Curry (Rogan Josh Tasteless) and a nan. For what I got the bill was extorsionate. Would not repeat the experience. However it is Bridge of Allan and they probably need to charge high to pay high rates. As I noticed even the Chinese take a way prices were steep.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Allan Water Curry House also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing