We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
215
99
38
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
99
38
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitefour poster bedwedding venueculcreuch castledungeon restaurantdrawing roommary annebird roomdaughters weddinggrounds are lovelywedding nightwater pressureopen firehaggissticky toffee puddingcampsie fellsfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recently attended for a wedding, and the positives were the wedding area where the ceremony was held was very nicely done, nice layout etc. The Reception area was an extended area from the same part, which was quite nice too but didn't have the wow factor from the ceremony.

When we checked in we had to change rooms the room on the top floor was tiny, dated, and the bathroom was even smaller with carpet in the bathroom!! We were moved to first floor and despite it being bigger there was ripped carpet in the bathroom again, bed was super uncomfy and charged this at £65 pp! Very expensive for what we got in return. The rooms need serious work, only good thing was the rooms were clean.

Food at the wedding wasn't the best either, roast beef was tough, the roast potatoes were roasted to an inch of its life. Some of the people on our table ordered veg option and they didn't even have that. The older members of staff looked flustered and were quite rude.

I would recommend for a venue but stay somewhere else its not worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dime1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Well here's the thing - same staff, same chefs as all previous weddings, etc, but on this occassion we all turned into rude evil people who cannae cook! Go figure. After so many years in the trade(yes I am old!) I still cannot figure out what we have to do to please everyone. It seems that only the older members of staff were flustered and rude on the day. Is this an ageist comment? Must check if this is P.C. with Tripadvisor.
Oops my other half has made me delete the rest of my rantings so please if you are looking at our page you will see that we are fairly good at what we do and will make you feel most welcome when you visit us at the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I recently got hitched at Culcreuch Castle after 2 years planning. The day was so perfect and exactly what we thought it would be and that had a lot to do with the excellent staff at the Hotel. A special mention goes to Mary Anne, Robert and Allyson for all their help before and on the day - nothing was too much trouble. This is the ideal setting for any wedding. The venue is amazing, as is the food and drink and the scenery is absolutely stunning. We can't wait to visit again in the future! Mags & Ross

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank magsg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent two days at the castle for my dad's 75th Birthday and it couldn't have been more enjoyable! This trip was a major highlight for the whole family! Next time we will stay at the castle for our whole trip and just enjoy the peace and tranquility of the grounds. All of the staff were excellent and made you feel like you were at home the entire visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Burd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our second stay at Culcreuch Castle, the first being in the summer, several years ago.
We have always wanted to have a hogmany in Scotland and their New Years eve break was excellent.
Warm and welcoming, food excellent, good entertainment and we wanted for nothing.
There are not too many rooms so the event was quite personal and not to overpowering.
The rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly and go the extra mile.
The pipes were brilliant but note there was no dancing area. a good firework display and a free dram and stovies was a fitting end to New Year.
We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.
The Chinese bird room did throw up something unexpected!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Another trip to Culcreuch for us and once again we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Napier suite which had the biggest wardrobe I have ever seen (wish I had the clothes to fill it!!!!) the room was very comfortable and well appointed with beautiful views over the hills. As always the staff were very attentive - nothing ever too much trouble - with special thanks to Allyson for providing a candlelit dinner in the Dining Room with a roaring coal fire even although there was only the two of us! Hope to see you all again soon xx

Room Tip: Ask for one of the deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary090260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews