We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Had a visit here on 28th February, what a visit! Marianne, wedding coordinator you were fantastic, we got all our questions answered, nothing was too much trouble. Even questions we hadn't thought of you answered! Stunning venue, stunning location, excellent staff and extremely unobtrusive! We had a good rummage through all the "Nooks and Crannies" if we choose your venue I have a feeling we will not be disappointed! But will you please consider putting some trout in that lake!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A130yce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    88
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
97
167
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel from the outside was stunning, a long winding road took us to the castle, its grounds extensive and well kept. We received a warm welcome and were told where our room was. The reception decor was warm, modern and cosey a theme that we both hoped would carry through to our room. Sadly it did not. Tired wallpaper, a mix of cheap furniture and the most random collection of pictures and kitch trinkets meant that our room resembled something not out of place in a blythswood shop. The room was in need of some serious modernisation, something simple, elegant and tasteful can be delivered on a budget and its about time hotels realized this. That being said our meal was lovely, the fish cake was one of the best I have tasted and a nice array of draft beers was a bonus. If the rooms were modernised then I would recommend but until then we probably won't be back...

Room Tip: Would loved to have seen an example of what a good room looked like
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and I do hope you will return one day. In the Castle we have refurbished all the public areas - reception hall, bar, dungeon diner, dining room, Laird's Hall & Drawing Room. Of the 10 guest rooms we have refurbished 7 and hopefully by the end of this year the other 3 plus the courtyard rooms as well. As I say hopefully you will return and have a nice room to compliment the location & food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booked overnight stay with partner and our 21 month old baby boy. We upgraded to the Napier Suite, we were not disappointed! Lovely views from our room windows and room had loads of character. Staff really friendly and would go that 'extra mile' to make your stay enjoyable.
Food was delicious and well presented and prices were reasonable. Must visit Dungeon Diner restaurant.
When I entered the castle I immediately felt a shiver go through my body (not in a bad way but it just felt strange), I had enquired whilst at our evening meal if the castle was haunted , however the staff members adhered to their terms and conditions of employment and did not give away any 'tales' although they were very informative about the history of the castle!

Well all I can say is that MY particular visit was a memorable one as I am sure we were not alone in our room that night ! I felt a presence in the room during the night and visually seen what appeared to be like sparkling orbs in the corner of the room however I did not feel frightened! And may I add that no alcohol was consumed by myself that night!

Would be interested to find out if anyone else has experienced the above. Overall enjoyable and interesting experience and have considered this estate for our wedding venue.

Room Tip: If enjoy ghostly sightings visit the Napier Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent two nights in a courtyard room at Hogmanay.

Check in was smooth and the staff were very helpful. The only strange part was ordering your evening dinner before you had seen your room.

The room was very basic and looked cold as wall were white and curtains were a washed out flowery affair. There were two heaters in the room so it was very warm. The pink carpet was badly stained and very dirty at the door area. There was a flat screen TV with free view, kettle witha selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits. There was also a miniature of whisky and some Scottish fudge which I thought was a lovely touch. The bed was lumpy and the pillows hard and flat.

The shower room again was basic but had soap, shower gel and shampoo and loads of fluffy towels.

The path down to the hotel from the courtyard rooms was dark and poorly lit.

The main hotel was beautiful. There was a reception room with a wonderful fireplace with log burner and comfortable seats and couches. The bar was also lovely and was split into three areas. On the first floor there was a beautiful sitting room and a lovely dining room. Both rooms also had stunning fireplaces and were very traditionally decorated.

Dinner both nights was very tasty and well presented. The only downside was the soup, which was tasteless. This was a shame as the rest of the food was delicious.

Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and served warm. On the first morning we were asked to choose our evening meal, which once again I found strange but wasn't a problem.

We enjoyed our two night stay and the interesting history of the castle. The fireworks at the bells were spectacular.

The grounds of the castle are lovely to walk around.

I would have no hesitation in staying at Culcreuch castle again but only if I could book a room in the castle it's self. The courtyard rooms need upgraded and redecorated to make them more welcoming and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband booked me two nights here on a 5pm deal. We got a family room in the castle with a cot for our son. The room was beautiful and great care had been taken to ensure an authentic period look. We ate in the bar. The food was lovely and there was a kids menu. The manager even wheeled The wee one around for five minutes when the food arrived so we could eat some of it in peace! Breakfast was one of the best I've had and it was no problem to get an extra egg for our son. It was so good we've booked in again as our family Christmas present to ourselves!
if you want an American chain style hotel don't stay here but if you want to go somewhere a bit different with bags of character and a couple of quirks then look no further. I look forward to this being our regular family weekend away spot.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBaird_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were very disappointed having read some of the reviews we were optimistic however our room was very tired in need of new furnishings and a carpet on the bathroom floor!!! Drinks in the bar were very expensive however you have no option once your there. Dinner in the restaurant was poor as was the presentation whoever serves watery mash with a steak? Breakfast sadly was worse we left hungry and won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooperfanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I have read your comments with interest and a wee bit of confusion.
It has been quite some time since we served mash with our steak and if you look in many menus you will see steak is not always served with chips! So your visit must have been a while ago. Also as I always say why not tell us at the time you are unhappy with your meal when we can do something to rectify the situation.
Our breakfast are usually well enjoyed, but again if you had an issue you should have said there and then when we could have done something about it. We freely admit we do not always get things right, but writing on here weeks & months later makes it more difficult to resolve the issue.
I do not think our drinks are expensive for a Country Hotel, maybe for a city centre chain with huge buying power or compared to low lost leader Supermarket offers.
Finally you say avoid Room 8 which makes me believe this is the room you allegedly stayed in?
Room 8 DOES NOT HAVE A BATHROOM CARPET and has been designed and refurbished by a well known interior designer so certainly not tired or in need of TLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIFE, SCOTLAND
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed in Room 4 (Napier Suite) for New Year! Had such a wonderful time that we extended our stay one day before and one day after! Would have stayed longer if the Castle had not closed for their Winter Break! We must all come back to reality at some point I dare say! All the Staff from the Culcreuch made us feel so at home, from The Laird himself down to every aspect of their Management Team.........be it Bar Management, Kitchen or Cleaning......These Guys know their job and do it well and every aspect was excellent......Have stayed in many rooms over the years and love the Napier Suite but just the relaxed atmosphere of the Culcreuch keeps us coming back for more......even managed a few walks between the rain showers, made a few friends and loved sitting in front of the Dungeon Bar Fire chilling out with a Beer or 3 and Great Food xxxxx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FI.BURNETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
848 reviews
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
625 reviews
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing