We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, magical.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful location, magical.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner and I booked a mid-week break at one of the lodges on the estate. We were greeted warmly by the manager and given all the information we needed. When we entered our lodge, we were very pleasantly surprised. Spacious with two double bedrooms, both en-suite and immaculately clean. The view from the patio was spectacular. On our second night we booked a table at the castle restaurant. We could not have been treated any better by our server Jennifer. She was very polite and helpful and nothing was a bother to her. Now, I come to the food. The combinations and flavour, textures and freshness and all cooked to perfection is the best food I have ever tasted. I have been on a few cruises with fine dining but this meal surpassed any of them. COMPLIMENTS TO THE CHEF!!!!!. All in all, an absolute gem of a place. Brilliant accommodation, location and staff. we shall be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripfan430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    87
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
95
164
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an amazing 700 year old castle with a modern twist on traditional Scottish decor inside. We stayed for afternoon tea and Bed and Breakfast. The afternoon tea was lovely, the bedroom superb and there was a good selection of continental and 'full scottish' for breakfast which was very well presented. All the staff - reception and waiting on were very friendly and helpful.
The beautiful grounds are extensive and you can spend your time exploring them or take a 5-10 min walk down the castle driveway directly into the village of Fintry.
There is lots of scope for walking in the local area and we'd like to go back to stay there again for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have four poster beds. Our room had a shower, rather than a bath, so it might be u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Recently attended for a wedding, and the positives were the wedding area where the ceremony was held was very nicely done, nice layout etc. The Reception area was an extended area from the same part, which was quite nice too but didn't have the wow factor from the ceremony.

When we checked in we had to change rooms the room on the top floor was tiny, dated, and the bathroom was even smaller with carpet in the bathroom!! We were moved to first floor and despite it being bigger there was ripped carpet in the bathroom again, bed was super uncomfy and charged this at £65 pp! Very expensive for what we got in return. The rooms need serious work, only good thing was the rooms were clean.

Food at the wedding wasn't the best either, roast beef was tough, the roast potatoes were roasted to an inch of its life. Some of the people on our table ordered veg option and they didn't even have that. The older members of staff looked flustered and were quite rude.

I would recommend for a venue but stay somewhere else its not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dime1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Well here's the thing - same staff, same chefs as all previous weddings, etc, but on this occassion we all turned into rude evil people who cannae cook! Go figure. After so many years in the trade(yes I am old!) I still cannot figure out what we have to do to please everyone. It seems that only the older members of staff were flustered and rude on the day. Is this an ageist comment? Must check if this is P.C. with Tripadvisor.
Oops my other half has made me delete the rest of my rantings so please if you are looking at our page you will see that we are fairly good at what we do and will make you feel most welcome when you visit us at the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently got hitched at Culcreuch Castle after 2 years planning. The day was so perfect and exactly what we thought it would be and that had a lot to do with the excellent staff at the Hotel. A special mention goes to Mary Anne, Robert and Allyson for all their help before and on the day - nothing was too much trouble. This is the ideal setting for any wedding. The venue is amazing, as is the food and drink and the scenery is absolutely stunning. We can't wait to visit again in the future! Mags & Ross

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magsg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsland, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We spent two days at the castle for my dad's 75th Birthday and it couldn't have been more enjoyable! This trip was a major highlight for the whole family! Next time we will stay at the castle for our whole trip and just enjoy the peace and tranquility of the grounds. All of the staff were excellent and made you feel like you were at home the entire visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Burd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our second stay at Culcreuch Castle, the first being in the summer, several years ago.
We have always wanted to have a hogmany in Scotland and their New Years eve break was excellent.
Warm and welcoming, food excellent, good entertainment and we wanted for nothing.
There are not too many rooms so the event was quite personal and not to overpowering.
The rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly and go the extra mile.
The pipes were brilliant but note there was no dancing area. a good firework display and a free dram and stovies was a fitting end to New Year.
We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.
The Chinese bird room did throw up something unexpected!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Another trip to Culcreuch for us and once again we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Napier suite which had the biggest wardrobe I have ever seen (wish I had the clothes to fill it!!!!) the room was very comfortable and well appointed with beautiful views over the hills. As always the staff were very attentive - nothing ever too much trouble - with special thanks to Allyson for providing a candlelit dinner in the Dining Room with a roaring coal fire even although there was only the two of us! Hope to see you all again soon xx

Room Tip: Ask for one of the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary090260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
619 reviews
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing