We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“❤️ this place”
Review of The Hideaway Cafe

The Hideaway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“❤️ this place”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this marvellous place by accident. We fell in love with it the minute we walked in the door. It's warm and welcoming & the staff are charming and attentive such a pleasure. I had the best ever coronation chicken. The homemade baking is fabulous. We can't wait until our next visit. We've recommended it to friends & families & now to you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Canycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    70
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely and different”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I took my mother in law, grandmother in law and a friend here on Saturday and they just loved it. And so did I! The food was delicious, there was something there for everyone. My group commented how nice it was to have something a wee bit different for the usual café food. Portions were a great size. The home baking was to die for, our table had the coffee cake, scone, meringue and empire biscuit and everyone agreed on how lovely they were!
The place is decorated just perfect. Old fashioned yet modern.... :/ ?
Teapot and cups were very cute. Staff were lovely and helpful. Was such a lovely buzz about the place, nice and relaxed and comfy feeling. Was very busy which speaks for itself.
We parked in the Co-op and walked across the road to it which I think is the easiest, once you manage to find it lol, hidden away indeed :) Top marks, you wont be disappointed :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visted for the first time and what a lovely welcolming cafe. Decor is very 'now' and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We visited for lunch and I had the open sandwich with carmelised pears, bacon & cheese with a lovely little side salad. Food is freshly prepared and was delicous. We decided to have cake for afters and what a selection - scones, traybakes, gluten free options, meringues and larger cakes. I opted for the coffee cake which was moist and melt in the mouth gorgeous. We will definately return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband visited for breakfast today and were highly impressed. The service was friendly and prompt. The breakfast was so nice, we enjoyed every mouthful!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesca1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone
Level Contributor
208 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A real good surprise..”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It is hidden away and its all part of your first visit to find the cafe (down a ally opposite the Coop)
and what a charming surprise in side not one bit of furniture or cutlery is matching which put a smile on my face, warm welcome form the staff and the chief looks familiar ? " Vecchia Bologna" well if it is him he dose a good breakfast with door stops toast and no WiFi so people were talking instead of having there heads down in computers all the time.
A real treat and well be going back.......but seeing how busy the place got we will have to get there early

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdisapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway Cafe also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The Hideaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing